Bible Study, Faith

A Soul Longing for More

During our study this week with Lysa Terkeurst in her book What Happens When Women Say Yes to God,  she talked about how we’ve become “so familiar with God yet so unaware”.

I thought about this and how the past year how I have become more aware of His presence.   I’ve noticed how I see His beauty in a walk, in a drive out-of-town, in my home, in other’s lives.  I love taking pictures when we take a four-hour trip to the Hill Country.  I love seeing all that God has created and it excites me.

I love butterflies and each time I see one I am reminded how much my Mom loved them and sweet thoughts of her.

Seeing a fish used to be mundane, but now I enjoy a fishing trip with my son, daughter-in-law and husband watching the clouds, butterflies and even other people passing by gives me God thoughts, not to mention those huge fish God just seems to bless us with as He leads my son over that lake.

,fishingroadrunner

A road runner coming to find a drink as I sit there thinking about how God created him.  No it isn’t mundane that he was created to know how to come for water.

giraffe,

Giraffes at a zoo during a trip to visit my daughter and son-in-law and watching all the other unique creations at the zoo.

A beautiful snowfall, a blooming cactus are wonderful sites if we stop and take a moment to see the mundane, ignored by some, but the beauty of the Lord to me.

BlogHopSnow002

Sunsets, clouds, flowers.  My soul longs for these type of experiences to see God’s handiwork.

080 045  wildflowers 054 039116

How can we intentionally pursue God even in the middle of “life’s mundane activities?”

  • When you are sad, grieving or depressed – reach out to people for caring so that you can renew your soul.”For God is not unrighteous to forget your work and labour of love, which ye have shewed toward his name, in that ye have ministered to the saints, and do minister.”  Hebrews 6:10 (KJV)
  • Release your sadness, grieving, depression and tears to God.  “Thou tellest my wanderings: put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book?”  Psalm 56:8 (KJV)
  • Lose those thoughts  that you are bad and have no self-worth and quit comparing yourself to others.  We can never be good enough – we are good enough in His eyes and acceptable to Him just as we are. “You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule.
  • Only God can fill our deep hunger – not money, not jobs, pleasure, family are not going to satisfy our souls.  “Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.”  Matthew 5:5 (KJV)
  • Care for others. Smile, take a meal to someone sick or feed a homeless person, welcome people into your home, visit the sick, love a family member, pray for someone who has treated you wrongly and love them back.  “Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.”  Matthew 5:7 (KJV)
  • Join a community of believers.  We need a community to connect to – we need each other.  “You’re blessed when you can show people how to cooperate instead of compete or fight. That’s when you discover who you really are, and your place in God’s family.”(Matthew 5:9, The Message)
  • Feed on God – in His handiwork, by praying, studying, sit and listen, appreciate and look for nature.  “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.”  Psalm 19:1 (KJV)

Is 26:9 (KJV) “With my soul have I desired thee in the night; yea, with my spirit within me will I seek thee early: for when thy judgments are in the earth, the inhabitants of the world will learn righteousness.”

I close with this prayer that Lysa TerKeurst shared with us in her book that she prays every morning.  My friend Amber James designed this for us.  Hope you enjoy and perhaps as a start – just as a beginning in your journey to know Him MORE, you can begin to pray this prayer.  I pray you want to see Him, you want to hear Him, you want to know Him and I pray you want to follow HARD after Him.

 

14 thoughts on “A Soul Longing for More”

  1. Beautiful reminder, Debbie, to look all around us and to listen. God is everywhere we look. Sometimes we just get so used to seeing what is around us that we don’t really see or hear. At least, it is that way for me at times. I’ll cry out, God I want to hear You, but then I don’t take time to listen to the birds singing or hear the sound the hummingbirds make as their wings are fluttering. It’s time to look and listen with open eyes and ears and He will show up in a big way. Thank you for blessing me today with your beautiful pictures and your words of wisdom.

    Like

  2. Love your focus and view point. I’m a list person. You struck home with me! Thank you for sharing and helping me focus more on “yes” and less on me.

    Like

  3. This is beautiful, Debbie. I have been pouring over words and blogs today and have found desire and longing in the midst of what could’ve been just a chore. And now, You have stirred my heart tonight once again. I love how God is moving and revealing Himself to us…calling us to deeper depths and greater heights. Let our only response be yes, Lord. Love you sweet sister.

    Like

  4. You are so right I really loved you blog. Sometimes we so caught up in our everyday life and don’t pay attention to the small stuff. Thank you for sharing

    Like

  5. Debbie you really have a gift for loving on others. I am thrilled to see my photo up there too! And for being thankful for everything! I loved your blog!

    Like

  6. Thank you for sharing the beatiful pictures and a visual reminder to to look around us and see and listen to what God is showing to us each and every day. Take time to smell the roses not take anything for granted. Thanks for the steps to see God even in the mundane things in life. Reach out and share with those around us. Thanks for the blessing of sharing your world with me. Marilyn V ( OBS Group Leader)

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

