Radical Obedience

15 Aug

Coltblog

Is there something God has asked you to give up?

Last Sunday I had finished this post except a few changes here and there, and now it is 3:00 AM on Blog Hop Day at Proverbs31.Org,  and it is not finished.   Last Sunday my whole world changed.  Our son called and said my daughter-in-law’s water had broken.  We were overjoyed and as we waited for them to head to the hospital, I sit down to get two blogs finished and be prepared for what was ahead which I will share below after I share what I had written Sunday.

This was my “before blog” – before our first grandbaby.

I wonder what this world would look like if we, like our forefathers chose to live our lives obeying, honoring and loving our Lord!   All of us make mistakes every day, but God wants us to live a life of “radical obedience”?  What is radical obedience?  I believe it is doing what He says even when it does not make sense.  It is heeding His urging and his whispering to our hearts when it does not make sense.  It means being different and not compromising even when your friends think it is stupid or not cool.  It is doing things not in my comfort zone and trusting Him to provide the tools to do the job He has called me to do.  Radical obedience is a response of love from you and I.  It is something we can do to give our Father glory!

I did not know what radical obedience was until I read about it this week in What Happens When Women Say Yes To God by Lysa TerKeurst.  Like her, I am obedient, I go to church, I read my Bible, go visit the sick, help the poor, support a Compassion child, lead a Facebook group in Proverbs31.Org Bible studies, teach special needs jr. high children and the list goes on.   I have found though that the closer I get to God, the more He expects of me.

I wrote in another blog this week how God brought me to retirement.  That was radical obedience.  I mean forever I planned to give a year’s notice because my job was hard to fill and replace and our Commander had asked me to, but one day in November 2011 God spoke to me and I was putting in my papers with only a two-month notice thinking what am I doing.  What am I going to do, how will we live?  Oh yes, I said “Say What” or something similar, but I finished those papers that had been sitting in my computer for years since my friends had retired.  That is radical obedience in order to honor my mother in her last days.

Radical obedience all year after that up until now and God continues speaking to me daily.  Recently, I joined an in-between study on prayer.  No I did not have time.  I needed to unwind between our last study and this one, and there is always a gap study.  I said nope I have to catch-up, I am tired, I want to just have some down time.  SAY WHAT!  REALLY! The Lord speaks and says Debbie, this one is on prayer.  SAY WHAT Lord!  OK Yes Lord I need to know everything I can about prayer.  What happened out of this “radical obedience” I learned steps to sitting down and writing out scriptures to pray exactly how God would want me to pray for my family, especially my daughter those few weeks, but now after what happened this week God sent it to me just in time because I obeyed that urging.   What a lesson, what a joy when we follow in radical obedience!

This was the rest of this blog after our first grand baby.

Now that’s as far as I got before we headed to the hospital.  On Monday our precious little grandson Colt was born.  Within an hour our overjoyed hearts were broken as they whisked him out of the hospital with an unknown condition that had harmed his precious tiny feet and we learned much later it was worse than that – a serious skin disease called EB.  Our son asked us to go home and rest and we left the hospital and came home and showered and sit down and cried and looked at each other as God whispered we needed to go be with him. As tired as we were we got up in “radical obedience” and headed to the hospital almost 40 miles away to be with a hurting son and a sick grandson while his precious wife was left behind at another hospital with her family and friends.

As I look ahead to what the unknown is for Colt and my precious son and his wife, I cry tears and pray for a miracle. I will continue to trust in God as we do not know what the future holds for Colt and our kids, but our Lord knows and that is all that matters right now.

What will my future hold?  I am not sure but I do know it is radical and life changing.  I already know I will need to be available when my son goes back to work.  God has already told me I am going to have to give up substitute teaching which I love with all my heart.  But he put me there with special needs children to learn how to love my own grandson who now has a special need and that is having a grandmother there to love him, teach him about my Father, and care for him in special ways unknown to most of you if our miracle does not come.

I ask that you lift Colt and our family in prayers as you finish reading this post.  I would also love for you to follow Colt’s progress – the simple things you take for granted like a tee tee, a precious little palm wrapped around your finger, a special food, a suck on a bottle, a rub which we can’t do, a snuggle which we can not do.  I ask you stop and think about those mundane things with your children that to us are so precious.  Thank your Heavenly Father and do not take those things for granted.  As one of my precious group members shared today I am praying for snug-ability – the ability one day to be able to snuggle my grandson – a mundane thing to some – for me it will be a miracle from God!

Colt has his own page at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pray-for-baby-Colt/350863471710362?ref=br_tf.  I hope you will follow our kids daily postings and lift each of these needs in prayer.  Today it is the sores in his little mouth.

39 Responses to “Radical Obedience”

  1. Marlene August 15, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    Love you Mrs Debbie! You have such a big heart and precious spirit! May you continue to feel The Lord’s strength. My prayers are with you and your family.

    Like

  2. Lauren August 15, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    Been praying for you and your family and especially sweet baby Colt. Thank you for sharing this story with us. Love you way big!!!!

    Like

  3. Linda Leighton (OBS Leader) August 15, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Debbie, I am continueing to pray for you, Mix and his wife and baby Colt. I am so thankful that you heeded God’s urging to do the gap study! It’s a perfect example of us not knowing what lies ahead, yet God knowing. He knew you would need that study and I know He will bless that obedience! Remember Lamentations 3: 22-23: 22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. He will keep you in His perfect peace–keep your mind stayed on Him. {{{HUGS}}}

    Like

  4. CG August 15, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    Thank you, Debbie, for sharing your journey to radical obedience. I know it was not an easy one, but I am thankful you see the outcome so readily. My prayers continue for your family, especially little Colt, Mix and Whitney, and the medical team. God bless you. Praying for that snuggle moment to come sooner than most think possible with many more to follow! ❤

    Like

  5. LK August 15, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    Love this post Debbie! You know I’m praying for snug-ability! Thank you for sharing your heart with all of us. You truly are an example of what I would like to be!
    Big Hugs and Lots of Prayers!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

      You sweet friend are an example of what I want to be – perhaps that is why God has brought us together.

