WHAT-EVER

23 May

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”  Philippians 4:8 (KJV)

PicMonkey CollageSLLWeek7b

Whatever is true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, and admirable,  – I’m attempting to make these words that I live by daily.  Am I there yet?  No, I am not.

Want to JOIN me??????????? I knew as I read this verse and made this challenge on Facebook and MelissaTaylor.org that Satan would be sure I had plenty of practice.

So here comes Satan with the threat of storms – severe storms from the same system that had just hit Oklahoma. All the weather stations were telling us it was going to happen, and a 6/10 chance of tornadoes in the Dallas area and after seeing what was done only a short distance from here in Cleburne and Granbury this month I was shaken – so what did I do, I panicked – yes I did – I was so ashamed, but I prepared – getting things ready in my bathroom along with a Bible and a flashlight so that if I were trapped, I would be reflecting on my Lord and things that are true, honorable, right, pure, lovely and admirable rather than my circumstances.

My giants are fear and worry about things that probably will never happen. Satan knows what where to get to each and every one of us.  He knows our weakest spot.  It didn’t – the storms came through, and as they were forming I took my mind off that which was not lovely and pure, and I turned my captive thoughts to Him, reciting this verse, and prayed that He would calm the storms and calm me. He did – He formed a long single line which caused the severe storms to calm.  The weather men were shocked, but I was not! So why no tornadoes? The storms north of us sent some cool air rushing, and it shut off the storms here (actually we had storms, but no tornadoes or large hail). Thanking Jesus still today for sending that cool air.

Have you ever stopped to think on those words?  Have you ever stopped to think about who is watching you?  I know sometime my tone, my facial expressions, the words spilling out of my mouth, and my body language do not speak these truths nor do some of my Facebook posts at times  – they are not lovely and admirable.

I may be the only Jesus that many will ever see? I may be the only Bible they may ever read! I may be  the only Christian they may ever know! OUCH!  Does that scare you like it does me?

Are you up to the challenge? Are you making the right CHOICES of what enters into your mind and your home? Are you up to really thinking about the TV programs that you watch, the magazines or books you read, the movies you watch or the music you listen to? Are you up to pausing before you speak, before you gossip, before you share rumors, before you speak rudely, before you curse, before you pick up that telephone and dial or you begin to text on your phone or post a message on Facebook or Twitter? What do you do when you are alone with only God watching? Are your thoughts pure, are they admirable, are they true, are they encouraging? Our filter should be Philippians 4:8.

If your thoughts were broadcast for the world to hear what would they think, and good grief sometimes they are because we’ve posted them, or texted them or emailed them? Would you be ashamed?

2 Corinthians 10:5 (KJV)  says that we should “bring into captive every thought to the obedience of Christ”.

Have you ever heard the saying “what you think, you are”? Melissa Taylor showed us one of her coffee cups that says, ” Think Happy, Be Happy”. All I could see were the words Think and Be.

thinkhappy

As we think, so shall we be! Prov. 23:7 says “For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he: Eat and drink, saith he to thee; but his heart is not with thee.”

  THINK=BE!!!

 

22 Responses to “WHAT-EVER”

  1. monyokks May 23, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    Love your post today, Debbie!!!I have an unpublished post on this VERY same subject…LOL!!

    You are absolutely right, girl…we ARE being watched ALL the time. I’m taking this challenge with my thoughts now, too, because I know that even if we think something unlovely or unpure, it’s sinful Get behind me, satan!! Thank you so much for this reminder. Love you, sweet sister!!

    PS: After living in Oklahoma for 9 years, Texas for 3 years and Missouri now for 13 years, we are the not-so-smart ones who actually go outside to WATCH the storms!! 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 23, 2013 at 6:01 am #

      YIKES!!! You have been through them. I have been through a couple in my lifetime in Texas, and the last one did so much damage so I go to that bathroom now – but I also go in prayer. Thanks for stopping by. Love your sunflower.

