Blessings – Week 7

6 Jun

rain-listen

RAIN – It’s raining!  Don’t you love a lazy, rainy day and curling up with a good book?   I do.  I seldom get to just stop and read, but on those rainy days – days I do not enjoy housework and I can not go outdoors to work in the yard – well they are perfect for reading and spending quiet time with God.

Have you ever watched a slow, steady rain?  I looked out a bit ago and just imagined each rain drop, and as I thought of our Bible study this week and the opportunity to blog, I put down my book and am reminded as each raindrop hits the roof of how the rain drops are similar to blessings.   Really, they are falling just like God pours blessings out on each of us – we just fail to stop and consider everything in life as a blessing.  Our blessings are that “BIG” if we stop and think about all God has done for us.  I am really engrossed with the rain today,  and I thank God for bringing me to this place to be thankful in everything – thankful in the little things today like the rain, rest, writing, eyes to see, and ears to hear.

This morning as the rain arrived, it was lightning and the wind was blowing – people lost power and several houses burned.  As it was pelting on the roof and the sky was lit up, I was reminded about the storms of life and our reflection verse this week.

But now thus saith the Lord that created thee, O Jacob, and he that formed thee, O Israel, Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine.When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.For I am the Lord thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour: I gave Egypt for thy ransom, Ethiopia and Seba for thee.

Isaiah 43:1-3 (KJV)

I was reminded again from our study on trust this week, that I can not rely on my own strength, I can not rely on material things, and I can not rely on people.  It is God – the only one who will NEVER fail me.

So how about you – what do you do on a rainy day?  Are you counting your blessings?  If not, I hope you start.  Need some help – drop by MelissaTaylor.Org and join one of our Bible Studies.

5 Responses to “Blessings – Week 7”

  1. Marilyn June 6, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    It is raining here today too and never considered the raindrops as blessings. I needed also to read the picture at the top of your blog today. God puts rainbows in the clouds so that each of us -in the dreariest and most dreaded moments -can see a possibly of hope. My Mom who is 87 is starting to become confused more often and I have to make a decision to move her out of her apartment in another city closer to me for her well being and this is not her desire. Dread has been part of my day of switching roles of mother / daughter. Thanks for sharing . God has been amazing in leading me to see and hear the things needed for today like the song he brought to memory- God will make a way when there seems to be no way. Blessings on your rainy day and sunny days as well.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 6, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

      Marilyn I am praying for you. I know how hard it was to move Mom in with us girls and then later she lost a leg and was in a nursing home. It is hard being the parent. I did it for a long time, but now so blessed I did. I lost mom in Feb – it was tough – but no regrets. Hugs to you!

      Like

  2. Lauren June 6, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    I love a rainy day to read, too! Thanks for posting, sweet friend!

    Like

  3. monyokks June 6, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Debbie, it was a rainy morning here, too. Hubby and I are on our last day 😥 visiting son and his family. It was a blessed day because we just sat around, drank sweet tea and visited. What a blessing for rainy days that make you feel oh-so-lazy, slowing down to enjoy sipping some sweet tea and sweet relationships!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Pat

    Like

Leave a Reply

