Uncategorized

A Heart At Rest

Blog - A Heart at Rest A Heart At Rest – How has saying yes to God through this study helped you find a heart at rest?  This was one of the blog topics at Proverbs31.Org that spoke to me this week.

It has amazed me with each study that the book that was chosen at least a year in advance was chosen by God just for me.  My first study after retirement was I Used to be So Organized.  Having just retired I thought that book would teach me how to organize my home after working for 43 years.  Little did I know that God placed me there to teach me to organize not only my life, but my home.  Then we moved on to Unglued and how I needed that as we were going through a major remodeling in our home and then Greater when I learned to blog  and loved this quoteHis greatest ambition in leading you into greater things isn’t that you would know what to do. It’s that you would know who He is”, and then Let It Go all of them getting me prepared for one of the hardest years of my life 2013.  OUCH!

In February when I lost my Mom we were in the midst of Let it Go and that Thursday before we lost her I had just written about Whatever is in our lives we need to GLORIFY Him.  Only God and that study and the amazing women of Proverbs31.Org got me through those months – some of the hardest I have been through.  Losing a Daddy was tough, but losing my Mom was tougher even though I thought I was closer to Daddy.  I think it’s more that they are both gone, and when they are why is it that we have so many questions and we thought we had asked them all! But in the midst of that loss, I was in the midst of learning how to let it go.

Right now we are in the last week of What Happens When Women Say Yes To God.  One month ago today one of my greatest prayers was answered – a grandchild.  Our first grandbaby, a boy was born with a very rare genetic skin disease called EB.  Those first days were rough – not knowing and not being able to touch our little grandson. During those first days we had two choices – to let Satan pull us down or get down on our knees and GLORIFY our Father.  We could be in turmoil or peace.   We could choose how we reacted to this circumstance and indeed we did.  Our family and thousands of friends and Proverbs31 women all over the world began to pray for Colt.  We have seen the power of prayer when women join together and #SAYYES to God and we have seen what God can do when we choose peace and give Him the glory!

And then 2013 would be the Lord sent Mandisa and her song Overcomer and she was on a conference call with us at Proverbs31.org.  Listen!  Maybe this song will bless you like it has me these past weeks and guess what I just found it on my front porch this morning.  WOOHOO the mandisa CD is in my computer playing now.  http://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=UTF-8&fr=crmas&p=overcomer+mandisa+you+tube

Our family has been blessed over and over and over as daily someone else joins us in praying for Baby Colt.  We are praying for a miracle and so far God has sent many.  From the first day of providing doctors once we got to a children’s hospital to know what was wrong with his precious little feet that had no skin, to two days later when he had not developed sores all over his body, to him being able to wear a diaper which normally breaks their bottoms out in sores, to him wanting to suck even though he had sores in his mouth, to him going home in 10 days after the doctors and nurses all told us it would be at least two months.

Miracles continue day after day.  God moments I call them – the moment this Nannah got to hold that precious little one finally for just a God moment for a picture, a moment last week when I took off one of his mittens that are there to protect him from scratching himself to let his precious little hand hold my finger, to seeing him roll over for the first time at the age of one day less than four weeks on my sofa last Sunday and wondering if he really did that and then he did it again the next day at his other grandmoms in his play pen.  GOD MOMENTS!

As we end the study this week I am thankful – thankful that God placed me here to teach me how to be strong through trials and  how a woman who has said #YesToGod lives. Thankful this week that my heart is at rest – at rest in Him.   My heart’s at rest with Colt as we continue to pray for that biggest of miracles that God will completely heal him of EB as only God can do right now since it is a life-time disease.  That first biopsy was inconclusive and I believe it’s God – it’s God working through Colt to show the world that only He could have done this.  From a few weeks ago to doctor’s saying he has the worst case of EB to now a biopsy being inconclusive.  Two more months to wait for another biopsy and two more months to pray like we have never prayed before.  Pray for Baby Colt https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pray-for-baby-Colt/350863471710362. And here’s a picture at my house last week (4 weeks old).

Colt - 4 weeks

I looked back this morning over the chapter titles.  They speak for themselves how this book has blessed me:

  • Whatever God says do, do it.
  • God wants us to live in expectation of hearing from Him.
  • God wants us to be willing to obey with our whole heart.
  • God must be Lord of all if He is our Lord at all.
  • Whatever we worship, we will obey.
  • Radical obedience is born out of delight, not duty.
  • Our life will follow where we focus our vision.
  • We are managers, not owners, of God’s resources.
  • The blessings of radical obedience are unending.

