TRUST – He Has Summoned Me!

6 Jun

 

But now thus saith the Lord that created thee, O Jacob, and he that formed thee, O Israel, Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine.

When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee. For I am the Lord thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour: I gave Egypt for thy ransom, Ethiopia and Seba for thee.

 Isaiah 43:1-3 (KJV)

isaiah-43-2

This week I chose to write about trust again based on our reflection verse.  The first thing I did on Sunday when I saw the verse was personalize it. So here goes.:

He created and formed you and redeemed  you Debbie, and I call you by name.  You are mine Debbie.  When you passeth through the waters, I will be with you Debbie I will be with you.  The rivers shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire you will not be burned nor shall the flame kindle upon you.  I am your Lord, your God, the Holy One, your Savior.  NOW, how about you?  Go personalize that verse with your name in it.

On Monday I began verse mapping for three days.   I love this verse and the more you map, the more you fall in love with it.  But that is how it has been this whole study with MelissaTaylor.org and the book, Stressed-Less Living by Tracie Miles digging in the scriptures.

So here is some of what I found as God walked me through this verse and our study of Stressed-Less Living this week.

But NOW He says to me.   He summons me by my name.  It does not say tomorrow, not next week, not next year – but NOW!   What does that mean?    The NKJ version says, “I have called you by your name”.  To know that he summons me and calls me by my name speaks so much to me, but it also makes me sad thinking about how He is summoning, and sometimes I am so busy I don’t hear that summons.

I am summoned by my God.  How awesome and precious is that?  He knows me by my name.  He knows me intimately.  He loves and adores me.   He cares about me.  I am precious to Him.  I am His beautiful workmanship.  He summons me.  He summons you.  Does that just give you glory bumps?  It does me.  I watch our asst. principal at school.  He knows every child by name and it is amazing to watch him in the hallways and at lunch calling out to each and every one of them personally by name – not “hey you”, but by name.  That is how our God knows us – by name!

Not only does God know us by name, we know Him by name and He is worthy of so many names and each one blesses me each time I hear them.   Master, My Savior, Adonai our Lord, El Roi,  and the list goes on.   His names reveal to you and I who He is.  Read each one and worship Him.

At the end of our verse this week He is called the Lord, the Holy One of Israel,  your Savior and the list beautifully goes on.   As we read through the Bible we learn who He is.  I love studies on His names.   This picture has only a glimpse of the names we find in the Bible but look at them.  They are beautiful and so descriptive of a loving Father who adores us.  I have tears and want to bow down for all He has done for me, and that He summons me.  How many times have I disappointed my Savior?

So what is your favorite name of God?

 Blog-NamesofGod

I hope you will listen to this song.  It is amazing.  It has beautiful pictures of the names of God and the words will help you learn what they mean.  Love to Sing Your Name  by John Waller.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you and the rivers will not sweep over you.  The verse reminds us that we will pass through waters.  Those waters are going to come and when they come He will be with us just like He was with the Israelites.  He goes before you and I daily, and behind us and with us during our trials – those troubled waters.

When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned.  Once again it says WHEN we walk, not if we walk through fires, but when!  He can put our fires out as well as we trust Him like Shadrach, Mechach and Abednego did when they were thrown in that fiery pit.  Just like them, we will not be burned.  This verse this week has strengthened me and I will lean on it as new challenges or drowning waters and fires try to consume me.

So to sum it all up.   God created me and He called Me by name.  He redeemed ME and I am His.  He knows everything about me – He knows my fears, my insecurities, and all those thoughts (good or bad).  He knows what I am going through so I shall not be afraid of the fire or the water, the loss of a job, the sickness or whatever because He is with ME, He created ME, He redeemed ME and He calls ME by name. I am HIS and he knows exactly who I am. He knows my voice, He knows my trials, my insecurities, my fears, and oh He knows and cares about my tears.    He knows precisely who “Debbie” is and what she is going through every moment of every single day.

 

  

10 Responses to “TRUST – He Has Summoned Me!”

  1. Missy June 6, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    Debbie, that does indeed make me feel So incredibly special and loved, to know that our God calls my by name. I love the enthusiasm you have for the power of this passage – it bursts forth in your writing. (And I thought it was precious how you have that little date as a button on the right side with your first grandchild’s arrival there. Congratulations!)

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 6, 2013 at 8:51 am #

      Thank you Missy – we are excited for that first grandbaby and praying for more. Yep all these verses are coming alive for me in this study. I love how God is working on me.

      Like

  2. jamywhitaker June 6, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    Debbie, I loved your post this morning. I love that God knows our names and calls us His. Nothing can compare to the love our Heavenly Father has for each one of us. I loved how you shared some of His names and attributes in your post. Your passion for the scriptures come forth in your blog posts – keep posting girl. I love reading your work.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 6, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      Thank you Jamy. It is an honor for someone like you to say you enjoy reading my work. Hugs! Praying for you and your family.

      Like

  3. Katrina June 6, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    Debbie, I always love your posts. I too love how we learn of God through his many names in His Word. It reminded me of the song “Love To Say Your Name” by John Waller, in which had taught me and helped me to memorize so many of them. My favorite one changes periodically with my lifes experiences but right now I’m really loving and learning to call on “Jehovah Raffa” – God my healer and “Jehovah Shamma” – never leaves us nor forsakes us. (not sure I spelled those right)

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 6, 2013 at 11:21 am #

      Katrina just listened to that song. Love it and the one I am listening to has so many photos of the names. The song an d pictures are beautiful. Thanks for sharing. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1I_IVnjQTU

      Like

      • Katrina June 6, 2013 at 11:56 am #

        Your welcome Debbie 🙂 Thank you for posting this link. The posters that were put with the song were great and now I know how to properly spell the names, lol.

        Like

  4. nancymiksad June 6, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    I LOVE THIS ~ These verses are verses I have clung to for so many situations in my life but . . . I had never verse mapped them. Your words are amazing and I loved it. Thank you

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 6, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      Thank you Nancy and so glad you stopped by but even more glad we are in OBS together. Hugs. Debbie W.

      Like

  5. LK June 6, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    Love your passion Debbie – thank you for sharing! He knows us by name! He created us. He formed us. He summoned us. He is with us. He is our God, the Holy One of Israel, our Savior! Glory!

    Like

Leave a Reply

