Glimpses of God

5 Sep

One of our blog topics this week asked, “How can your life experiences help provide people with glimpses of God? (Phil. 2:14-16)”.  I am in a Bible Study called “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God” by Lysa TerKeurst.  Can I say WOW, but then I say that with each study with Melissa Taylor at Proverbs31.Org.

Do you grumble and complain?  I do sometimes but God is still working on me.  In Philippians it says DO ALL things without murmuring! Really, what do you do when things don’t go your way?  What happens if you have a life interruption – a sickness, a death, adjusting to a newborn, the car breaks down, something breaks in the house, the kids are making messes, it’s the first week of school, your husband calls and company is coming for dinner, someone pulls out in front of you or cuts you off while driving…….???

I read a verse the other day – Matthew 12:36,   and it is a bit scary.  It says, ” But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.”.  OUCH!

As Christians we are called to be careful with our words.  I have not always been careful, but learning to watch my words these days.  We can’t be bitter, we have to forgive,  we have to let go of the me mentality, and let  God have authority over our lives and that includes our words and our thoughts.  WHATEVER is going on in our lives, He is in control!   Do our reactions should reflect that? Remember that “his understanding is infinite” (Ps 147:5) Every detail of our lives does not escape Him.   We need to praise God in the NOW, whatever that NOW may be.  We should have peace at ALL times, in every circumstance.  (2 Thess 3:16 KJV).  It doesn’t say to have peace in certain circumstances, but ALL!  We should be content no matter the state we might be in  Phil 4:11 (KJV).

This year 2013 has been hard, but through all the pain God has sent blessing after blessing.  I have to admit there have been tears and times I thought about questioning God’s plan, but I don’t dare.  I know whose I am.  I know He cares.   I know He has a great plan for my life if I will trust.  I lost my Mom this year, my brother-in-law was diagnosed with prostate cancer that had spread, a very special person to me has medical problems I cannot share but pray for that person every day, my aunt that is helping us with Mom’s house had a stroke, one of my dear cousins had major back surgery and has a long recovery,  one of our aunt’s is dying with lung cancer, my first grandchild was  born three weeks ago with a serious skin disease called EB, and today we are going to a funeral to love on a cousin whose son shot his wife and killed himself.  It’s been a hard year for my family, but do you know it has been a blessed year, and one I will remember a Father who I could always run to and be covered by His wings and precious, precious sisters in Christ who have loved on me and been with me through it all.

So how do our life experiences give others a glimpse of God?  It’s by our attitudes, our ability to persevere in all situations.  It’s setting at the Master’s feet and getting a glimpse of Him so that we can share those glimpses to others when they see  our humility, our honesty, our tendency to forgive, our lifestyles, our joy in all circumstances and how our lives radiate his love.

Draw nigh to God and He will draw nigh to you!  James 4:8 (KJV)

We radiate Jesus!  How are you radiating Him today?  Is it with a smile and a song? Let others see Jesus in you today.

The Lord is my strength and song, and he is become my salvation: he is my God, and I will prepare him an habitation; my father’s God, and I will exalt him.  Exodus 15:2 (KJV)

 

6 Responses to “Glimpses of God”

  1. Mary Tullila September 5, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    Your post really speaks to my heart today Debbie. I thank the Lord for everything in you that reaches out to me..REAL FAITH walking sistah! Thank you..you inspire me.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking September 5, 2013 at 9:17 am #

      Thank you Mary. You inspire me lady. You bring so much joy to our group – a breath of fresh air and fun! Love you girl!

      Like

  2. amandacl September 5, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    James 4:8 is one of my favourite verses in the Bible, and I have also experienced that in difficult times, that is when God becomes real! Thank you for sharing your glimpses with us

    Like

  3. Jodi September 5, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Thank you so much for sharing this today! I know we all have obstacles – and you have had plenty this year, but you hit it right on the head – we can NOT lose glimpses of God throughout all of the good and bad.

    Like

  4. twhitfield6 September 5, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your heart!

    Like

Leave a Reply

