Cultivating A Heart of Prayer – Week 3 – Are You Carrying Baggage or Singing His Song?

20 Jul

This is our third week in Wendy Blight’s study of Cultivating A Heart of Prayer and it has been amazing thanks to some awesome OBS ladies (Christa Hutchins, Kristi Seat, Kandace Poindexter, Kristen Barkdull, and Kris Danko) .

One of the first things we learned this week was in order to pray God’s word we have to know His word.  “Praying powerful and effective prayers begins with incorporating God’s Word into your prayers.” Wendy Blight.

So how do we incorporate God’s Word?  First we have to know it.  One way we can get to know His word is to read it, but we need to open the eyes of our hearts so that we might hear what He has to say to us.  That is a key that I learned this week as you will see as you read on.  I heard a sermon over a year ago, and then STUDIED that scripture this week with an open heart and WOW!  When we find a scripture that touches our hearts, we need to write it down, highlight it,  verse map it and understand it.  Personalize the scriptures with your name or your husband’s name or your children’s name.  Finally we need to learn to pray them back to God.  During your study, search for verses that might help you with current situations in your life – like your marriage, worry, anxiety, divorce, raising a child, not being able to have a child, loneliness, elder care, job, home, etc..

This is one of the verses  that spoke to me this week.  At Hillcrest Baptist Church last Sunday morning,  our youth minister, Tommy spoke about “our baggage” and “our song”.  I came home and looked over our homework for the week and these verses jumped out at me, and I have to say that one of them was underlined and highlighted where Brother Mike had preached it back on Jan 8, 2012.  

Deuteronomy 6:5-9 (KJV  “And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.  And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up. And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes. And thou shalt write them upon the posts of thy house, and on thy gates.”

Deuteronomy 11:18-20 (KJV)  “Therefore shall ye lay up these my words in your heart and in your soul, and bind them for a sign upon your hand, that they may be as frontlets between your eyes.And ye shall teach them your children, speaking of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, when thou liest down, and when thou risest up. And thou shalt write them upon the door posts of thine house, and upon thy gates:”

I had written down in my Bible something Bro. Mike said that day, and oh it carries so much more weight today.  “As the family goes so does the nation.  Families will never rise above the parents. ”  I also had written down “My heart is melted by the love of God. and character is caught not taught”.

As I listened in church about this past Sunday about “baggage” and how people carry it around, rather than forgiving people who hurt them or forgiving themselves, I wondered how many children’s lives are ruined because of a parent’s hatred, wounds, racism, unforgiveness, bitterness, depression, hopelessness, loneliness, etc.  They pass that down to their children, grandchildren and future generations.  Terry said that they sing that same old song of “baggage” every day to everyone around them.

God gave us freedom for forgiveness and “baggage”.     We need to surround ourselves like the Jews.  Today they wear prayer boxes on their arms and foreheads and decorate their doorframes to remember what God has done for them.

As believers in Jesus Christ, we are called to remember. Our lives and our homes should reflect what He has done for us.   So how do we surround ourselves with reminders to remember God’s faithfulness? One way is to place pictures around the house.  Many people display crosses and so do I.   I love reminders and am passionate about hanging up God’s Word throughout the house.  After this week that passion will most likely grow and I will be plastering reminders.

Here are a few things around my house:

PicMonkey Collagetie

Another way to be reminded of what our God has done for us is to wear things like  jewelry, t-shirts, etc.  that show God’s love. One of my favorite pieces of jewelry that I pull out for Christmas is my nativity scene.  

DSC02233

This is a cross necklace a cousin pulled off and put on me after my Mom’s funeral this year.  WOW!  Talking about blessed!Cross Necklace

 It was a perfect gift that reminds me of Jesus’ death and resurrection, and also her love for me during a very sad time.  Only Jesus could turn the cross into a symbol of love.  That old rugged cross could have been baggage to Him, but he turned it around to a story of amazing grace for you and me!

I want to take God’s word, his promises and mediate on them and talk about them and pray about them.  I want to not only tie those promises on my hands but in my heart.  I want to leave a message for generations to come.  

So I ask you  like our youth pastor did – “what is your song today“?  Are you singing a song of self-pity, bitterness, anger, sorrow, pain – songs of confusion, regret, or are you singing a song of God’s grace, how he saved you, how he loves you, how he died for you?  Are you singing songs from the scriptures so that your children and grandchildren can know who God is.  Are you impressing God’s love on their hearts, or are you giving them your “baggage”?

