Say What?

15 Aug

YesWeek2Nicki1

Lysa TerKeurst says in her workbook for What Happens When Women Say Yes to God that “Every day we have an opportunity to move beyond the normal ruts and routines of life, and we can be on the alert for divine adventure as we listen for God’s voice and say yes to His invitations.  When we recognize God’s promptings and act on them, we no longer have to settle for a normal life.  We get to be different – and make a difference – in the lives of the people God leads us to.”

God is looking for each one of us to say “Yes”!  I looked back over the last two years at the growth that has occurred in me and realize what a difference saying yes has made.  Every day if we will only listen, God speaks to us.  Have you heard Him, have you heard His whisper – not audibly but a tug at your heart, have you heard Him call you?  I have many times and even more so the last few years as I have grown closer to Him.

For many years I wanted to retire but could not get the courage.  I kept feeling God nudging me because my Mom was sick and had been.  My best friends at work retired at the same time, and again I felt the nudging but did not heed the call.  I prayed about it, but did nothing about it.  Finally, on the spur of the moment one day God nudged me to move, to get out, to do what was important.  Say What? WHAT was the future going to look like?  How could we live like we had been living if I retired and my salary was much less?  What would it be like being home all the time if I said Yes to God.   I said yes, and I retired with only two months notice.  I spent the year of 2012 visiting my Mom, taking her meals, reading to her out of the scripture and devotionals.  I also joined Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Studies, now a part of Proverbs 31.  I wanted to go to studies at church but they were only at night and I wanted to be home with my husband so I found these studies convenient and God led me there one day searching.

In September 2012, I was approached to be a leader for a Facebook group in the studies.  I thought I am not equipped and no way.  SAY WHAT Lord – You want me????  I prayed, talked to my family and finally said YES to God.  What happened is He took my radical obedience and equipped me to lead a group.  At first my groups were quiet.  One group I had only one lady responding and she was growing in the Lord because she was working so hard to help me, and little did I realize until later that God was grooming me for something big and preparing me for sad days ahead.

In February 2013 I lost my Mom.  Proverbs31 ladies all over the United States and the World mailed cards, sent messages, and loved on me.  My group and our team leaders were there to walk me through it.  Melissa Taylor even took the time out of her busy schedule and called me one day knowing the pain of losing her Mom.

I have seen this year through my radical obedience that God was preparing me for 2013,  Today in August 2013 as I write this blog I am about to leave for the hospital.  Our daughter-in-laws water just broke.  I believe I am here growing like I have never grown in my life to minister to a grandson, to minister to ladies all over the world, to minister to my family.  I have the most awesome group I have ever seen.  Every one of them now participate – some days it is hard to keep up with all their enthusiasm and love.

Years ago I prayed for God to send me just one friend to share my heart with – someone to tell all and it not be repeated.  I kept praying and praying for one person I could call sister and share – I mean really share.  I have many friends in Christ at church but God put me in with a group of sisters, and we share our deepest hurts and joys because we have built a bond and love for each other.  I thank God today that He answered my prayers for one “sister” by sending me a group of “sisters” that love me know matter what.

So what has God done because of my “radical obedience” as Lysa calls it.  First I retired.  That had to happen before all the rest.  Second, much time with my mom not knowing it would only be a year.  Third, blessings upon blessing leading Group 31.  Fourth, the love of a big ministry team within Proverbs  31 that love us no matter where we’ve been, no matter where we are going, but for who we are – just like Jesus does.

Have you had a “Say What” moment?  I would love for you to share here.

Hosea said in Romans 9:25-26 (KJV) “As he saith also in Osee, I will call them my people, which were not my people; and her beloved, which was not beloved.”

37 Responses to “Say What?”

  1. Eros August 15, 2013 at 4:34 am #

    Love It thanks doe sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 12, 2017 at 8:22 am #

      Thank you!

