# BLESSED – WEEK 6

16 May

 

This is Week 6 of blogging about my blessings during our study of Stressed-Less Living on MelissaTaylor.org.  This year it was my first mother’s day without my mom, and also that day would have been her 80th birthday.   This is also my first mother’s day knowing I am about to become a grandmother.

Over the past few weeks during this study,  I have spent much time in prayer, and noticed in my prayer binder I had printed out the verse Proverbs 31:28,  “Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her”.   That was a prayer I wrote for me last year.  I wondered what legacy am I leaving my children, future grandchildren, husband  and every one I come in contact with daily.  As I pondered over that question, I wonder what others think of me and how I am pictured with all my faults and failures.  I want to be that Proverbs 31 kind of woman.  I pray to be that kind of woman.   I am truly blessed, but do I show that?  Sometime not!

So as I pondered over that Proverbs verse this week and continued to write down my blessings , and prayed about what type of legacy I am leaving , I added these:

MOMENTS WITH LOVED ONES –  “Sometimes you will never know the true value of a moment until it becomes a memory.”  Author Unknown.

As we spend time with our adult children, their spouses and any of our family and friends and prayerfully some grandchildren, I want to remember to cherish the moments and to make memories.  When a loved one is gone, that’s all we have are moments, memories and pictures.  Make the moments happen!  Make them precious!  Savor them!  We are soooo busy we do not take a moment to seize what is precious.  Enjoy a long kiss, sit in the quiet with no radio or television, go out on the patio and listen to the wind or birds and watch the trees moving, write a list of blessings, call someone on the phone instead of texting, meet someone for lunch, read a book, read your Bible, watch the sun rise or set, listen to  children, feel the wind on your cheeks, notice nice things people do for you and say thank you, enjoy life, quit dreading Mondays and savor a a new day, ………                       

SUCCESS – “No other success in life – not being President, or being wealthy, or going to college or writing a book, or anything else — come up to the success of the man or woman who can feel that they have done their duty and that their children and grandchildren rise up and call them blessed.” Theodore Roosevelt, 1917.

So how do we get to that place in our lives, where our children and grandchildren call them blessed.  The only way is Jesus!  God first in ALL things – good and bad! Jesus should be our goal every day.  He should be our identity.  We are made in His image.

UNCONDITIONAL LOVE – I love my husband and my children with an unconditional love and I see that trait in them also.  We have to love unconditionally because Christ loves us unconditionally.  When someone is showing their best behavior, it is easy to love them, but what do we do when they are not showing their best behavior ??  Think about that for a moment.

HUGS – Do you love hugs?  I do.  When I was small my mom and dad really didn’t hug, but I found as I grew older and they grew older they began to hug, and Mom hugged more and more and she grew older.  I love hugging my kids, my mother- in- law, friends and even strangers at church.  I wish I could hug kids at school and sometimes I do, but it has to be done sideways.  Hugs can say what you can not say out loud, and wow how they lift our spirits.  I LOVE hugs.    XOXOXO – every day should be filled with love and hugs!

KISSES – My husband kisses me goodbye in the morning and goodnight in the evening?  Even on those occasional days I sleep in, he comes to the bedroom and kisses me goodbye.      I have this plaque hanging beside our bed.    I meet him at the door when he is coming in each evening with a kiss.DSC01786

What about you?  Do you kiss your spouse goodbye each morning or  goodnight each evening?  Why or Why not???

31 Responses to “# BLESSED – WEEK 6”

  1. Lynda Parker May 16, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Debbie, I have many many blessings! One of my many blessings is your blog! LOVE IT!

    Like

  2. Shelly (OBS Leader) May 16, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    What a beautiful coffee cup! I loved reading your blessings today, Debbie! Love and HUGS (yes, I love hugs, too!) ~Shelly F (OBS Leader)

    Like

  3. LK May 16, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    You are a blessing to me Debbie and I’m sure I’m not the only one who thinks that. Loved your blog and love your heart. I strive to be what you are!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 16, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      L K. let’s just both keep striving to be like Him! Thank you for the compliment but I feel the same about you lady. You are dear to my heart. Hugs.

      Like

  4. Linda C. May 16, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    Debbie, love your blog…love your heart…love you!!! I am blessed to know you and be in your AWESOME group!!! May we all strive to be a GOOD representative of our King to the lost and dying and to our brothers and sisters in Christ!!! Hugs to you today!!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 16, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      Thank you Linda. I am the one that feels blessed with you in Group 31. You inspire me daily! Love and hugs!