      Like

  2. stultsmamaof4 May 23, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    What a good reminder to take our thoughts captive! I’m joining you in your challenge to think on the worthy things today. 🙂

    Like

  3. Lori K (OBS Group Leader) May 23, 2013 at 7:23 am #

    I have been working on making the words in Philippians 4:8 my only reality. Like you, Satan has been working just as hard at trying to keep them from being my only reality. I am comforted in knowing that when he ramps it up and gets involved, he is feeling threatened. Thankful that our God is bigger. Loved reading your blog today! ❤

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 23, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

      Thank you Lori. I think you are absolute right. We could take this one verse and change our lives and those around us and Satan can stand down! Love you!

      Like

  4. Mindy Howell May 23, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    My community bible study leader just asked us a couple of weeks ago, what if our thoughts were made visible to others around us….. That will snap you into trying to think on good things more often. We can look like the right thing on the outside to those near by, but God sees our hearts and hears our thoughts. THAT is what we should be trying to improve, not just our outward appearance and speech. It was that week that I realized how often I think “WhatEVER”, but not in the biblical way. I’ve been trying to renew my mind in that direction more intently now. Thanks for your blog post. It was spot on.

    Like

  5. TABITHA JONES May 23, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    I enjoyed your post and it got me to really thinking. Do I present myself to the world as a Christian? Are my thought the right ones? Thank you for giving me things to ponder on and I want to make sure if I am the only bible someone sees that they can Jesus in me

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 23, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

      Me too Tabitha. I want to love everyone around me because that is what Jesus did. So glad you stopped by. Debbie

      Like

  6. krisdanko May 23, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Oh, how I loved and needed to read this today!! I reacted VERY badly to some situations at work and realized that while I am striving to change on the inside, it doesn’t always reflect on my outside!! Thanks for writing exactly what I needed!!

    Kris (OBS Small Group Leader)

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 23, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      Kris I understand so well. I felt like sometimes at work as hard as I tried that person was not me. I have found in retirement it is so much easier. Hugs. Debbie

      Like

  7. Katrina May 23, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    So many good points! I too found myself being tempted by Satan and caving when it came to living out Phil. 4:8 this week. I loved how you said it should be our filter. Thank you for challenging my thinking through this scripture. Blessings!

    Like

  8. DianeWhittington May 23, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    I love your post Debbie! I have written that verse on a couple of post cards. I like taking this challenge, because I have a negative mindset. I am praying that God will refocus my thoughts, as Tracie said in this chapter. I also like the scripture to take our thoughts captive. That’s a biggie!!! Thanks for sharing.
    P.S. I think I missed something this week. Everyone keeps mentioning the “stinking thinking”! I still can relate to it though.

    Like

  9. Sue Molitor (OBS Leader) May 23, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

    Great post Debbie!! Glad those storms missed you! Praise the Lord! Love, Sue (OBS Leader)

    Like

  10. beckmomof5 May 23, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    Love this and I love that you included your Bible in your tornado preparations! Thank you for sharing with such a way that made me really pause and think! A year or so ago, I was really convicted on the music I listened to…to think back now, it’s so true on how those seemingly little things reflect on us as followers of Jesus. Thank you God for conviction and for your thought provoking post!

    God Bless 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 23, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

      Thanks Becky. And I am thankful for conviction. We turned the tv off two shows tonight that we have always loved but they get you hooked on them and then they get bad.

      Like

  11. Marilyn May 23, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    Thank you for sharing, I really needed to hear this tonight, that our thoughts keep us captive and are often what trips us up the most. As I face my giants pray with me that God will show me how to let go of my thoughts and turn everything over to Him. Loved your blog.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 24, 2013 at 5:06 am #

      Thank you Marilyn for reading. I will be praying for you along with all the women in this study that God will touch each and every one of us – changing our thoughts – changing our stinkin’ thinkin’ and making us more like Him. Hugs to you sister! Debbie

      Like

  12. Sarah May 24, 2013 at 6:58 am #

    Thank you for this! I love seeing what other people see in such familiar texts. You are so right, we NEED to be focused on God and his blessings.
    Thanks for this!

    Like

  13. Kasey Norton May 28, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    I’m joining you. If I allow myself to be infected with this challenge to stay my mind on that which is pure and lovely, surely the blessing will spill over onto my family! And we ALL need it! Thank you so much for the encouragement and for linking up with me last week at Walking Redeemed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