As we ended with Chapters 8 and 9 these three thoughts jumped out at me as I highlighted these chapters on Monday and Tuesday:

  • Do we trust Him?  Do we trust that He will bless us?  Do we trust that His blessings are infinitely better than we He might first ask us to release?
  • That’s not your voice sowing seeds of doubt, it’s Satan’s voice.  He wants to keep you in doubt and confusion.  He wants you to pull off to the side of the intersection and remain ineffective.  He wants you to fail to fulfill the purposes God has for you and thwart the positive impact you could make in the lives of so many.
  • The mark of a truly godly woman is one who reveals the power of God not so much in her doing as in her being.
  • Our hearts search for deeper meaning in life, and radically obedient people find it in loving the Lord, loving others He brings in our path, and continually seeking to become more like Jesus

And lastly I loved this in Chapter 9 and I wrote Dot above it.  Blog-Dot

13 thoughts on “A Heart At Rest”

  1. I dare say this is your best blog of all, Debbie. Spoke to me on so many levels. You have captured so many important directions for our journey along the highway to radical obedience. Bless you and thank you. Still praying for Baby Colt. This photo truly blesses my heart.

    Like

    1. Oh thank you Deanne for the compliment. I’m just letting go and letting Him direct me. Thank you, thank you for praying for Baby Colt. Let’s not drop our prayers. That’s what Satan would like, but Colt is showing the world what God can do if we stay faithful. Love you sister.

      Like

  2. Thanks for another beautiful post as a reminder of how awesome and great our God is. It is a blessing to see pictures of Baby Colt and the miracles God is performing in his life and in everyone lives through the blessings of God on your lives. God is using each of you and Colt for a higher purpose and that is to reach out and share the miraculous wonders He is doing. God is great and so good. Love you my friend. Grateful to be journeying with you. Prayers continuing for the miracle and being part of your journey.
    Marilyn (OBS Group Leader)

    Like

  3. Debbie, you have no idea what an inspiration you and your family have been to me and to thousands of women around the world. God has brought us together in a unity around this precious child of His. Colt is His and He sent him to the right family at the right time for His glory. Yes, I can see through what you have just written how God, our loving Father, has been working all along to prepare you for this journey. Dear sister, just continue to walk this out in trust and in peace. You are loved. Colt is greatly loved.
    Love and prayers,
    Barbara

    Like

    1. Thank you Barbara. It’s all Him! I could not get through this without His love over me and for me and Colt and our family. Thank you so much for keeping up with Colt and for your precious, precious prayers. Love you sister.

      Like

  4. Debbie – you are SUCH an inspiration. I ate every paragraph right up. Especially the update on Colt. I know that God is with you and that He holds little Colt and your son and daughter-in-love in His hands. You illustrated, so clearly here, how God has used each study to change you and grow you right where you were. That is amazing! #PalmsUp for you and your family and for each new thing He will reveal to you moving forward! ❤

    Like

  5. What a wonderful post! I had tears and I had a smile. That little baby Colt is so adorable!! I’m so sorry that you lost your mom. When my grandma passed away, my mom said it was so hard. They were never really close so she thought it would not be as hard as losing her dad. But she said it was way harder than she imagined. Soon after my mom got breast cancer which put me in thought of losing my own mom.and how difficult it would be to not have her around any more. Luckily God healed her and she is now cancer free. I pray for God Moments to keep touching your life as well as Colt’s. May God bless you and your family. I am hugging you from afar!

    Like

  6. Debbie this is a beautiful blog. I really wish I could write what I think and feel. This was a great study and I met so many wonderful people. Even though I don’t usually pray out loud or online, I consider myself to be a prayer warrior. I have so many more situations and people to pray for now. Baby Colt is at the top of my list as are you and your entire family. May God’s peace stay with you.

    Like

  7. Debbie, I just love you! I wish I was there to hug you right now! Praise the Lord! Colt went from being the worse case they have ever seen to inconclusive!! Only God! So excited to see how God is blessing your family and the trust and faith you have shown through it all. God is so good! Love you!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

