# BLESSED – Week 1

11 Apr

PicMonkey Collage 2

Is it April already? This year has certainly not been boring as I long for just one day of quietness for time to leisure in a fiction-type book, or work in my flower beds, or just go shopping. Why am I rushing all the time? I am retired? REALLY!

God has poured blessings into all our lives.  Stop and think a moment of all you have.  My husband says we are “blessed more than we will ever deserve.”  Why is it we focus on our problems when there are so many little things He pours out on us every single day – even in the hard times?

This week as I started a new Bible Study, Stressed-Less Living by Tracie Miles.  We were challenged by Melissa Ross Taylor to make a list of five things God has blessed us with because you know if we are feeling stressed, if we would just take a moment to count our blessings, our focus will shift from us to Him. As I sat down and started writing, it was amazing to see how I could go on and on with lists of blessings.

This year (2013) has been both joyous and sad, but I am choosing to dwell on the joyous and my Lord! First and foremost we are going to be grandparents for the very first time, expecting a grandson in August. I am so thankful that God sent that news to us a short time before we lost my Mom. On those days when the pain of losing her rush into my mind, I choose to thank Him that she is no longer suffering and thank Him that He has sent me news of that precious bundle of joy and hope of new life.

I am serving as a leader in a Facebook group for this study. Each study grows sweeter and more precious and the ladies God places in my group bless me every day and they become more precious every day. I can’t wait to get on-line and be blessed by what’s happening in their lives and how they are growing. Again God placed me here last year knowing I would need them and all the leaders who have loved on me to ease that pain of sorrow.

So Melissa’s challenge was to list 5 things, and even to list 5 more and to continue to come back here to list more so here goes for right now my first 5:

MY LORD, MY FATHER, MY SAVIOR, MY ALL PS 145:3-4 (KJV) – “Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; and his greatness is unsearchable. One generation shall praise thy works to another, and shall declare thy mighty acts.” I love my Lord so very much.  The more time I spend in the Word, the sweeter He grows.

My Husband Mix – God blessed me with a husband who is a strong man of God. His Godly love for all is amazing, and I have only come to realize that these last few years. He loves people like God loves us, and he has taught me that gift. He has been an amazing husband, Father, and son, and I am so excited to watch to see what an amazing grandfather he will be. He helped me with my Mom, never complaining as we pulled out of church every Sunday and drove to visit her and take her lunch. He helps around the house encouraging me and giving me time to love on my group, and for years he would come home on those nights when I went by to see Mom, and  would have a hot dinner waiting on me, and usually a load of clothes already in the dryer, and another in the wash. I love my man, and I thank God every day for sending him to me. He’s the man I am blessed to spend the rest of my life with. Forever and ever, AMEN!

MY PARENTS – I thank God for my parents because they were the parents He chose for me. They were not rich, but they were full of love and they taught me to be honest, hard-working, respecting, and gave me a love for my country and my Lord. I miss them, but when I do, I choose to remember all those precious memories that they left for me and thank them for giving me life and love. I thank him today for my family legacy and stories to pass down to my grandchildren.

MY CHILDREN – Bearing children was not an easy task for us – many miscarriages and years of trying and a doctor’s prognosis of the chances being zero – God knew different – He sent us first a son, Mix and later a daughter, Amanda who have filled us with joy like we had never experienced. The joy of watching seeing the miracle of them developing and growing, seeing that first smile, that first step, that first word. They have blessed our lives every day and even now as they are grown and married they bring joy watching them love the Lord and watching them enjoy life. Fishing and hunting with my son, shopping with my daughter – yes I am blessed. I am blessed they love God and am blessed they loved him enough that they married spouses who also love the Lord. Thanking God every single day for Stephen and Whitney and the spice they have added to this family.

MY OBS FAMILY – I retired in 2011. Shortly after God led me to MelissaTaylor.Org Online Bible Studies. My life is not the same. I love everything about it – the blog, the leaders, and my Facebook group. God has placed me in this season with so many precious, Godly women and I thank him for that. It is a lot of hard work and sometimes yes it is stress, but the blessings far outweigh the work. Growing daily in Him and with sooo many beautiful sisters in Christ!

And now I am stopping because I think I could keep going all night. I would love for you to share with me five blessings that God has given you! Will you post five here?

5 Responses to “# BLESSED – Week 1”

  1. Shelly Faust (@shellyfaust) April 13, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    Love your list! And you are so right…when we stop to pause and think on the good things God has done we shift our perspective and thinking! Seeing life through a filter of blessings renews our strength, brings joy, and glorifies our Father. Rejoicing with you today and thanking God for family, unconditional love, new friends, OBS, and His promises being fulfilled in my life! Congratulations on your new grandchild who will be here this summer! 🙂
    Much love~Shelly (OBS Leader)
    http://www.IsThatYouLord.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jenny April 14, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    Debbie,
    Thank you so much for reading my post and leaving such a wonderful comment. It was definitely one of my many blessings I received today. My daughter is three years old, and it was about a year ago when I stared listening to nothing but Christian music. Up until that point, I honestly didn’t care much for it. But I came across a certain song that I happened to love. Then, after listening a little, I stared hearing the mini-devotions which lead me to Proverbs 31 website and the daily readings which eventually lead me to this online Bible study opportunity, starting with “Let.It.Go.” Caroline, my daughter, was the reason I started listening to only Christian radio because I was seeing how easily she was and still is influenced by the things she hears. I decided as a mother, and the person who drives her around a majority of the time, and as a Christian, it was my responsibility to make sure positive words were making their way into those innocent ears. As a result, my daughter sings Francesca Battestelli instead of Brittany Spears. No offense to Brittany, but her lyrics aren’t exactly anything that need to be drifting into the ears of a pre-schooler, or anyones for that matter. I’m hoping the seeds my husband and I plant, along with the loving and encouraging people that surround us, will remain strong in our daughter and any future children God chooses to bless us with. Thank you again for your comment, and sharing your beautiful memories. You have blessed me today! I pray God continues to bless both of us, and everyone, through this study!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patty April 14, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    Thank you Debbie, for leaving a comment on my blog also. The five things (of course there are a lot more.) that I am blessed with are: A God who loves me, My local church, My family, my friends and this group. Well we are off to church now. May your day be blessed.
    Hugs,
    Patty.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kerry Wennersten April 16, 2013 at 12:03 am #

    Thank you also Debbie for leaving a comment on my blog. That was my blessing for the day. The other day one of the other leaders wrote me personally to say she was praying for me. That was a huge blessing. So I definitely feel loved by the OBS team. I have a roof over my head, clothes on my back, food in my mouth and a family to love. When I put it like that I think I see a little of God’s perspective. Blessings back to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

