Encouragement, Faith, Inspiration

Blessings – Week 8 – Texas Heat

dsc02011.jpg

Since those of us here in  Texas are burning up in almost 100 degree weather and I have been out mowing and sweating and finally came in to take a shower, I stopped to think how can I call a Texas summer a blessing.  I am not by any means complaining about summer – it is a season and it is a season God created and it is a blessing.   Again this week I am writing about blessings as one of my topics on MelissaTaylor.Org during the study of Stressed-Less Living.   I will give thanks for this season, but I will also find ways to stay out of the heat.

I thought it might be fun to dream a bit – like how about dreaming about Fall – you know sweaters and long sleeves for that cooler weather or a light coat.  These sweaters are pretty, but honestly I love my shorts and flip flops.  Not much of a sweater girl.

2-e1498881511837.jpg

Or you can dream about a hot cup of chocolate or a hot cup of orange spice tea!  Oh yea!  But today it’s iced tea and iced water.

During this hot summer I need to find time to clean out some Fall clothes and Winter, Spring and Summer also.

Did I get you excited about Fall?  I hope so.  Just forget those hot, humid, dog days of our Texas summer for a few minutes.

How am I blessed by the Texas heat – summer?  I am finding so much to do indoors – cleaning my office today.  Tomorrow the laundry room and ironing are on my to-d0o list. On Friday I’ll meet some retired friends for lunch.  Saturday is a baby shower, and then lots of work at my Mom’s house as well as mowing her yard in this heat.  We lost her in February, and are getting ready to get it empty to sell.  Sunday is church and hopefully we will have time to swim since all the work is done.  Yes swim – not that’s a Texas reality.  No all the work will not be done.  The mowing of this acreage will be done at least for a few days after I get out and finish up a little ore pushing and a little more riding tomorrow.  In between all this, I am finishing up a Bible Study called Stressed Less Living by Tracie Miles.

I can think of many other blessings about summer – it causes me to be thankful for spring and fall.  It causes me to slow down inside like it does during winter snows.  I have time to read, get caught up on paperwork, enjoy eating healthy salads and cleaning out all those old clothes, watch a good movie, and in a week or two my neice and great nephews will be over for a swimming party. Or let’s dream about a bowl of ice cream.  Can I say yum – yummy blessing?  Ice cream is the one really cool thing about summer – banana nut, coconut, chocolate, Reese’s peanut butter cup, vanilla, strawberry – my husband does them all and more as he continues to invent new ice cream recipes in the summer.   Or how about a summer smoothie – my breakfast this morning.

dsc02012.jpg

And then there are those summer watermelons and cantaloupe.  Yummy and refreshing.  And what about the blessing of sweating off toxins while mowing in the heat.  I love that and maybe, just maybe my cholesterol will be better when I go see my doctor in a few weeks.   What a blessing that would be!

This summer my biggest blessing will be the birth of my first grandchild, Colt sometime around August 9 (talking about hot – August is really hot).  And then we will be celebrating 44 years of marriage on August 16.  Where did the time go?

I hope you are inside today or in a place where it is nice and cool and counting your blessings because if we stop and just think about it there is always something to be thankful about even in those “dog days” of summer.  I think I will just name them God’s blessed days of summer.

11 thoughts on “Blessings – Week 8 – Texas Heat”

  1. Love how you found blessings in the heat!! I’m up in Michigan, we actually are still getting into the 50’s at night–so you can send some of that heat right up here 😉

    Like

    1. I have a really cute picture of my daddy in a hat – he was in Michigan until his dad died when he was only 10 and they moved back to Texas for family could help my grandmother. Otsego, Michigan – my grandfather is buried there.

      Like

  2. I guess those of us in cooler climates should call ourselves blessed that we don’t see the 100’s. It rarely get much about 90 in WV. Maybe that is why I love summer so much. No matter the temperature, we are blessed. Thank you for your Blessings post.
    Be continually Blessed,
    B. Prince
    OBS Small Group Leader

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed your post and understand what you mean with the heat. I live in Alabama and it gets hot here but I try not to complain. I was really hard on myself last night because they cut my hours at work and then one of our church members came into church telling me that there PSA level was so high that his cancer was back and he opened my eyes,. I was feeling sorry for myself but GOd let me see that I don’t have what I think is troubles compared to some. So I am thankful for life!!

    Like

    1. Hey Tabitha where do you live? I used to travel to Huntsville when I worked. We don’t realize how blessed we are until we look at others and then we realize we will take our problems. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  4. YOU are a blessing Debbie! What a beautiful perspective you always have. Your post today made me smile since I’m a newbie to Austin. Weather is similar to NC right now but I know it won’t be in a few weeks so I need to start saying reciting blessings now so I can be prepared 😉 So thankful for you and all that you do sweet lady.

    Blessings
    Kristi Seat
    OBS Leadership Team

    Like

    1. Yep Kristi it is only going to get worse from here with the heat. We have had a comfortable summer so far – REALLY cooler than usual. Those 100s are coming I guess next week. Pushing a mower around our orchards and fence lines on over an acre and a half and then riding takes two days for me. If my hubby and I do it together it takes two nights. Thanks for stopping by. I was thinking about you this morning. Hugs.

      Like

  5. I was looking over the titles to all this weeks blogs and was intrigued by your Texas Heat Blessings. We lived in McKinney for 2 years and right before we moved we had 30+ days of 100+ temperatures. I loved how you found so many blessings in spite of the high temps!

    Praying for you as you get your mom’s home ready for sale.
    In His love,
    Pat (OBS small group leader)

    Like

    1. Thanks Pat. We are South of Dallas about 22 miles. Haven’t hit that 100 yet which is unusual but it is close with some 98 degree days and they say late next week they may start. It gets hard keeping things alive. Thanks for stopping by. Hugs.

      Like

  6. oh you’re making me miss home!!! I always enjoyed the summer heat (not so much the triple digits but otherwise). I’m weird, I know…but the summer morning, or a good summer thunderstorm, or bbq by the pool. I miss Texas thunderstorms the most…nothing like them. Although my favorite season is fall as well so I’m with you on that. Thanks for sharing on FTAF!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