      Like

  5. Sue Molitor (OBS Leader) May 16, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    This is really great, Debbie. I love the mug!! What a great reminder each day that we are leaving a legacy and what kind of legacy do we want to leave! I love your heart! So thankful we get to meet in a couple of weeks! I have the same message in our bedroom “Always kiss me goodnight” and we do. 🙂 I love hugs and kisses too!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 16, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

      Hey sweet one – I can’t wait either. Hopefully our hubbies will have much in common too!!! Hugs!

      Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 16, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Thank you and so ready to meet next month. Thanks for commenting. Hugs. Debbie

      Like

  6. TABITHA JONES May 16, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    I love your blog. You got me to really thinking what kind of leagacy am I leaving behind. I was reading a facebook post from a friend yesterday that had lost her sister tragically and
    she said about the same as you. She said she always said she needed to go see her sister, she needed to spend some time with her but she was always so busy. She said
    that she is gone she wishes that she would have let those busy days go and shared
    sometime with her sister while she was here on earth. It really got me to thinking I am always so busy and never make time to spend with my twin sister and we are not as close as we used to do so I just texted my sister and left my busy day behind and went and had lunch with her.
    Another thing that stuck in my mind was your question at the end. Do I kiss my husband good morning and good night? I love my husband but I am sleeping when he leaves of a morning and your question really convicted me so I think this will change.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 16, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      Tabitha your post blessed me! So glad you made time, made some moments and some memories with your sister today and I always want to kiss my hubby goodbye because you never know when it will be your last kiss. We have lost so many family members that I have realized I need to not be so set in my “to do” list that I can’t drop it and spend time with loved ones. Thanks so much for sharing and again you have touched me today. Hugs!

      Like

  7. beckmomof5 May 16, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    What a beautiful reminder!! Thank you for this! Your words and thoughts are an inspiration to me!! I think I’m going to look up that same coffee cup on ebay as well and when my hubby gets home, I’m greeting him with a KISS!!
    God Bless 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 16, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

      Amen! Love it Becky. You can’t imagine how it makes their day to walk in and you welcome them home. I actually got that idea from our dog. LOL! Really I did and it worked……

      Like

  8. krisdanko May 16, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    Debbie, I know this Mother’s Day was hard for you, and I absolutely love the blessings you came up with. Thank you for sharing–you’ve given me several things to think about!!!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 16, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Yea lady. So glad to be in OBS with you sweet one. And your card just arrived a bit ago. Thank you for remembering me. Hugs and thanks for stopping by here!!!!

      Like

  9. Lori K (OBS Group Leader) May 16, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

    I am looking forward to the day that I can give you a big hug. And, you are leaving a legacy of blessings that will go on for generations to come. Oh, for your question…I walk my husband to the door and give him a kiss before he leaves for work and I meet him at the door when he gets home in the evening and give him another kiss. Love and hugs!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 16, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

      Oh lady me too! Ready for that meeting and that hug. One day you’ll have to come here or me there – or somewhere in between. And I do that too with my hubby. I lock the door when he leaves, and unlock it when he gets home. Hugs.

      Like

  10. shannan May 16, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    I absolutely love your blog and I love your coffee mug!! I loved reading what you wrote today, very inspiring! God bless you!

    Like

  11. Pat May 16, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh, Debbie! What a beautiful blog today!!! Thank you for sharing your heart and wonderful ideas. My hubby and I kiss before we leave for work each day!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  12. Stephanie May 17, 2013 at 12:12 am #

    That is such a sweet plaque on your wall. I love the G.W.B. quote in your post. I am raising my kids a lot like my mom raised me b/c as I famously say, “I turned out fine.” However, I also find myself in uncharted territory when I find myself apologizing to my kids, admitting a mistake and/or talking things through with them. This quote though, “blessed” me. Thank you.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 17, 2013 at 7:13 am #

      Thanks Stephanie. I have been in that same territory although now my kids are married, but we never stop being a mother and I know I always can improve as I learn more and more about our Father! Hugs!

      Like

  13. Katrina May 17, 2013 at 12:41 am #

    I loved, loved, loved this post Debbie! The mug and the meaning and idea behind it, all the beautiful reminders of blessings you shared, and the qoutes all touched me. Thank you so much for sharing this today!

    Like

  14. Bree (OBS Facebook Team Leader) May 17, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    This is a beautiful entry! Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Like

  15. Kasey Norton May 21, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    This was beautiful! My husband is a firefighter and he leaves for his 24-36 hour shifts at 4am. He used to try to sneak out so as not to disturb me but I pleaded with him not to. Now he gently wakes me to say goodbye and those of some of the sweetest moments of my day! Thank you so much for linking up with me last week at Walking Redeemed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

