WHAT-EVER As Unto The Lord

7 Feb

WHAT-EVER! How often did I hear that phrase when I was working because it usually meant a project was not completed, or a team member was not satisfied with what I was wanting or the questions I was asking.  No more!

Our first memory verse this week in the study Let.It.Go by Karen Ehman was Colossians 3:23.  I’ve changed it to the KJV version:

And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men (Colossians 3:23 (KJV)

I think I’ll never hear that word again and not reflect on that verse. WHATEVER I do I should work at it with all my heart as working for the Lord. I know that but do I do that? SOMETIMES!

In Chapter 1, we studied about the cat and dog theology. I have watched our dog as he greets my husband with so much enthusiasm like every single day. The truck pulls in the driveway, the dog starts his little noises and joyfully runs and grabs the nearest toy. I mimic the dog because I want to welcome my husband home. After all, I kiss him each morning as he leaves and tell him to drive careful and have a good day. Soooo I am using that dog-like welcome when he arrives home, and I open the door and kiss him as he is walking in, and go back to finishing dinner to give him a few moments to relax.

???????????????????????????????

On Monday, after I had read this chapter in our group and watched the video, I walked out to the mailbox with the dog.  As I took the mail out of the box, he ran across the road. We had a stack of mail and it was rubber-banded with a couple of magazines. I yelled at him and said “no” and he came back and I was about to spat him and he SNARLED at me. No – I didn’t spat him. I said “bad dog”, and put him in the back yard for the rest of the day. That evening I’m telling my husband about the cat-dog theory (he knew it already) and he responds that maybe the dog snarled because God had a message for me.  OUCH!

WHAT-EVER!!!!  So is God telling me I snarl at Him?  I think I have at times when I didn’t get my way or my prayers were not answered.  Do I run to Him each morning with the same excitement of my dog?   SOMETIMES!

Creed2

So Chapter 2 rolls around today. I read it weeks ago.  I see what I had highlighted, and there it is Jesus “didn’t think will this glorify me? He pondered, Will this glorify God? If it wouldn’t, He didn’t do it?” Then I have underlined in my book “If I glorify myself, my glory means nothing (John 8:54)” and next the definition of the word glorify.

GLORIFY means, “to make famous” or to “throw one’s weight around”.   All of my actions, thoughts and being should glorify my God, and He should be made famous to those around me. OUCH! OUCH! OUCH!  This makes me want to cry.

Am I glorifying God?  SOMETIMES! Am I welcoming Him each morning and evening? SOMETIMES! Do I snarl at God? SOMETIMES! Do I listen and obey? SOMETIMES.

So what has God shown me in one short chapter.  I need to greet Him ALWAYS with enthusiasm and affection and excitedly and anxiously run to Him EVERY day. I need to be obedient without a snarl.  I need to GLORIFY Him in all I do so that those watching me will want to know Him!  What a week to grow!

God has whispered to me this week about whose I am, who I serve and how I serve – how I serve Him, how I serve my family and friends and I don’t always do it to GLORIFY Him!  But I am ready to “Let.It.Go” and  that means when I am washing clothes, ironing, cooking, cleaning, teaching at school, leading a Bible study group,  mowing,  posting a message on Facebook, talking on the phone, texting, just being with friends and family or WHAT-EVER it is, that I should be making Him famous, and it means that  ” Whatsoever you  (I) do, I need to work at it heartily, as working for the Lord, and not unto men.”.   Colossians 3:23 (KJV)

WHAT-EVER friends is in your life today that you need to deal with so that you can GLORIFY Him?  Is it food, exercise, technology, bad language, drinking, drugs, gossiping?  Are you ready to Let.It.Go?  I know I am!

It’s not too late to join us on Proverbs31.org for this study.

 

24 Responses to “WHAT-EVER As Unto The Lord”

  1. Rebecca Jo Vincent February 7, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    Love this! 🙂 I so loved the dog/cat theology lesson too. I have dogs & can see the love & dedication they have towards us as owners… their masters. Then I realized how often I may come off like a ‘cat’ to God… threw me for a loop. Lots to learn this study – excited about it 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 7, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

      Thanks Rebecca. I loved doing this one and it is so true watching these pets totally focused on us.

