#StickWithIt

29 Aug

Yes-Week4 BlogThis week during our study of What Happens When Women Say Yes To God by Lysa TerKeurst, one of the blog topics is #StickWithIt, and for us to share moments when we felt like we could not do it anymore.

I absolutely love leading a facebook group for these studies.  Of all my ministry life and all I’ve done, this is the one thing that brings me great joy not only in my group but also in our leadership group.  So much love, honor and respect for one another and talking about sisters – you bet – I have lots of them and can share anything with them.  When they tell me they are going to pray for me, I know they will.

Two weeks ago, God blessed us with our first grandchild, a son.  Colt was born with a very rare skin disease called EB.   That day as we walked in and saw that beautiful little boy, our fears we saw his precious little feet and knew something was wrong, but none of the staff at the hospital had never seen anything like it.  FEAR is not of God, but oh yes there was fear and tears and pain.  He was transferred immediately to a big children’s hospital in Ft Worth where they did indeed know what it was.  God knew Colt even before he was conceived (Jeremiah 1:5).   God knew our pain even before we were conceived! He is always at work in our lives, ALWAYS!  Lysa called God’s story “His Story”, not history.  “His- Story” is being weaved and worked each days in our lives, and we must remember that during the difficult times.

I cried as it all sunk in, and I realized I would most likely be needed very much in the months ahead.  I was not even sure what would happen once we got to the children’s hospital, but I knew it was bad when they were sending us there.  I felt I might have to resign my Proverbs 31 facebook group, and that would break my heart,  but I also knew that whatever God called me to do, I would do it.  I shared with my group what was happening in my personal life and how much I needed their help and didn’t want to give up.  They jumped in and helped posting prayers, devotions, songs, and the daily assignments – AND two weeks later they are still hopping in and helping me lead this group.  God knew before this season, the group of ladies that would be there to do, to love, to continue to be there to guide us through this study.

I also love substitute teaching with special needs children, but this week as I have subbed I have found my heart elsewhere worrying about a little baby and his Mom throughout the day.  My heart right now is pulled so many directions – my group, school, home, my mother-in-law next door, meeting my husband’s needs and my hurting children and their spouses and still with twinges of losing Mom this year – it all seems so much.  I find myself looking at the future and not the present – what’s needed this moment – what is important to God this moment.

So whatever I will be doing in the coming days, coming months and maybe even years if that is what God has planned it will be to serve Him as I minister to others.  In Colossians 3:17 it says ““Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord.”  I plan to #stickwithit, but I know my #stickwithit may change not by choice, but by God as only He knows what “His Story” will be for me.

Regardless of whatever state I am in, the Bible says in Philippians 4:11 to be content.  I may not like that present state, I may be uncomfortable in that valley, but I know that God is still God wherever I am.  Lysa said in her book that “when we find ourselves in these hard places, we make the choice to worry or worship.”  I am choosing to worship – choosing to worship as I take my daughter-in-law and grandson to doctor’s appointments, choosing to worship as I sit with him while she works from home, choosing to go to school and sub to minister to students and staff,  choosing to minister to my “sisters” in my Bible study and choosing to help my mother-in-law next door.

Lysa also said “each time I feel my heart being pulled down into the pit of ungratefulness and grumbling, I recognize it as a call to draw near to the Lord, I thank Him for the empty places, for they remind me that only He has the ability to fill me completely.”  And one of the things I read in her study guide this week hit me when she said “God’s goal isn’t to make us happy.  He wants to make us holy.”

It has been amazing to me, it shouldn’t be, how God has loved me through this year 2013 – it’s been a painful and joyous year.  We have waited and prayed for Colt for many years.  The pain of going through Mom’s death, the pain of watching a child not be able to conceive, the pain of a child with a new baby and both he and the baby are in pain physically and mentally, of seeing my husband and children and their spouses cry like I have never seen them cry.  2013 has been a hard year for this family, but there have been so many good years and we will get through this one and the next and the next together as we lean on Him.  These things have happened and they have interrupted us, they have challenged us but we know as a family that loves God that God is using all these things to make us holier, to make us more like Him as we shift our fear to focus on His love!

Today Colt is doing ok, but he has much healing to do.  We have watched God perform so many miracles on his behalf in the last two weeks – almost daily.  It is our prayer that God will perform the biggest miracle of all and that is to heal Colt completely.  Will you pray with us for complete healing?  This week the dermatologist gave us his opinion, and he said he is sometimes wrong, but he feels it is one of the worst types of EB and again that brought fear and tears.  We are praying bold prayers to Jesus that it is not the worst kind, and we are even praying MORE boldly that it is not EB at all, and will be something else that can be managed and be cured.  Days like that make us feel empty, make us cry out for Colt and our kids – but then I remember I need to choose to worship Him.  Romans 5:3 says, “We also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance, character, and character, hope.”  One of the things Lysa said made sense to me and I cling to that “God’s word calls me to rejoice?  Not that I rejoice in the bad things.  I would have to fake that.  But I can rejoice in what God is doing in me through difficult times.”  I know God is doing great things during these difficult, hurting times, but I know there will be much rejoicing as we see how God works through this.  God has brought so much joy to us through this little boy!

