My Most Memorable Gift from God – Trust Fund Baby

20 Dec

For the past month, I have been studying the book Greater, by Steven Furtick with Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Studies.  One of Melissa’s blog topics this week was Trust Fund Baby – My Most Memorable Gift from God.

My most memorable gift (after salvation)  is also my most memorable blessing and that is God’s gift of the births of my two children. The Bible says in Psalm 127:3 (KJV) “Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.”

When we married we talked about having 5 or 6 children – we both love kids.  For years we were unable to have a child. I kept miscarrying and kept wondering why and praying.  It was difficult because we were so involved in church, and I was always helping with baby showers.  It is also difficult on a sister who has younger sisters and sister-in-laws who are having babies.  I didn’t realize at the time I was a “trust fund baby” but God knew.  His plan is perfect.

So one day in April 1979, after 10 years of marriage, a little baby boy was given to my husband and I.  We loved him long before he was born. I have never felt as much joy as I did that day.  The joy and thrill of a nurse laying that wrinkled little boy in my arms to feed never goes away, that joy never changes.  Here is a picture of our baby boy his first Christmas.  He was saying, “Ho Ho Ho” (6 months old).

christmasmixer

He is still and always will be my little boy who is now grown and as loved as the day we brought him home. He loves the Lord and has not been one who climbed a ladder of status, but one that loves and serves the Lord and works as if unto the Lord.

543969_10100713709831663_996332088_n(1)

A few years later (Oct 1981),  we were blessed with a baby girl who was over two months early and weighed in at 2 lbs, 6 oz. and spent several months in the hospital. At times she was not expected to live, and if she did we were told she would have problems mentally and physically.  Here is a picture when she was almost two months old at Christmas with her Dad.

christmaspreemie

Little did the doctors know that our God is the Great Physician and she would grow up to be a valedictorian and also Sigma Cum Laude. She added a special joy to our lives and completed our having children because the doctors told us I could not survive another pregnancy because of the toxemia. Today she continues to have a servant spirit and loves her God with a heart of gold.

scout

For many years I still thought of those miscarriages – those babies that are in Heaven. I just could not thank God for losing them.  One evening I was at a prayer meeting and sitting with a couple who had just miscarried and God said share with them – share with them that you would go through all that pain again to have the joy and the best gifts from me that you could have ever imagined.

Today I can honestly say that I give thanks to God for that pain.   I would go through it over and over again to experience the JOY of the last 33 years with my son  Mix and my daughter Amanda.  What treasures they are, what gifts they are – the most valuable gifts I have ever received!

Moments of a lifetime – those moments when God blessed us with children and all the precious memories day-to-day that we have cherished and continue to cherish as we spend moments together in person, on the phone, on Facebook, and through email.

Today I realize I was and am “a TRUST FUND BABY” as Pastor Furtick calls it.  “God is my trustee.  He puts our prayers in a trust fund.  You have your own trust fund set up too.  When you pray for something and that particular thing doesn’t happen, who’s to say God isn’t taking your faith and the prayers you prayed about that situation and posting them to another account in your life that you’re going to see at a future time”.   Oh thank God that He took my prayers and put them in that trust fund and saved those babies for a future time.  WOW!  Look at the JOY I would have missed had I not endured that pain.

Is this not a precious sight?  My “trust fund” babies.   They were probably about 3 and 5 here in this picture.

cpmixandamanda

What a wonderful Christmas season I am anticipating as my children and their precious spouses join us.   Those are the only gifts I want this Christmas – my family.  And now God has blessed us with 4 children – a son, a daughter-in-law and a daughter and son-in-law that we adore.  Guess what they all rocked my world when they said they would study “Greater” with me.  And how could my husband not say yes after his kids did?

DSC01360

In my blog last week I talked about one of my favorite words which is JOY.  This week as I ponder on 3 John 4 (KJV), it says “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.”

I thank God for the most precious gift I have ever received, my children (all 4 of them) Thomas Mix and Whitney, and Stephen and Amanda, and I praise God that I am able to say that I have no greater JOY than to hear that they are walking in His truth.

JOY to you this Christmas! May you know the Joy of having children that love the Lord!

Debbie

 

23 Responses to “My Most Memorable Gift from God – Trust Fund Baby”

  1. Jennifer N (OBS Group Leader) December 20, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Oh how beautiful! And what an amazing God we serve. Who blessed you with the desires of your heart. You are such a sweet special lady and my He continue to walk with you and bless you. ((hugs))

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 21, 2012 at 2:04 am #

      Jennifer thank you for the hugs and your sweet, sweet spirit. Thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to post such a sweet comment. Love you sister. Hugs. Debbie

      Like

  2. beckmomof5 December 20, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    What a wonderful testimony of love and answered prayers! I really enjoyed the post!
    God Bless!
    Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 21, 2012 at 2:03 am #

      Thank you so much for taking the time to respond. God bless you too and have a very Merry Christmas.

