Mary or Martha – How Can I Be Both?

7 Jul

PicMonkey SampleMaryMartha

This week I started a Bible study on prayer, and once again we are studying about Martha and Mary.  I have read about Martha and Mary all my life, but I never STUDIED Martha and Mary.  This is my third blog about these two ladies and the more I study, the more I learn and the more I learn the more I see that I need to make some changes in my priorities in life.

Last week I blogged about Family and Messes and what really matters, and the week before I blogged about one thing.    Since I retired I am trying to be more of a Mary wanting to sit at Jesus’ feet and learn more about him, wanting to spend more time in prayer, and I even made a prayer binder over a year ago with a page for each family member and my Bible study groups and friends in need of prayer by name.  I love getting it out each morning and spending time in prayer, many times on my knees and sometimes even in tears.

Finding a balance seems to be the secret to what each of us should be.  Martha had many good traits and if we weren’t a little bit like Martha what would our houses look like, and how would we be able to stay up with our schedules.  I admit we are too busy or at least I am.  I can always find something to do and never bored.  I love being at home but I have to balance what I am doing.  I find myself some days doing nothing but Bible study, and sometimes I think I have spent too much time in the Word, and then I say how can I spend too much time in God’s word or at his feet.  If my home is being neglected and unclean I believe I need to be more of a Martha.  I need to seek his wisdom as to when I need to be each one of these ladies.    I need to serve others as Martha did.  I need to sit at His feet and soak in His word as Mary did.  I don’t want my devotion or love of Him to suffer because I am too busy to stop and spend time with Him each day.

So what steps am I taking as a result of these studies.  I truly believe I need to spend more time in prayer and I need to spend more time in my daily lessons on the Bible verses I am studying.  I need to spend more time verse mapping and really delving into those specific verses to see what they really mean.  I have been doing all of these things, but I think there is room for improvement.

So what steps are you taking to make Jesus more of a priority?

9 Responses to “Mary or Martha – How Can I Be Both?”

  1. Lauren (OBS Facebook Group 29 Leader) July 7, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    Thanks for your reminder that it needs to be a balance. I’ll be the first to admit, I am not a Martha when it comes to housework, and I often get overwhelmed because it is such a disaster, so I do nothing. During the summer, I make excuses for just sitting… indulging my Mary but also just doing…nothing. I need to balance!
    I like your idea of a prayer journal. Thanks for the suggestion. Love you, sweet lady!

    Like

  2. Jennifer Newsom, OBS Leadership Team July 7, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    Bless you Debbie, such a beautiful post and heart. I always know whenever you are asked to pray for someone or something, you truly do it and mean it. Love you!!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

      Thank you Jennifer. I appreciate that. I had a friend send me a message saying the same thing. Love you!

      Like

  3. krisdanko July 7, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Debbie, love how you point out it is all about balance!! I, too, love your idea of a prayer journal. These Bible studies are helping me re-prioritize to what’s really important!

    Kris (OBS Small Group Leader)

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      Thanks for reading Kris. They are helping me to – each one I grow in another way.

      Like

  4. jlflorine July 7, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Love your post Debbie, I can so relate, sometimes I sit on this computer reading OBS posts and my place is a mess and I don’t get anything done, you are right, we need balance. I am praying that the Lord helps me in this area of balance!!!

    Like

  5. jeaniekelley July 7, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    Love the blog today. Blessings.

    Like

  6. lvbyfaith July 8, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    I loved your blog!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

