48 hour Joyful~Praying~Thankful Challenge

28 Feb

Yesterday Melissa gave us a, “48 hour Joyful~Praying~Thankful Challenge” based on I Thessalonians 5:18 KJV. This week’s reflection verse:

“In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

ALWAYS Joyful. ALWAYS Praying. ALWAYS Thankful.

I needed this challenge and I accepted that challenge. Through so much pain the month of February – primarily the death of my Mom, but also 4 friends and our Middle School Asst Principal’s husband being one of those making the national news as he was shot at a gun range, and our daughter not being able to conceive – well it has been a traumatic month, and now dealing with cleaning out a house of collectibles and family and some things I would like to share but out of privacy and love I won’t.

Am I up to the challenge – YES! I am up today praising my Savior for ALL that is good. The good that Mom is no longer suffering, the good that I have to spend days and days with my sisters to clean out the house and so far we are loving and hugging and doing things together and in agreement, lots of moments with my husband ministering to me and loving on me – he closed his shop last week to stay home with me on Saturday, and on Sunday after church he planted trees at our house in memory of Mom and Dad and my Father-in-Law.

BloggerLovesTheKing-13.png

BloggerLovesTheKing-11.png

Yesterday I headed up to school to take a blessing jar to one of my bosses, our Asst Principal in the death of her husband.

BloggerLovesTheKing-10.png

BloggerLovesTheKing-9.png

Guess what joy showed up for me at school. I had been out, the kids were waiting and saw me and said we have a surprise in our room. Here it is.

BloggerLovesTheKing-8.png

BloggerLovesTheKing-7.png

Do you see that ladies! There is ALWAYS something to be thankful for, there is ALWAYS something to praise Jesus for and ALWAYS be joyful if we stop and praise. Never stop praying, never stop praising, even through your tears.

And next Tuesday, what GLORIOUS PRAISE and JOY – I am going with my daughter-in-law and her Mom to her doctor’s appointment to hear my first grandbaby’s heartbeat.

J O Y – Jesus – Others – You

BloggerLovesTheKing-6.png

Jesus Joy – Have you ever heard of that? I have in sermons, devotions and studies. I want Jesus Joy all the time, not just sometimes. I want it in those times when I feel hopeless, in those storms of life, and in trials. I want to take the focus off me so that it is all about Him – Jesus, and through that J O Y I can love on others and their needs.

LASTLY, but all so important I PRAISE God that He placed me in Melissa Taylor’s Bible Studies last year knowing how I would need these women and these groups to love on me.Thank you God and thank you Melissa Taylor Online Bible Studies (MelissaTaylor.org) and all your staff for your love and the JOY I can have because of you through all circumstances if I stop and reflect on whose I am. I am a daughter of the King and He loves and cries with me through all my pain and all my joys. And He is the King of my JESUS JOY!

Thank you Melissa for your heart. Thank you for the most beautiful reflection verse that is now underlined in my Bible with Mom, Let.It.Go, Melissa and 1st grand baby written beside it.

And now the challenge for me personally…………….

Debbie, always be joyful. Debbie, never stop praying. Debbie, be thankful in all circumstances. Debbie, this is God’s will for you. Debbie belongs to Christ Jesus.

18 Responses to “48 hour Joyful~Praying~Thankful Challenge”

  1. prince26155 February 28, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Debbie, I never totally understood why, but the people in the deepest pains are the people God will bless the most as they trust in HIM. You can see it in the writings of Paul (Romans 8:31-39 or 2 Corinthians 11 and 12) that despite of or maybe because of his suffering he grew strong in the grace of the Lord Jesus. Your blog writing shows me Jesus. That’s all that matters.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 28, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

      Without Him I would be nothing. With Him I can praise and give thanks even through the storms. Thanks for those verses. Going to go back and read them during this storm because I know they will speak to me like they never have.

      Like

  2. melissasherlin February 28, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    Debbie,

    I believe this is probably the best post I have read on a blog to this day! Thank you for encouraging me to be thankful! I am so thankful that you have had all of these special moments they truly are a gift from God. I am also thankful that God has placed women just like you to walk alongside me in OBS!

    Lots of love and prayers,
    Melissa S OBS Leader

    Like

  3. melissasherlin February 28, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    Debbie
    I believe this is probably the best post I have read on a blog to this day! Thank you for encouraging me to be thankful! I am so thankful that you have had all of these special moments they truly are a gift from God. I am also thankful that God has placed women just like you to walk alongside me in OBS!
    Lots of love and prayers,
    Melissa S OBS Leader

    Like

  4. Charolette Ragsdale February 28, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    Great post, Debbie! So glad to see you are also taking part in the challenge given to us this week by Melissa. Her and the other Proverbs 31 Ministries ladies have definitely made a great impact on my life through these wonderful Bible studies. I have met some of the most amazing women in my small groups (you included in my first one). I enjoy doing nice things for people in their times of need like you did above. It makes such a difference in their life to know someone thought about them during their storm. I Thessalonians 5:16-18 is actually one of my favorite verses in the Bible because it hits home for me every time I read it and has affected my life in a positive way in the past. Thanks for sharing with us. God Bless You! 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 28, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks Charlotte. Heading over to read your blog. I had to sub today so I’m behind. Thank you for writing.

      Like

  5. Barbara Gaona February 28, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

    Great post! Because of your gentle leadership, I am back in my Bible, sticking with my study, and talking to God daily. Thank you for all that you do!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

      Love you Barbara. Thank you for helping me by your participation. You are a real blessing and God blessed me with you in my group.

      Like

  6. rportteus February 28, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    Great post! Thank you.

    Like

  7. dharris1099 February 28, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    What an encouraging post Debbie. I will continue to pray for you and your family. Bigs hugs darlin’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 19, 2016 at 2:17 pm #

      Thanks Donna. Missed this way back and ran across it today. Hugs.

      Like

  8. Barbara Geer March 1, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    Wow, you are truly an inspiration to all of us. What a beautiful example you are of remembering to praise God, thank God and see the joyful things in life even during the midst of difficult times. Thank you for sharing your story and your wonderful post. May we all be able to react the same way, when hard times hit our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 19, 2016 at 2:17 pm #

      Hi Barbara I am going thru and trying to answer really old comments I missed some time ago. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  9. Jennifer N (OBS Leadership Team) March 1, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    Debbie, you encourage and inspire me so much. Through all of your trials, you still reach out and love on others. You model the Joy of Jesus and I am so blessed to know you. Love you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 19, 2016 at 2:16 pm #

      Hi Jennifer I am trying to go thru and clean up old blogs and comment to people I missed way back. I sure miss you lady. Thank you.

      Like

  10. robinjp7 March 2, 2013 at 7:19 am #

    I really enjoyed reading your blog Debbie, thank you for sharing and you’re such a blessing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 19, 2016 at 2:15 pm #

      Thank you Robin. I am going back through all my old blogs trying to update and read old comments I missed. I missed this one. Thanks so much.

      Like

Leave a Reply

