Life Interrupted

3 Sep

blog-roadmountainszionrhondareddenThanks to my friend Ronda Redden for this beautiful picture of Zion Horn!

Has your life been interrupted recently?  For us our first grandchild was born. He is a bundle full of joy and answered prayer and soooo stinkin’ cute.   We’ve waited a long time for that little man, but life was interrupted from the norm a bit while he was in the hospital for several weeks.    Little Colt was diagnosed with a very rare skin disease and for our family this was an unintended interruption.  The thrill of bringing him home and bonding together was interrupted.  Plans of his future have been interrupted.   My son and daughter-in-law are active participants in running, jogging, fishing, hunting and church and those plans are temporarily interrupted.  Date nights and weekends away together are interrupted until we as a family learn how to pitch in and help and learn how to wrap his little feet, how to change his diaper and wash his bottom without the usual wipes,  and even how to feed him his bottle correctly – because of friction he is not able to suck as hard. We do not know what his future holds for Colt, but God does.  “Some of God’s greatest gifts are “wrapped in unlikely packages.”  (Proverbs 31.Org.)  I know without a doubt that God has something BIG planned for this little package of joy!  Pray for Baby Colt and follow his progress here!

Colt-Car Seat 3 wks old

Thirty two years ago this October our lives were interrupted.  I was expecting and because of toxemia, pre-eclampsia and high blood pressure, I was put to bed In September.  On October 27, 1981 our 2 pound 6 oz baby girl was born and neither of us were expected to live. It was challenging for all of us.  For me I went on maternity leave early to try to get the blood pressure under control.  It was hard as I watched my husband leave each day with out two-year old son to head to his mother’s.  That was my job and I don’t do well when people are waiting on me.  I enjoy being independent and strong.

Life was interrupted with our preemie – learning how to care for her and her needs.  Having a two-year old son demanding attention, when she required so much care was hard.  Being off work for months – about six all together with bed rest and while she was in the hospital was an unexpected interruption.  Yes, life was interrupted but what a blessing was wrapped in that gift from the Father.

With many of life’s difficulties, this year has been a hard one for our family.  It seems each time we get through one interruption another comes.   We lost Mom in February and still have not had the time to sell her house.  My brother-in-law came down with cancer, my aunt that was helping had a stroke, our grandson was born with this disease, and now an aunt is dying with cancer.

Life interruptions come and go.  Sometimes it is something easy like a dead car battery, a low cell phone battery, an air conditioner goes out, a water heater goes out, a pipe busts. We charge the batteries, we call a repairman and life goes on.  But sometimes interruptions are life-changing interruptions and not easy to fix and only God can repair our hurt and mend our hearts and carry us through those gut-wrenching life interruptions.

Life gets interrupted, but none of it is a surprise to our Father.  A friend or family member is diagnosed with a crippling, disabling, or deadly disease – a car accident that puts us to bed for a year or life, a test comes back and your life is forever changed, a divorce, a premature or sick baby, the death of a spouse, child, parent or someone else close.  He knows the pain, He knows what our reactions are going to be, and He sees our tears.  When life is interrupted we can run like Jonah did, or we can use those interruptions (those valleys, those tears) to see the hope of our Father.  It’s those places we become more holy or we run from God!

So how about you, have you had a life interruption?  Would love for you to share here.

Blog- 1 Thess 616-18

6 Responses to “Life Interrupted”

  1. priscilla September 3, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

    beautifully written, debbie

    Like

  2. Deane Gavin Garrison September 3, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    What a beautiful outpouring of your heart and journey. What a marvelous testimony of the faithfulness of our God. Your words encourage and inspire. Stand fast in faith and let the roots go deep.

    Like

  3. Gloria September 4, 2013 at 7:01 am #

    Debbie, Thank you for sharing your life with us. I am a recent follower because of the “Yes to God” study. As a wife, mother and Grandma, my heart breaks for you. I am praying for Colt and his family. This blog on interruptions really spoke to me. My side of the family has had three major interruptions this summer. My dad, sister and brother each are experiencing major health issues that have required time and care from the rest of us. It exhausting and draining. But, God is so faithful. We have seen His mercies in so many ways. We still do not know how any of these dramas will end up, but our hope is in God.

    Like

    • gjnn September 4, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

      Debbie, Thank you for sharing your life with us. I am a recent follower because of the “Yes to God” study. As a wife, mother and Grandma, my heart breaks for you. I am praying for Colt and his family. This blog post on interruptions really spoke to me. My side of the family has had three major interruptions this summer. My dad, sister and brother all have health issues that require time and care from the rest of us. It is exhausting and draining. But God is faithful and we have seen his mercies in so many ways. We do not know the outcome, but we know God who gives us hope.

      Like

  4. Judy September 5, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Over the last 2-1/2 years, our lives have been interrupted by two miscarriages for my daughter and son-in-law. I wanted to run from God after the first one…and did for several months because I was angry. I had waited many years to be a grandmother and that chance was gone…although I now realize that I am a grandmother to 2 precious lives that are waiting in Heaven for us to see. My daughter and son-in-law are now planning to adopt a newborn. The process has been started and after their last background check comes back, they will officially be in the waiting pool. It is hard to wait…but sometimes that is our only option. It teaches us patience. In the meantime, I am praying for the birth mother and the child that The Lord will provide for our family.

    Your life has certainly seen many interruptions during the past year. I have been praying for you since your mother passed away and will continue to pray for you. I now know how to better pray for you too. Thanks for sharing on your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