      Like

  2. kklioness013 August 15, 2013 at 6:39 am #

    Debbie, I can so relate to your experience with saying Yes to God by leading a group. Please know that you are in my prayers and are a huge inspiration to me. Thank you for being you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 6briggs August 15, 2013 at 6:47 am #

    What a great read!!!! Congrats on the grand baby, my saywhat moment happened this past Sunday and although I’m scared, I’m more scared not too…..he’s my provider and I know will walk me through!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. homeskoolmom August 15, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    praise God! What an amazing testimony! I have tears in my eyes reading about the outpouring of love you received when you’re Mom died.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 12, 2017 at 8:22 am #

      Thank you!!

      Like

  5. denise August 15, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    The call for a friend…I have debated this issue for years. I am not one who finds pride in the number of friends I have but in the integrity of the companionship I surround myself with. Recently I moved to a new country, Ireland, and have been struggling with this choice/change. This is my current “Say What” example. Back in NM I had a my family (a gorgeous daughter, a handsome son, and a prince of a husband), extended family whom I adore, a beautiful home, a fantastic group of dependable friends, a church small group that felt more like family than a group of people who met once a week, a church community that called me and heard me, a job teaching at an amazing school, and an internship to become a school administrator. Then once the flow of this life was in motion a halt when my husband asked if I still wanted to move to Ireland. What, why now, I thought God put this opportunity in place for a reason, what will I do, I will have to start all over…Can you hear all the negativity in these short statements? So now what, I am alone wanting a friend…just one friend. Well I found that friend and His name is Jesus! Maybe I was to give it all up to gain what I have so long said I wanted…to know Christ, read His word, feel His love and affection, and bless others.
    So I don’t know what my future holds, maybe this and maybe that, but I do know that with God at my side my life can only be perfectly made and the love and friendship I have longed for is always here! Thanks to Proverbs 31 and this bible study opportunity, they have given me perspective and guidance.
    Debbie thanks for being a friend because you may have been searching and asking for a friend and when God gave you a group of sisters, He also gave these ladies a gift named DEBBIE!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 8:22 pm #

      Hi Denise I just found this comment in my approval folder from long ago when I had just started blogging. So sorry it has been sitting there, but God shows us what we need to read just in time. What a sweet comment. Are you still in the P31 studies. I am and am now a volunteer team leader.

      Like

  6. Cheryl August 15, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    Sweet Debbie! I loved your blog this morning and I love your heart!
    Looks like we have a lot in common.
    Praying for you and your family.
    Luv you bunches! ❤
    Cheryl
    P31 OBS Group Leader

    Liked by 1 person

  7. klsaiken August 15, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Debbie,
    This was beautiful and left me in tears. I also prayed years ago for just a couple of friends who would quite de-friending me and labeling me and who I could share and scream how much I loved Jesus…then I became a member of Beth Anderson’s group and now I have thousands of sisters. This was an amazing post. I love you. I love you outlook. I love your heart. I love your group. I just love you, you sweet Texas gal. (Do ya’ll say gal?) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. passagethroughgrace August 15, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Beautiful words! Beautiful story! I love how you said “yes” and you have been blessed beyond what you could imagine. I know what that is like when I went through a job change last Fall and discovered when I surrendered this difficult change to God, He has put me exactly where I need to be. I found you on the Blog Hop today and am blessed to be here!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jeaniekelley August 15, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Thanks Debbie for sharing your heart today. Will be praying for you and your family. My say what moment was when I decided to get involved in Proverbs 31 Ministry Prayer Team. I have seen how God is truly working all out and blessing women like you through his word and my saying yes to him. Blessings to you and Keep smiling. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joyce August 15, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

      Thanks Debbie for sharing your story. I too am waiting for that nudge from God to retire. Enjoy being a grandma!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Sandra Tichnor August 15, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    Debbie First of all congrats on the new grandbaby to be, 2nd I love the your version of the verse in Romans 9: I amso gals that you listen to God and said Whatever you want LOrd I will do.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. hopevarnedoe2013 August 15, 2013 at 9:22 am #

    I know that so many people have been so blessed because you said YES to God and became a FB group leader Debbie. I know I have been blessed just by knowing you. Love this post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 11:35 am #

      Oh hope the blessings are all mine lady knowing you and all of OBS. How God knew where both you and I needed to be at this time in our lives. Love you.

      Like

  12. Melissa S OBS Group Leader August 15, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    This just blessed my socks off! I am so blessed to call you friend!

