Encouragement, Faith, Grief, Inspiration, Prayer

INTERCEDE

picmonkey-image-65

Has there been a time in your life when you could not find the words to pray, when you were so emotionally overcome by a situation that you could not even utter a prayer, and just so overwhelmed and perhaps even angry at God?  Tracie Miles says “we have all found ourselves in a pit at one time or another.”

I remember one time in my life when I was in one of those deserts, one of those pits where I found I could not pray.   I did not understand how something so bad could happen to someone so in love with Jesus, and I am so ashamed to say that I was angry with that thorn and I wanted it removed and the doubt, tears, and all that came with it.   I wanted to pray at times, but I could not get the words to come.  I know during those times that my God cares, and He is interceding for me, but nonetheless it hurts when you know you need to pray but you can not utter the words.  I find it scary that “He knoweth the secrets of my heart.’  Psalm 44:21b (KJV).  In Psalm 139:2  (KJV) it also says,  “Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.”   Did you know Jesus knows us inside out?  Yes we may hide to others what we are thinking or feeling, but we can never, ever hide our thoughts from Him.

He knows our thoughts, he hears our cries, and carries us through those heartbreaking times.  Romans 8:26 is   comforting to me because I know God is standing in the gap for me and you.  God desires to intervene and he will intercede .  Our prayers, and our cries are heard by Him.  He sees our tears too and hurts with us.

I  believe the enemy will try his best to keep us from praying.  Read this quote from Beth Moore, “What victory the enemy has in winning us over to prayerlessness. He would rather we do anything than pray.”  WOW!  But thank God that it is He who is in control .

This week in Stressed Less Living in Chapter 11, we studied how we can reset our lives when we come to the end of of our ropes.  As I studied those steps I realized at times I have gone through all of them and sometimes more than one at once.  These were the steps that Tracie Miles revealed:

  1. Realign your life to God’s word.
  2. Recognize your need for God’s help.
  3. Adjust your focus to God, not your circumstances.
  4. Be filled with the Holy Spirit.  (Remember the one who’s praying on your behalf)
  5. Be faithful in your prayer life.
  6. Believe God is Who He says He is

While I can improve in all these areas, the one that spoke to me  was #3.  I need to adjust my focus to God and not  on my circumstances.   It is hard at times to not focus on the negative.  Stuff going on in life can just get you down.  The loss of my Mom this year in February was much harder than I ever dreamed.  Going to her house now each week to mow and try to get it cleaned out and empty both hers and Dad’s “stuff” to sell – well let’s just say it has been heartbreaking with all the memories.  I find when I focus only on the negative happening in my life that it makes things so much worse and I could easily stay and wallow in that pit.  But, if I focus on God and all the blessings in my life, it does bring peace.

So how do I adjust my focus to God and not all these negative circumstances, hurts and pain.  One way that God showed me this week was when I jump in the car to leave Moms is to turn my radio up and sing with 94.9 KLTY or put a good CD in like  Big Daddy Weave and I can sing Redeemed without missing a word (love that song) or this one “Every Good Thing” by The Afters because it will make you and me worship.   Even if I do not know the words I can let that music blare.   Another thing a sweet Bible study friend shared with me this week that, like me, she wakes up during the night with thoughts of her mother.  Last night she said I came to mind and she prayed for me when she woke up.   Sooooo when I wake up again with thoughts of Mom, I know now that instead of feeling sorry for myself, I will turn that around to reflect on Him and to reflect on Linda and lift her in prayer as well as all of Group 31 and our leadership team.  I will also focus on all the precious memories of Mom and not the pain of her being gone.  FOCUS – adjust my focus to God and not my circumstances and me, me, me – but HIM!

So how about you?  Will you share how you get through the  hurts and pain, thorns and pit in your life, or one of the steps above that you need to tackle to reset your life?

22 thoughts on “INTERCEDE”

  1. Debbie, your sharing is such an encouragement to others. I’m really zeroing in on being faithful in my prayer life. It makes peace instantly available and allows me to feel like I’m “doing something” positive while I wait.

    Like

  2. Thanks Debbie! Refocus is a good one to remember. I have been doing that a lot, without realizing that’s what I was doing! (I guess that sounds funny). So often the negative thoughts come in, or a wake up feeling a bit down instead of feeling happy. I go downstairs and turn on my I Tunes on my phone( it plays one song after the next) and it makes me refocus. It is all worship songs. Before long, Jesus has come into the room, and I am singing and praising Him, and my spirit is lifted!

    Like

  3. Debbie, I’m so sorry for the loss of your mom and all that you’ve experienced since then. It sounds like you’re taking the steps you need to reset. The one that spoke the most to me this week was about admitting our need for help–I’m soooo one that figures I can always get through things on my own. How much better to have God there to help me instead!! Prayers and hugs!

    Kris (OBS Small Group Leader)

    Like

  4. Thank you Debbie for an awesome and heartfelt post! I am focusing on being faithful in my prayer life. I want to be more focused and honest in my prayers. I want my prayer life to become more of an open and honest discussion with Christ and more time for listening to His voice as well!!

    Like

  5. Debbie,
    This post is beautiful and so are you! Thank you for always being so encouraging, you are dear to me!

    Melissa S OBS Group Leader

    Like

  6. Debbie…thank you for always sharing your heart here! I need to focus on recognizing my need for God’s help. Too many times I try to fix things on my own when all I need to do us surrender and trust. Blessings to you my friend! Love, Shelly

    Like

  7. Awesome post. Isn’t it amazing that even when we are so down that we can’t find the words, God takes care of that. It is truly amazing to me that He knows our heart, every part of it, and we don’t have to say a word. Love it!

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for this beautiful message and truth. You are an inspiration and I am thankful I stopped by. I am working on my focus. This study has amazingly taught me that when I focus on Him and the Kingdom, all those things that are noble, lovely, true, and praiseworthy, I am lifted in my mind and heart to our precious savior Jesus and over time, some longer than others, I am dancing to my music again! These are listed as Action Steps for a reason. This has to be intentional and takes effort but is so very worth it. Thank you for your message. I look forward to reading much more and learning from you. God Bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