Yes-Week4 - Me copyright

We studied this week about Him being our peace just like a calm river.  I picture that river flowing and His peace in those moments the last few weeks when I just want to break down and cry, and to be honest  and real with you I have these past few bumpy weeks, and even now as I write this blog I am crying tears which my friends tell me are cleansing and it’s ok.  I have to fix my eyes on Him.  As we read this week and I highlighted, underlined and put an asterisk beside it “Romans 8:28 – We know that all things God work for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  Lysa said “this does not mean that everything that happens to us will be good, but that God will work in and through every situation to bring good from it.”

This is a situation  set before us that seems scary and overwhelming.  I’ve been in that situation before when our daughter was born nine weeks early.  I’ve been in this situation before with doctors telling us things that devastated us for a moment and I’ve seen God perform miracles over and over.  When you are put in a situation that is scary or overwhelming, you just have to stop and  remember: 2 Peter 1:3, “Everything that goes into a life of pleasing God has been miraculously given to us by getting to know, personally and intimately, the One who invited us to God.” The best invitation we ever received!” (Message translation).  God has called each of us to represent Christ in all we go through, and every where we go.  Are you doing that today?  I know it’s hard at times, but He is looking for us to say Yes Father I am willing.  I will go where you lead me!

Colt swing

Isn’t he so stinkin’ cute and loveable.  I’m praying God heals Colt and praying that He will use this situation as a testimony and message of what the Messiah can do when people all over the world join together to pray.  Praying for many more Messiah moments/God moments as we walk through this journey as He loves and cares for Colt and the entire family.  Would you follow Colt’s status here and see how we are praying for him each day and pray with us.  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pray-for-baby-Colt/350863471710362

Coltcanconquerit

16 Responses to “#StickWithIt”

  1. Beckey August 29, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    Beautiful post! We all need that reminder to rejoice and glorify God even in the difficult times. He will always use them for good. I will say a prayer right now for that sweet little boy and his parents. (and his grandmama too!)

    Like

  2. Jennifer N (OBS Core/Teaching Team) August 29, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    Oh sweet sister, you know you have my prayers. For you and your family. It is always such a joy to see you serve-to minister to your ladies, to us and to those around you with your blog. Praying for God to guide your path and that you would hear a voice behind you saying, this is the way-walk in it. Love you big girl!

    Like

  3. Deane Gavin Garrison August 29, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    Oh Debbie. You have composed a powerful, moving, insightful, and very meaningful post. Praying many will read it and turn their eyes and hearts heavenward to God in worship and praise. Thank you for pouring out your heart and sharing your story. Prayers for Baby Colt and your family will continue.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 29, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      Thank you Deane. You are precious! Thank you for pouring out you prayers over my family! Love you sister.

      Like

  4. prince26155 August 29, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    Reblogged this on prince26155 and commented:
    Yes, I’ve determined to #StickWithIt. The hope of the world is Jesus and He is my hope, my strength, and my life. Yes, sometimes it seems hard and I can feel hopeless, but what I feel is not reality. Only the Word of God will prove true in the end. I’m saying #YestoGod.

    Like

  5. Michelle Romero August 29, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    So thankful Colt is doing better. So many prayers for this precious child and the whole family. I’m sure this whole experience has been quite difficult and I thank you for keeping us updated. My grand daughter was born 3 months early weighing 1 pound 10 ounces. Oh the trials, it felt like they’d never end. So i can kind of relatecto what you are dealing with. Its been 10 years, so now looking back I can see God never left our side. He was with us through it all.
    God works through people that are going through such struggles, we dont always understand but His ways are perfect. I know first hand how hard it is to stay focused on God and ALL that He is and can do especially in the midst of a crisis but because we know we grow from these trials it can make it easier to stay focused and keep going strong. We just have to stay focused on Jesus! Remembering He is and He can!
    Lov ya:)

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 29, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

      Thank you Michelle. We know some of it having a 2 lb 6 oz preemie over 31 years ago. It’s hard when you watch one suffer and it’s hard knowing this is the worst disease the doctor’s told us that can affect and infant. He has a long road, but he has the Great Physician beside him. Thank you ! So glad to know you sister!

      Like

  6. prince26155 August 29, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    Debbie, God is using you and your family is amazing ways all over the world. I don’t understand “why bad things happen to good people” and I won’t this side of heaven. The one thing I do know is that God is love. I know He loves you and He loves that precious baby, Colt. His loves is greater than ours and His pain is deeper than ours. I believe that the Father has an army of angels watching over Colt at every moment. We can only fall into our Father’s arms and trust in Him as we #StickWithIt.

    Love and prayers, my sister
    Barbara

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 29, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      Barbara I don’t understand either, but Jesus does and that’s all that matters. I know He sees our pain and our tears and He understands. Each time I see Colt’s feet I think of sitting at Jesus’ feet. This study could not have come at a better time in my life, but again Jesus knew exactly what I would need to walk thru this valley. Thank you, thank you for your precious prayers. Love you!

      Like

  7. Sandi Brewer~~OBS Small Group Leader August 29, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    I love how God is using your experience having your own child in NICU to help your son and daughter-in-law cope with this unexpected “bump” in the road of life, and also how your experience working with special needs kids has also prepared you for understanding how some kids have unique challenges–but life is still sweet–even with the challenges. Awesome post!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 29, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

      Thanks Sandi. I was thinking about that this morning how God put me with special needs last year and I didn’t want to but I did and how that is going to benefit me now. Thanks for reading.! Hugs!

      Like

  8. Martha August 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    Following Colt on FB & keeping you all bathed in prayer.
    Great post!

    Like

  9. Sue Molitor August 30, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Love this Debbie! You are such a blessing! Love you! Continued prayers,
    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