      Like

  2. Donna Bostick February 7, 2013 at 8:25 am #

    Great post!! Love it!

    Like

  3. Jennifer Newsom (OBS Leadership Team) February 7, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    I love this Debbie and wow. Umm. Snarl? Convicted me. *blush*. Thank you for your heart.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 7, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      Yep I really didn’t like that snarl. He does that once a year so maybe it was a word from God. Love you lady.

      Like

  4. kristenlee68 February 7, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Love it Debbie! There are so many things that I need to let go of and I too am ready to just let it go! I want to give Him His job so that I do not have to do it anymore. He knows better than I do (although sometimes I forget this).

    Love and blessings!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 7, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

      Thanks Kristen. Love and blessings to you too as we continue this road together with Him. Hugs.

      Like

  5. Barbara Gaona February 7, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    Your husband has great insight and the cat/dog theology will stick with me. Awesome blog!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 7, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      Yep my hubby is pretty smart I’ve noticed. LOL! Gave me something to blog about! Thanks for commenting Barbara.

      Like

  6. Kara (OBS leader) February 7, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    I loved this post. Thanks for a different perspective on this verse.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 7, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Thanks Kara. I love how we each come out with different perspectives in all our groups. It’s a God thing to make sure we get it. Hugs

      Like

  7. Mary (OBS Group Leader) February 7, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    Yep. I have a bad habit of snarling at people close to me. When you are tired and overworked it is easy to do. I’m working on my reactions to others too. Just because they snarl at me, doesn’t mean I have to snarl back! Great post Debbie!

    Like

  8. Sue Molitor (OBS Leader) February 7, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    Oh my goodness Debbie!!! I LOVED this post!! You are hilarious! “WHAT-EVER!!!! So is God telling me I snarl at Him? ” That made me laugh out loud! I love the visual about running to God like a dog in the morning. So true. Our dogs always happily run to us. I guess we need to be more like our dogs. Thank you! You are a blessing! Love, Sue

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 7, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      Thanks Sue. Really I am not funny – I’m kinda serious. It’s God. Love you lady!

      Like

  9. Nicki Edwards: Day to Day Trusting God February 8, 2013 at 1:56 am #

    Oh yes, I snarl at God too…I just never realised it! Great post.
    God bless

    Like

  10. Karen Ehman (@karen_ehman) February 8, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    Debbie–
    Thank you SO MUCH for participating in the blog hop. Praying for all of us as we learn to stop trying to control and start trusting God. Have a great weekend and remember to LET. IT. GO. 🙂
    {Hugs} Karen Ehman

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 8, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

      Thank you Karen for reading and posting. You made my day, no you made my year. I am in charge of assigning ladies the blog numbers to review. This was a sensational number this time. And I am a group leader for Melissa. I used let it go, whatever, and Col 3:23 at my Bible study on Nehemiah at church today. Thank you Let.It.Go and thank you for stopping by. HUGS. Debbie Williams (OBS Leader)

      Like

  11. Pat February 8, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    I love your post, Debbie! I have heard the words “WHAT- EVER” spoken in a negative tone by my kids and even at times by my husband, but worst of all I have also said it in that negative tone. As you so boldly put it “NO MORE!” From now on when I here that said I am also going to remember Col. 3:23. And remember attitude is a choice and I choose to have a good attitude.
    I love the cat-dog analogy! I wish I could say that I always have the attitude of the dog when greeting God and my husband, but it is not so! Oh boy, I have so much more to learn and to let go! God’s grace in sufficient and His mercy is great! Thanks for your post. It has given me more to ponder. Hugs!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 8, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

      Thanks Pat. This verse has made an impression on me this week. I started a study on Nehemiah today at my church. The word Whatever came up. The let it go phrase came up, and finally comments on how attitudes should change to enjoy raising kids and cleaning toilets. I was all over that with Colossians. The ladies loved it. I am FOREVER changed. Thank you so much for visiting my blog.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. JOIN | Blogger Loves The King - October 9, 2014

    […] WHATEVER […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

