HEALED

13 Jun

blog-heartbyme

Psalm 147:3-4 (KJV)

He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds.

 He telleth the number of the stars; he calleth them all by their names.

Are you broken-hearted today?
Are you filled with grief or pain from the loss of a child or family member, miscarriage, infertility, guilt from an abortion, marital problems or divorce, an addiction, rape, the repentance of a loved one, a friend deceiving you,  or news of a terminal illness?
Are you dealing with a lost relationship with the one you thought you would marry, have you been hurt by a partner’s infidelity and their decision to move on without you in their life, or maybe you are the partner who committed the infidelity?
Have you had the pain of losing a job and your retirement benefits or maybe a job you applied for and didn’t get or perhaps even a failing business you own?
Are you a baby boomer who is providing care for an elderly parent and watching helplessly and powerless as their health is deteriorating?
This list could go on and  – there are so many things that have and will break your heart and mine.
None of us are immune to being broken-hearted.  In fact, I believe all of us will go through being heart-broken in at least one or more of the things I’ve listed above.  For me this year it was the loss of my Mom during  Valentine’s week after many years of watching her suffer not only physically but mentally from depression of losing my dad – for eighteen years she could never let God heal that pain.  I
 Like some of you, I experienced miscarriages –  both early and late after hearing heart beats.  As I went through miscarriage after miscarriage, I was told my chances of having a child were zero.  Little did my doctor know the Great Physician would change that zero to a hundred percent.  See “My Most Memorable Gift From God – Trust Fund Baby”.
Some of you may have a baby in an intensive care unit.  Our daughter was 2 lbs 6 ozs and nine weeks early.  Our hearts broke she was in the hospital for over two months wondering if we would ever bring her home.  It was a daily journey not knowing from hour to hour if that fragile, teeny, little girl would survive the NICU, but thousands of people all over the United States were  lifting her and us in prayer. God was with our broken hearts all those weeks as we watched her suffer and go through ups and downs, and finally God healed her and we brought her home.
We were brokenhearted when we lost a nephew about to start college in a car accident, and later his brother who was about to graduate from college died unexpectedly.  Yes we have known broken-heartedness watching a mother grieve in the loss of both of her boys – that gut wrenching grief that you never want to go through or see.  Holidays were not the same and never will be without those precious boys.  During that same time my husband and I both lost our dads within a few years apart.
Did you know our awesome God is concerned about our broken hearts?  He has the power to heal our broken hearts if we run to Him and ask Him to heal our pain.  In Psalm 34:18 it says, “The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit”.  Have you ever read the story of Lazarus?  It is a touching scene of Jesus crying at Lazarus’ grave. He hurt with Lazarus’ family. He hurts when we hurt.  I have often wondered how people deal with grief when they do not have God to carry them through.  It is unthinkable to me how I could have gone through any of my heartbroken times had I not been able to run to him,  and let him heal my heart.
Maybe that is why I love this verse and it is staying on my mind as we study to memorize it this week.  Do you remember when you were a child and you would get hurt and run to your mom, and how she would love on you and take care of your wounds or even a sickness like tonsilitis or strep and making you tomato or chicken noodle soup?  Mom would make chicken noodle soup for me.  I loved it when Mom would come in and put clean sheets on my bed.   I remember being up all night with my toddlers who had many ear aches and rocking and cuddling them, and when they were older getting their wisdom teeth out and taking care of them.  Do you know that is what Jesus does – he takes care of us when we run to him?  Psalms 147:3  gives me a picture of me crawling up and sitting in His lap and him cuddling me and healing my broken heart as He wraps me in His arms.  I don’t have to picture it though because He is there to do it anytime I come to Him in prayer with a broken heart.
When my heart is hurting, I run to my Lord, my Father.  So if you are brokenhearted today my friend, take that brokenness to the only one that can heal it, to the one who really cares, and to the one who hurts with you when you cry!
Lastly, I share this song.  It was the one song that God gave me that carried me through one of the biggest heartbreaks of my life.   I hope it carries you through like it did me.  Johnathan Pierce in Healing Hands and the video is amazing.
23 Responses to “HEALED”

  1. Missy June 13, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    Debbie, you’ve poured your heart out on this page to show us the beautiful way God can redeem our pain. Thank you.

    Like

  2. suelovelife June 13, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Sweet Debbie! HUGS to you! I love the picture of us crawling up in Jesus’ lap when we are hurting. I needed this today. Love you!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 13, 2013 at 9:21 am #

      Thank you Sue. God always gives us what we need when we need it. I needed the reminder this week too and loved this verse.

      Like

  3. Jennifer N June 13, 2013 at 9:37 am #

    Oh Debbie, my heart aches for you in reading this but what an amazing encourager and inspiration you are! Beautiful post!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 13, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      Thank you sweet one. It was a hard blog but blessed by it. Love you and missing you.

      Like

      • LK June 13, 2013 at 9:55 am #

        Love this Debbie – thank you for sharing not the hurts in your life but how God has loved on you, comforted you and healed your brokenness.

        Like

      • bloggerlovestheking June 13, 2013 at 10:04 am #

        Like

  4. Lauren (OBS Facebook Group 29 Leader) June 13, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    Love this! I’m so glad there is no heart too broken, no situation too complicated, for Him! ❤

    Like

  5. Lisa Allen June 13, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    Debbie, this sharing from your heart blessed me. You have earned the platform to speak on close to the brokenhearted and God used you to be a dispenser of hope to so many!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 13, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

      Lisa you blessed my heart. It’s all about Him and what He is doing through me. Thank you, thank you.

      Like

  6. Liz June 14, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    Beautiful! Thank you!

    Like

  7. Jedidja June 14, 2013 at 11:00 am #

    Dank je/ thank you for this special blog. You are a blessing.

    Like

  8. prince26155 June 14, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

    I love your blogs!

    Like

  9. Katrina June 14, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    Beautiful post! I felt your pain and His glory!

    Like

    • Becky June 15, 2013 at 7:23 am #

      Thank you for this post, the song was beautiful. I really needed this today.

      Like

  10. Kasey Norton June 19, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    This is beautiful. Our pain and heartache is temporary and I cannot wait for the day it is all wiped away! Thank you for sharing your heart, even when it hurts! I am always blessed to find you have linked one of your posts with me over at Walking Redeemed!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Red | OH, THE THINGS WE SHALL SEE ~ Photo companion blog to TheSanctuaryofMyHeart.com - July 23, 2013

    […] Healed (mixwilliams.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

