Uncategorized

Redemption (Luke 2:38)

 blog-Luke 238

The same redemption Anna spoke of has been offered freely to each of us.  What does redemption mean to me?

To be redeemed is to be forgiven and reconciled to Jesus. According to Webster’s Dictionary, the word ‘redeem’ means “to free from the consequences of sin.”  Are you redeemed?  I am.  I was redeemed and baptized when I was 15.  Once redeemed we are no longer slaves to sin!

So what does it mean to be redeemed.  Staci Elderidge said this,  “Redeemed women of God have tender merciful hearts, backbones of steel, and hands that are prepared for the fight.”

I know over the years I have not always had a tender, merciful heart nor a backbone of steel.  But the longer I know Him, the more I want to make an impact on this world, the more I want to delight in Him serving Him with gratitude.   Lysa Terkeurst said it like this, “Our time here is but a small dot on an eternal line.  What we do now in this brief moment will determine our destiny for eternity.”

I went to church as a child, but in high school I started going to church with my best girlfriend in the 10th grade.  I was saved at the age of 15, during a Sunday service when I began to feel a conviction in my heart and a desire for God and that’s when I came to know Jesus – He touched me that Sunday morning and I knew Him.  I was baptized (and all my family was there) and I have remained in church and in love with my Lord. I was redeemed (saved).   You see it was not radical like some testimonies you hear, but it was sweet and it was REAL and it was BEAUTIFUL.

I once was lost, but now am found and now I see whose I am.

blog-redeemed-john-3 16

If you have a sad story today, you can turn it into a happy story, a victorious story.  All have sinned and come short of the glory of our Father.

One of my favorite songs of all time that I never tire of is sung by Big Daddy Weave.  I hope you will take a minute to listen to Mike Weaver’s story of struggling with self-worth and personal acceptance and why he wrote this song and listen to the words of the song itself.  Every single time it comes on the radio, I just am so blessed and I hope you will be to. It is overwhelming and beautiful!   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RornLHjfma8

Let Him wipe away all those stains, let Him set you free.  Don’t be who you used to be.  Let God look at you and say “REDEEMED”.

 

 

 

 
21 thoughts on “Redemption (Luke 2:38)”

  1. Debbie, precious Sister in Christ, your words brought a heart filled with gratitude and a reminder of my early walk, my journey now and my new beginnings with my sweet Jesus. To know I am a Daughter of His today brings so much freedom, joy and a sense of His Presence through the unknown! I too am Redeemed! Blessings, Hugs in Him…

    Like

  2. Love this, my friend. Love the song you mentioned. Love your quotes you used. And I love your “real” testimony. Even though it may not seem radical, God has used you in radical ways through your outreach and love. So honored to serve in OBS with you! ❤
    Lauren

    Like

  3. Powerful good testimony today sweet Debbie sistah! That song brings me to my knees every single time.
    Redeemed… and Set Free indeed!
    Redefined thru His Grace..
    Repurposed for His purposes alone,
    Reclaimed back from the depths of hell itself..
    Reblossomed to live for Him!

    Like

  4. I also love this song and I like you don’t have an “exciting” story of redemption, but it sure is real and exciting to me. I so look forward to the day I shall see Him face to face!
    Love and prayers my dear sister!
    Barbara

    Like

  5. ” it was sweet and it was REAL and it was BEAUTIFUL.” That pretty much sums up everything I know about you, my friend. LOVE LOVE LOVE the Staci Eldredge quote. I need to print that out and hang it up on my wall by my quiet time chair!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