      Like

  3. rportteus December 21, 2012 at 2:02 am #

    I love this! What a true joy!!!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 21, 2012 at 2:28 am #

      Thank you so much for commenting. They are joys for sure and we give God all the glory. Blessings to you. Debbie

      Like

  4. Lynda Parker December 21, 2012 at 2:18 am #

    Awww, I loved your post Debbie! I have one of those beautiful little angels of JOY waiting calling me to Him one day, too. I teach a class for Mother’s that have lost babies either through miscarriage or stillbirth, or early after they are born. I also tell them how that horrible pain has turned into a blessing in my heart, calling me to the Savior one day!

    Like

  5. bloggerlovestheking December 21, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    Thank you sweet Lynda and thank you too for taking a moment to read and also to stop by and comment. I appreciate you and your sweet spirit. Love you. Debbie

    Like

  6. Nichole Wolland December 21, 2012 at 3:47 am #

    Loved seeing a great example of how God doesn’t waste our faith, but saves it up for us. Thanks for sharing. I pray I am as blessed as you when my children grow older. I pray they find godly spouses & love the Lord themselves.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 21, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Nichole just love those kids and take them to church and let God do the rest and be an example. Keep praying for their spouses. I started when my babies were born and when they finally found their mates, I found out those mates’ mothers were also praying for their child’s spouses. Thank you for posting. Hugs to you. Debbie

      Like

  7. Sue Molitor (OBS Leader) December 21, 2012 at 4:50 am #

    Such sweet children! God is so good! Thank you for sharing them with us!
    Love, Sue

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 21, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      Thank you Sue for reading and posting. I appreciate it and appreciate you. Hugs. Debbie

      Like

  8. Glenda Page December 21, 2012 at 5:21 am #

    Debbie, you are such an inspiration to all. I loved reading your blog, and especially enjoyed seeing the older pictures of the beautiful Williams family. I had forgot that Mix’s hair was so black, and that Amanda was born premature. I look forward to more postings on Blogger Loves The King. God bless you.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 21, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

      Thank you Glenda. Our Bible Study leader, Melissa and another lady I met through this got me started. I wasn’t blogging this week but could not hold back when Melissa put out the topics. Such precious memories. Amanda said it made her cry. I told her it did me too. Love you Glenda. Hope you all have a very Merry Christmas. Hugs and hugs. Debbie

      Like

  9. lacey January 3, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Debbie- I too suffered from 2 miscarriages between my two children. It makes the hugs and kisses and time spent being their Mama all the more precious. The only way I survived those losses was trusting God to do something great through my pain.

    Like

  10. Debbie, your post is beautiful. Your family is beautiful. Your faith definitely was not wasted!
    Beth A. (OBS group leader)

    Like

  11. TheMomCafe.com March 21, 2015 at 10:44 am #

    Oh what a beautiful and powerful testimony to your faith and God’s amazing Plan with your trust fund babies!!! And just look at those babies now… what more could you ask for? Your FAMILY is perfect. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 21, 2015 at 7:31 pm #

      God has bee good. So many stories of sadness turned to gladness. Just don’t share them all. He KNOWS!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. JOIN | Blogger Loves The King - October 9, 2014

    […] MISCARRIAGE […]

    Like

  2. PROVERBS 16:9 – His Plans or My Plans | Blogger Loves The King - November 16, 2015

    […] Read about my trust fund babies and how God took those failed plans and gave me the greatest blessings of my life here. […]

    Like

  3. CHOICES | Blogger Loves The King - March 9, 2016

    […] Read about my trust fund babies and how God took those failed plans and gave me the greatest blessings of my life here. […]

    Like

  4. Between the Lines with Blogger Loves The King | Blogger Loves The King - May 17, 2016

    […] and daughter.  We are praying earnestly for more grandchildren, but if you’ve read my blog (My Most Memorable Christmas Gift – Trust Fund Baby) you will see how hard it’s been for me and our children to have children.  I firmly believe […]

    Like

  5. FIVE – Yes FIVE Grandchildren | Blogger Loves The King - September 23, 2016

    […] I don’t even have to write any further because I shared all about it earlier this week in this post  “We’re Expecting More Grandchildren Soon“.  Grandchildren have not come easy for us.  Children did not come easy for us either with miscarriages, toxemia, two breach babies – one of which was nine weeks early.  I wrote about my Trust Fund babies here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