As Bro. Tommy reminded us Sunday, David came clean with God and he stopped running, and God gave David a new song – a song of forgiveness and freedom, a song of hope and purpose, a song of deliverance.  It was a song with “no baggage”.

Blog-MusicHow about you?  Are you carrying a song of hope or a song of “baggage”?  Are you tired of running?  If you are still carrying that baggage from your childhood, a divorce, a broken home, a death – it is time to let go and sing a love song to God.

Each and every one of us has a song.  It is unique to us.  It is a tune we can play, and can be a beautiful melody composed by our Savior.  Will you sing your beautiful song to all those around you????

Love, love, love this song by Matthew West – Hello, My Name Is.  I hope you will PLEASE take a moment to listen – it has some really neat pictures that go with the song.

You, my friend are His child, you have been set free and amazing grace should be the song you sing.  You are a child of the ONE, TRUE, KING!!!!!!!

Pictures are my personal pictures except the Music picture created using Picmonkey.

15 Responses to “Cultivating A Heart of Prayer – Week 3 – Are You Carrying Baggage or Singing His Song?”

  1. Jennifer N (OBS Exec/Teaching Team) July 20, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    I LOVE this Debbie-what an amazing message you hear at church. I, too, have lots of ‘reminders’ around the house. I once posted a verse from Let It Go everywhere and added some practical application. I even posted it on my boy’s bathroom mirror. They saw it and at the same time, said “Mom”. They knew I had been there lol. I want to impress His words and His love upon my kids. Thank you for sharing this beautiful post friend.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      Cute story Jennifer and they’ll never forget. You are one awesome Mom. Hugs my friend!

      Like

  2. Lori July 20, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    What a powerful blog! I am always so blessed after I have read what is on your heart. A few Christmases ago, my daughter gifted me with two beautiful pictures. One was Joshua 24:15 “As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.,” and the other one was titled “Our Family.” I cried like a baby when I opened those gifts. I cried because of how much it meant that she would give me something so special, but also that even though I had carried my “baggage” for so many years, God used her to remind me that I am not who my “baggage” says I am. Thank you, beautiful friend!

    Like

  3. Kris Czerniawski Danko July 20, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    Oh, Debbie my friend, how I have needed to hear this today! We have had a rough week in my family–we have ALL not been getting along and it’s amazing to me how the three of us can nitpick and fight with each other when we should be overlooking those things! I love the line ”As the family goes so does the nation. Families will never rise above the parents”. I will be writing that one down–I am setting the example for Luke and I need to make sure I am setting the right kind of example, a home filled with love and laughter, not the griping that has gone on this week! A very timely post, sister, love it and love you!!!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2013 at 10:47 am #

      Thank you my friend for reading and so glad you were blessed! Hugs and keep setting that example!

      Like

  4. jlflorine July 20, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    This is so good Debbie, this is so powerful–“Are you impressing God’s love on their hearts, or are you giving them your “baggage”? I no I cannot undue the past, but I so wish I knew then what I know now. I know I gave my kids my baggage!!! I want that changed because I see my son giving his kids that same baggage!!! WOW that song is powerful too!! Thanks my friend for these words of wisdom you shared with us!!
    Love you sister ♥

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

      Oh Janet I wish I knew what I know now when I was raising my kids – I would have done it different – but I can control what I do now and will and can’t wait to apply what I know now with my grandson and really all those I come in contact with. Glad you liked it. Hugs sweet friend.

      Like

  5. Jill Beran July 20, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Debbie, thank you for sharing! I too love that new song by Matthew West. Your words about the family are so true and as a mom of 5 I know I have a responsibility to pass on the faith. I’m grateful I continue to learn how to do that!! Blessings to you!!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

      Thanks sweet lady. I love it that you are raising 5. I wanted 7 but the doctors made me stop with 2. Thanks for stopping by. Hugs.

      Like

  6. Susan T July 21, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

    Debbie,
    Thanks for sharing this! I was so moved by the idea of “what song am I singing?” In my family, to my friends, my neighbors! I love to sing and that analogy just spoke to me to think about what others hear from me…a beautiful melody of grace or a noise of negativity? Thanks again!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

      Thank you for reading Susan and it’s so true. I used to be so negative – trying to change that – and truly believe I have. Thanks for reading and commenting. Hugs.

      Like

  7. Lynda Parker August 9, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    Wow, this is beautiful! I want to “quit” giving God my baggage, and learn to say YES! I loved all of your visuals, they are beautiful.

    Like

  8. Pamela Barnett November 11, 2014 at 11:16 am #

    Powerful! It is exactly what I needed this morning.
    Ready for change…thank you God for confirmation
    through this awesome devotion and song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