    Love & Prayers

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Barb August 15, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    Debbie,
    I feel so honored to have read this post today. Your words really blessed and ministered to my heart! God is prompting me to continue saying yes to #saywhat things? I feel so encouraged and assured that I’m not hearing wrong. He will be faithful to me as He has been to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Nancy August 15, 2013 at 10:02 am #

    Wow What encouragement, thanks so much for your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Michelle Romero August 15, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

    Oh my what encouraging words. I believe Proverbs 31 Ministry is blessed to have you as a leader. I do not know you yet can feel your love and kindness thru your words. You have such a heart for people, I can certainly tell that:)
    Congratulations on your first grandchild, this is a blessing like no other! I have one that is ten years old and another due in December!
    I am extremely thankful for my #saywhat moments with God and that He continues working in my life in spite of me getting in the way. I too was not obedient the first time He called me to do something. But God believes in us and knows our hearts, I’m so thankful and beyond blessed that He doesn’t give up on me! I’m looking forward to everything He chooses to bring my way with palms up and open.
    Thank you again for your words!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

      Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to read and comment.

      Like

  16. Beckey August 15, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Such a wonderful story of obedience and blessing! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful heart with us today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

      Beckey I just found your comment in my approval folder from so far back when I had just started blogging. WOW! Thanks for stopping by. I just went to your blog and saw where you wrote about Uninvited. Can’t wait either.

      Like

  17. Debbie…I had tears in my eyes reading this. How thankful I am that we both said yes to OBS. God’s plans are always so much greater than our own. And there is always purpose in His asking even if we can’t see it at the moment. I love you and am continuing to pray for you and your family!

    Like

  18. maccarky August 15, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Debbie, I, for one, am incredibly thankful to have you in our fb group. I continually pray for Colt and love knowing now that you have a good group of “sisters” to help you through this time. I feel a lot lately that God is calling me to lead. I don’t know where or when and that’s not up to me to know anyway. I just finished a class in church about our spiritual gifts and I had two off the charts (compared to the rankings of the other gifts) – faith and exhortation. I love seeing how He worked through you once you retired. What a blessing you are!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      Thank you sweet lady. Perhaps you can be a leader in OBS one day. It’s an awesome job! Thank you for blessing my life. I love Kendra’s group and I lead another so getting lots of love right now. Thank you for being one of those. Hugs!

      Like

  19. Jennifer N (OBS Core/Teaching Team) August 15, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    Oh, Debbie, I thank God often for bringing you into my life sweet friend. I am so thankful that you said “Yes”. God knew what was up the road for you, and in His loving mercy, He was preparing you not just for ministry, but for these life events crashing around you. You inspire me lady, even when you feel that you don’t, you still hang on through it all. Love you!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 15, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

      Oh Jennifer thank God for you! You have been a constant friend, a constant prayer and constant encourager. You sweet friend were one of the first people I loved in OBS! Hugs!

      Like

  20. Janet F August 15, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    Debbie I am so glad I said yes to OBS’s so God could put sweet sisters in Christ in my path to meet. And you are one of them. You have been a blessing to me in more ways than you know. I love you sister and am praying for you and your family!! ♥

    Like

  21. Sheena, Scotland UK August 16, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Thanks for your encouraging words. Only yesterday I spent time with a friend who is not a Christian but who is a good friend and we had such a good time together. I prayed when I came home that God would give me such a friend who is a Christian so that we could share Jesus together. I will continue to pray for a new Sister and also continue to pray for my friend that I may be bold enough to speak to her about Jesus. I felt God challenging me to speak to her yesterday but I did not have the courage to do so, I don/t know why I find it so hard to speak out but I want to say yes to God in this way, I read Lysa’s book last year but did not feel so challenged, I am enjoying it so much more as part of the OBS and God is speaking to me though it – hopefully I am ready to listen to what He has to say at this time, and that I will Say Yes.

    Enjoy the new grandchild – blessings

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 16, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

      Hang in there. Take it slow. We are learning at church just be friends, eventually invite them to church. Try not to preach to them, but rather love them, be like Jesus and show them so they will see. Give it time. Thanks for stopping by. And I have a hard time sharing Jesus too one on one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

