Encouragement, Faith, Inspiration

Blessed – Super Moon – BIG God!

DSC02037

Sunday night the super moon reached its orbit closest to earth.  Yes it did!  To many folks around the earth it was magical and so many other things.  To me it was nothing but the awesomeness of my God – a gift to enjoy, and both my husband and I watched together.  As I viewed the moon, I pondered on EVERYTHING that I was looking at was created by Him.  He created the moon, the stars, the dark, and as I stood there again Monday morning at 5:30 looking up at it and snapping another picture, I stood there and thought of how small I am in this big giant universe, and how BIG my God is.

And God said, Let there be lights in the firmament of the heaven to divide the day from the night; and let them be for signs, and for seasons, and for days, and years: And let them be for lights in the firmament of the heaven to give light upon the earth: and it was so.  And God made two great lights; the greater light to rule the day, and the lesser light to rule the night: he made the stars also.”  Genesis 1:14-16 (KJV)

 

I am amazed to think how we can  ALL take the things for granted that God created for us to enjoy and to savor every day.  We walk quickly to our cars, or sit at a ball game,  and never even look up, we walk outside, we swim in the evening and never look up at the stars and the moon.  It takes a “super moon” to get people to pause and glance up, look up and see the magnificent moon, and yes it is ALWAYS magnificent – full moon, half-moon, quarter moon.  Did you stop and glance at the moon this weekend?  Did you stop to reflect in awe that God created that moon?  If you did not, go out and look at that moon tonight and shoot a picture.

As I stood under that super moon Monday morning, I thanked God for His awesome creation – for that gift to me.  I thanked Him for all creation including each of you reading this and me, and I thanked Him for all my blessings – all of which I have been blogging about on MelissaTaylor.Org Blog Hop Thursdays.  Join me and others over on Melissa’s site.

Psalm 8:3-4 KJV  “When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?”

 

©Deborah Williams

6 thoughts on “Blessed – Super Moon – BIG God!”

  1. That supermoon was awesome! Since I’ve been counting my blessings, though, I’m seeing God’s creation in a whole new way. My evening walks are filled with looking at the green trees and the flowing creek. Everything seems a little brighter when we look at it thinking of God! Blessings to you, sweet sister!

    Like

      1. I agree about the Supermoon! I was just on the OBS blog and saw the picture and zoomed right on in! Last night I happened to be up at midnight and I FINALLY GOT TO SEE IT! I am one that tries to watch the full moon rise each month. I cannot get enough. Thanks for sharing.

        Blessings!

        Like

      2. Thanks Tristine. Loving the moon and the stars. I remember my husband and son were on a trip in the country and they got out one night. My son was little – he looked up and said Dad look at all those stars – God promised Abraham seed like that. Love it. Thanks for stopping by. Hugs sweet sister.

        Like

    1. Right on Lauren. When I started truly discovering and opening my eyes to Creation everything was greener, taller, more beautiful, everything! I so love God’s Creation. It is breathtaking.

      Blessings to you!

      Tristine

      Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

