My One Word – 2013

13 Jun

.PicMonkey Collagemoreofhim

He must increase, but I must decrease.  John 3:30 (KJV)

Do you have “one word” for 2013?  Mine is LESS – less of me, MORE of Him!  Does that verse speak to you like it does me?

It is sort of like a New Year’s resolution, and my first time to do it, but it is so much more.  For me,  it is working well in all areas of my life this year.  With resolutions in years past they lasted maybe a month.  I am finding it is working in all areas of my life – my spiritual life, leadership, organization, cleanliness, exercise and health and so on.  Guess what – I already have a new word picked for 2014.

Last year I was led to Melissa.Taylor.Org.  One of the topics for several weeks has been blessings and I have been writing about my blessings but deviating a bit because the other topics have been awesome these past few weeks.  Today I wanted to look back and write about at least this blessing.

I am blessed that through this study I heard about the “one word” concept and there is even a book, and no I have not had the time to read it.  It is on my to-do list.  I have looked at it when I am in the book store.

So how have I been blessed by my one word this year:

1.  As a leader in a Facebook Bible study group, I have learned to stop and pray for guidance before posting to my group.  I can not live nor serve the way I should without His perfect leadership and guidance.  More of Him each morning, less of me.  It is not about me,  it is about doing for others which is in turn for Him!  I pray that the light of the Lord would shine through me and people would see Him and not me.  I do not want to get wrapped up  in doing great things for Jesus, and feel any pride welling up inside me but rather humbly serve and honor Him.

2.  As a leader in our group of many leaders sometimes it can be hard not to compare myself to other leaders – some have been a leader longer than me, some are authors, some are more creative, some can vocalize so well,  and yes the list goes on.    But you know what God did not call me into this leadership to be like anyone else on the team.  He did not call me to be better.  He called me to be the “me” that He created “me” to be, and let Him work through me.  He only wants a willing servant, and He will do the rest.

2.  For my health I have tried many times to lose weight only to gain it again.  I have found this year I am making healthier choices in snacks and meals.  I have even started making shakes with kale leaves and I love them.  More of Him when I am planning meals, less of me.  I am learning to crave Him and not food, and learning I need to be fit for Him – not me.  I know now it does not matter what others think about my weight, it does not matter what I think – what matters is I am a child of the King and I need to be making wise healthy choices with my food and exercisedaily as a reflection of Him in me.

3.  As a wife and mother I want to be all I can be.  When it talks about the Proverbs 31 Lady in the Bible – yes that is who I want to be.  I am not there yet, but I am working on it and God will not let me rest until I become the Godly wife and mother He desires me to be.

So how about you – do you have one word this year?  If so, please share.  If not, I pray you do next year.

3 Responses to “My One Word – 2013”

  1. prince26155 June 14, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

    I like the one word concept. We can hold on to one word easier than pages of resolutions we can’t remember, let alone keep.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Favorite Bible Verses – Day 17 {FREE PRINTABLE} | Blogger Loves The King - August 13, 2014

    […] must become less if He is to become greater!  My one word this year and 2013 was less  – less of me, more of Him! (Click the 2013 to see that blog). Have I accomplished […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

