The Great Life

12 Sep

Yes-week 6 - psalm 81.10Are you hungry?  Are you craving something sweet, something salty, something crunchy?  Do you open the pantry for tortilla chips, or chocolate, or the refrigerator looking for grapes, or maybe you just love something crunchy like carrots, an apple, or celery?  As I thought about this and how often I crave a snack, I wondered how often do we, in turn, crave our Creator.

Have you ever been on a cruise with a whole lot of eating  and a whole lot of the most delicious gourmet food available twenty-four hours a day, including room service.?  That is how God is – He is available twenty-four hours a day – any moment we have a craving? Do you go through the day thinking about what you are going to eat next, or do you go through the day longing to spend time with Him in prayer, in reading, in thoughts, memorizing scripture, etc.?

This week at Proverbs 31.Org this verse was shared for us to blog about what it means to us:

blog-psalm 8110

Hmmmm!

I am picturing me opening my mouth wide at the dentist, or a bird whose Mom is feeding it

 

or even when we visit the doctor and they put that tongue depressor in there.  OPEN WIDE!

Or how about a grandbaby.  My grandson opens wide each time he wants a bottle or just because.Colt - 1 month

Later in the same chapter, in verse 16 God says “But I would feed you with the best of foods.  I would satisfy you with wild honey from the rock.”

I read a similar verse that says, “I will fill thy mouth with good things,”  Ps. 103:5 .

So what does this all mean?  I had to surf a bit to verse map and think about this.  It was thought provoking but using Lysa’s three points I was able to make some sense of it.

First of all He says, I am the Lord your God.  I am the Lord your God is the first phrase we see in the Ten Commandments.  Exodus 20:2-6 says it all, and reads like this:

blog-the first commandment

The second point Lysa used was He is our God!  These two songs by Chris Tomlin (Our God)  and Hillsong (How Great is our God) say it all.  He is my God, He is your God, He is our God!

Last Lysa says He will fill us.  I believe that God is saying that if we follow Him, if we listen and spend time with Him, He will take care of our needs. Only He can satisfy our deepest hungers. When we have a deep need he doesn’t want us to go to the refrigerator or pantry, but rather enter his presence.  Only He can fill that deep, deep need, but we find ourselves wanting less and something temporary like food.  How often have I run to the kitchen instead of to Him on my knees.

When we are stressed over something in our lives or lonely, afraid, or hurting, we need to remember those are temporary and God is eternal.  He is our security – our safe place.  He will meet those deep hungers.

Just as a mother bird hovers over those baby birds, God hovers over us to meet EVERY need – not just our hunger for food, but our hunger for Him.    Trust Him to provide abundantly your needs.  Look to Him to fill you with the richness and fullness of Christ. We are filled to the extent that we open our mouths wider and wider because He has so much more to fill us with.  Nothing can satisfy our hunger like God can!

Open WIDE that mouth and let Him fill you as only He can do.

In Him be satisfied!

(Thanks to my friends Katrina Wylie, Lynda Parker and Kendra Fisher for sharing the bird pictures.  Love you ladies.)   

  
13 Responses to “The Great Life”

  1. Missy September 12, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    Debbie- gorgeous!!!! What a way to end this blog hop! I love the image of God hovering over us ready to meet every need. ❤ you sister!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking September 12, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      Hugs Missy! I don’t want it to be over but I guess it’s not – it’s in our hearts. Love you sister.

      Like

  2. Lynda Parker September 12, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    Goodness I needed that Debbie! I have so been longing to be filled with Him yet I constantly crave that empty thing that leaves me just empty and craving more empty things. You’ve given me a direction to change my prayers. You are such a blessing in my life! Thank you. I did complete Say Yes and praying the prayer I wrote for 30 days. I’m on day 3, hugs to u!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking September 12, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

      Oh wow Lynda. I haven’t written my prayer yet. Thanks for reading. Love you girl!

      Like

      • Lynda Parker September 12, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

        I think I needed it Debbie!

        Like

  3. Melanie (OBS FB Small Group Leader) September 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    Just as a mother bird hovers over those baby birds, God hovers over us to meet EVERY need! I love this!!! Open wide; Palms Up – Father God, I am yours! Thanks for sharing Debbie!

    Like

  4. Patty September 12, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful analogy. Love the birdies! Every where I go, to church, to my local Bible study, and this OBS; it has all been about being in the will of God. and how God blesses us for our obedience. I haven’t quit finished the book What Happens When Women Say Yes to God, I will be tonight. This study has and is effecting my life profoundly, if that is a word. God is dealing with me in an area that I have never been before. And I have been trying to avoid it. Ha, no such thing when you’re a child of God! I am having to say yes to God in a very difficult area. I want to share but I cannot, yet. You are such a blessing to me and my family, Debbie. I will send you a pm when God says I can share. Just pray for me because right now my flesh is fighting the Spirit. This spiritual battle is a tough one for me. Love you dear sweet sister in Christ.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking September 12, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

      Patty thank you for reading and your support ALWAYS! The last part of that book – What Happens – “The World is Changed”. I knew that – I say that all the time about changing one heart at a time. Let God continue to deal with you and give it up. I know sometimes it is hard to give up hurts and things in our past but today is a new day to move forward and put it all behind. Move forward with baby steps. I’m here when and if you want to share and always know if you do, it won’t be shared anywhere else. Hugs sweet sister. Thanks for reading. Love you!

      Like

  5. Lauren September 12, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    Your pictures of those baby birds really brought this verse to life. Love this post. Love you!
    Lauren Bates

    Like

  6. Michelle Miller September 15, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    What a great post! And I love all the pictures you used to provide such an amazing visual image. God bless!

    Like

  7. Deane Gavin Garrison September 16, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    Great analogy capturing God’s readiness and willingness to provide all we need. We need to turn to Him in readiness to ask, to listen and to receive. I was also reminded of the verses where Jesus told His disciples He had food they knew not of, for His food was to do the will of the Father. Wonderful the way God weaves it all together. Enjoyed your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

