Inspiration

# BLESSED – Week 3

This was  Week 3 of  Stressed-Less Living by Traci Miles on MelissaTaylor.org, and once again I chose the blog topic of blessings. The more blessings I write down, the more they keep flowing into my mind each day.

I am so, so grateful for blessings? Life is packed full of them, and some days I don’t say thank You Lord enough. As I paused these last three weeks and reflected here are five more blessings – things that I am grateful for in no particular order:

RETIREMENT – I retired the last day of 2011.

bloghopretirementposter.jpg

bloghopretirement.jpg

Retirement is bliss. What does bliss mean? A google search says “perfect happiness; great joy.” Yes, that’s retirement and quality time to do what you enjoy – time on my knees praying for family and friends, reading, Bible studies, substitute teaching, working in the yard, cleaning and organizing, meeting friends for lunch, blogging and hopefully come August helping take care of a new grandson! Yes, Colt will be here early August.

DOG – Fur and four paws – yes blessings come with fur and paws. The unconditional love of a dog is fun to watch. Our dog watches and greets my husband and son with so much enthusiasm. Their trucks pull in the driveway, the dog starts his happy noises and joyfully runs and grabs the nearest toy.

creed2.jpg

A dog is called a man’s best friend for a reason. If you have one you know they are loyal, loving, fun, and always ready to go on a walk or ours he loves to load up to ride down to the horse lot or go to the deer lease.  Here is a picture of Creed waiting on my hubby as he does every night when I start dinner.

Unconditional love – affection without limitation. That’s what our God’s love is like and what our love should be like – we should greet him with that excitement and readiness every morning.   I blogged about Creed waiting at the door for my husband.  You can read that story here.

Tulips and daffodils are blooming with abundance this year. As the sun came splashing through our sun lights this morning, I put down my Stressed Less Living Book, grabbed my gloves and headed out to work in flower beds and there were shasta daisies all in bloom.
I love mowing and that’s a good thing when you are on over an acre with trees to push a mower around and it takes about 3-4 hours to just mow, and I still mow my Mom’s yard.

The herb garden we planted is coming up and so are the weeds thru the mulch.

bloghopherbs.jpg

Loved doing that. We bought pots and actually buried them in the ground to control weeds and yes I still need to weed the grass and mulch but you get the point. Fruit trees are starting to put on peaches and plums and soon I’ll be making jelly to share with friends and family. New trees were planted this year in memory of Mom, Dad, and my Father-In-Law. (See my blog on 28 Feb – Joyful, Thankful Challenge to see our trees.)

SEASONS – Thank You Lord, for the blessing of beautiful, sunny, spring days that cause us to rejoice and be glad in each day!!!!

wildflowers-054.jpg                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Thank you for rich fall colors, and gentle breezes.                                 bloghopfall-2

Thank you for hot summers. Days where all we want to do is get in the pool. Last summer and swimming. my great nephews and one of my nieces and daughter-in-law came for a day of fun, lunch and swimming.   Can’t wait to do it again this year!!!!!

bloghopsummer-2.jpg                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Thank you for wet, dreary and cloudy days as well as cold, snowy ones that make us want to be inside for a time to snuggle with loved ones, drink hot chocolate, and enjoy being indoors.

bloghopsnow-2
                                                                                                                                                                                                                Every day You have made Lord is for a purpose, and every day contains blessings if we pause and look for them. Seasons in Texas change constantly but one thing is certain, God’s love and faithfulness never change! Today it was 78 degrees and tomorrow the high is in the 40s with an expected record-breaking low tomorrow morning.

HEAVEN – Without Heaven there would be no hope. Without hope there is nothing. I am so thankful for Heaven knowing my loved ones are there waiting to greet me and everlasting life. Once there I can not wait to see my Lord and Savior who died for my sins and I will shout Holy when I see Him, clap my hands and say GLORY to the son of God! This song says it all. I want to see Jesus, the one who died for all – “I Bowed on My Knees and Cried Holy!”  Michael English, Gaither Vocal Band – Official Video for ‘I Bowed On My Knees (Live)’, from You Tube

 

“In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

1 Thessalonians 5:18 (KJV)

So as you pause today, begin to be still and know that He is God. Would you share a blessing or blessings below that come to your mind. What are you grateful for this day???????

13 thoughts on “# BLESSED – Week 3”

    1. Thank you Jennifer. I feel blessed God led me here and so blessed to know you better each day because of him. Thank you for always reaching out and being the special person you are. Hugs to you sweet friend.

      Like

  1. Thanks for sharing pictures of your blessings. While I gripe about the change of seasons, and really don’t like winter, there is nothing like curling up in the house with a good book while the snow is flying… except, maybe, soaking in the sun’s rays as I read a book on the beach. Many more blessings to you, sweet friend!

    Like

  2. I love the picture of your dog patiently waiting for the Master to come home. Maybe we could all learn something about waiting so patiently for our Master to return for us!
    As always, I loved your thoughts for this week’s study. Thanks for sharing!
    Sandi

    Like

    1. It’s funny Sandi – he waits and all of a sudden he starts that whining and moaning and I look an don’t see anything but you wait a few seconds and see my hubby pulling in. He sees him down the road someway.

      Like

  3. Thank you for sharing your heart and blessings! I happen to share your love of all things “yard work” and appreciate all the pictures, too! God bless you!

    Like

  4. Great post, Debbie! What a great abundance of blessings this week. Congratulations on your retirement in 2011…great milestone to reach in life. I love the sweet picture of your dog…mans best friend indeed since they always love us and stand by our side ni matter what. Then, I loved your summary about Heaven at the end…one of the best blessings to look forward to since it means spending eternity with our lord and Savior. Have a great day! God bless you! 🙂

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