      Like

  6. Lauren Beach August 15, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    Sweet Debbie ~ Love you so much and will continue prayers for sweet Colt and all of you! Praying for God’s healing hands to be on this precious baby and his loving arms of comfort around Mommy , Daddy and all of you! My heart is with you!

    Much love ~ Lauren Beach

    Like

  7. shecat125 August 15, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    Tears, tears and more tears. I can’t even imagine.
    Please remember God holds Colt close to His heart every moment of every day.

    Blessings,
    Catherine

    Like

  8. Marilyn August 15, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    Love you Debbie, you have touched my life in so many ways.Praying for snug-ability. Have been praying for your sweet precious grandson Colt and all the family. My Grandma heart stretches out to you in love and support and praying that you will continue to feel God’s strength and love surrounding you every hour of the day.
    Marilyn V (OBS Group Leader)

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

      Thank you so much Marilyn for the beautiful encouragement. So glad you are part of OBS. Hugs sweet sister. Debbie

      Like

  9. Linda C August 15, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    Love you Debbie and love this little “man” that I haven’t met yet, but know like my own after so much prayer for him in the last four days! Agreeing with you in prayer for God’s promise in Ephesians 3:20…”Now unto him that is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us.” My heart and love go out to the whole family! Can’t wait to see what The Lord God is going to do in and through Colt and this whole situation….WOW!! What a testimony that is already growing minute by minute!!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      Thank you Linda. Yes a testimony is happening if not in Colt’s life, surely ours as we learn to deal with this disease. But praying that testimony will be a healing. I know we have good genes too and cancer is not a big deal in our family. Maybe just maybe the good genes will overcome that one bad one. Hugs. Thanks for reading but thank you for getting up in the morning and lifting us in prayer and all those other times throughout the day and night. Love you precious lady.

      Like

  10. Janet F August 15, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    Love you Debbie and love your blog posts again and again !! You have been such a blessing to me since we met in OBS. Praying for all of you sweet sister in Christ!!! God loves all of you and loves little Colt. God knit Colt together in his mother’s womb. It has been such a blessing following the posts on the FB page for Colt, his parents are amazing!!!

    Psalm 139:13-16 For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you,when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

      Janet I loved you the ometn I saw your post in Gr.15 You sweet friend have been such an encourager. Love your sweet spirit and thank you for reminding me of that beautiful post. Hugs.

      Like

  11. lyssaloo2009 August 15, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    I enjoyed your post. Thank you for taking the time to give to others (knowledge, wisdome, etc). I will be praying for your family!

    Like

  12. Bree (OBS Facebook Team Leader) August 15, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Continued prayers for little Colt and your family!

    Like

  13. kklioness013 August 15, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Sending up tons of prayers for you and your family! You are SO wonderful and encouraging to us. It always amazes me how God equips us to handle issues that come our way. Love you and will be praying and following Baby Colt! Hang in there sweet sister!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

      Thank you for all your prayers. Love you too sweet sister! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  14. Emily August 15, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Praying for you, your family, and baby Colt!

    Like

  15. Kara (OBS Team Leader) August 15, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    Debbie, What a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing. I’m praying for you all!

    Like

  16. Donna B OBS fb leader August 16, 2013 at 1:05 am #

    Debbie. What a blog! Words cannot express the heart string, tears, love and prayers being sent your way. Love you, wishi could hug you all right now, so virtual hugs have to do.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 16, 2013 at 8:30 am #

      Donna B. thank you sooo much. One of my group came up to the hospital with a friend and they loved on me and brought a basket of goodies. I love you OBS girls and you were well represented last night. Hugs.

      Like

  17. priscilla August 16, 2013 at 2:00 am #

    debbie, you and your sweet spirit have amazed me since the day we met, and continues to do so. we love all of you and you are all in our prayers.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 16, 2013 at 8:31 am #

      Love you Priscilla and the feeling is mutual with our family. We love ALL of you!

      Like

  18. Mary Bankert August 16, 2013 at 8:06 am #

    hugs and prayers for all of you thank you for sharing, you have no idea how your story has helped me. God Bless you all!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 16, 2013 at 8:32 am #

      His-story! God’s story! This one took so long to write and I am glad you were blessed. Love you Mary!

      Like

  19. Michelle Romero August 17, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    Oh my I am learning so much from you and this “radical obedience”! God is using you to touch so many women’s lives. Of course I will be praying for you and baby Colt and the whole family. My grand daughter was born 3 months early and stayed in the NICU for a,most 3 months and came home with oxygen and alarms and wires attached…sometimes it’s just not what we expected but God can and will do great things. I just put two and two together and realized you are friends with my awesome OBS leader-Cheryl. Y’all both seem to have such a heart for God and a sweetness that I can hear through your words. Thank you for sharing this and I plan on following your grandsons story. Praying and praising Him!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 17, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      Thank you Michelle. You do have one awesome leader. We went thru NICU in 1981 with a preemie that was on oxygen and bells for months but this is so different – maybe because I’m not the parent and maybe because it appears to be lifelong. Praying for a total healing, but if not the very lowest stage of EB and it’s looking like it might be but waiting on biopsies.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #Yes to God | Blogger Loves The King - August 22, 2013

    […] forward as I wrote a little about this last week and my obedience to God.  I said YES when He said I might have to give up my facebook group in my […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

