Uncategorized

Day 3 – Organization to Peace

Well today was supposed to be a day to get my laundry room organized.  Notice I said it was supposed to be.  The office desk did not get finished after my trip to Mom’s to pack up memories yesterday and now I am thinking it might be a three-day project because of all the interruptions.  I want a CLEAN desk!  I have put this off too long, but having a hard time finding quality hours to do it.

My aunt and I packed and packed and loaded boxes in my husband’s pickup and unloaded boxes and now after all that and two sales, let me tell you it looks like Mom’s house has not been touched. That experience has shown me the error of my ways and I am trying to get out of the “clutter” mess at my house.  It is nothing like Mom’s.   My house is clean but there are lots of clothes and lots of paper I need to do something about.   I have collections but not that many.  Mom had lots of unfinished projects – quilts, baskets she bought to do projects, patterns and on and on – a whole  trunk load of unfinished quilt pieces bagged up and a closet of finished tops and bears and dolls and hearts and……….

So today it was back to the office and my desk.  Here is what I learned today.    I get distracted.  I would be doing something and the first thing I knew I was back on the computer.  That must be the main issue with me and organization.  But that timer is helping.  I set it again and got to work.  But then I had to stop and go mow before it got too warm outside.  It is 90 today and lots of sunshine and humidity and it takes about 6 good hours to mow this whole place so this week we have done it in three cycles.  Now that is done for this week!

So what did I learn today to keep my desk inspiring and organized.  First I got all the papers off of the desk and filed and filed and filed.

WHEW!.  The filing basket is now empty and if I will just file each day after I open the mail I think I can keep this desk clean and my kitchen countertops which seem to have exploding mail on them.

SECOND,  I started with a clean desk.  THIRD, I did some cleaning.  My desk is my Dad’s old desk and it has a nice piece of glass he added, so I got out the glass cleaner and shined it up. SHINY!!!  clean desk

FOURTH,

I got a cute little holder and added some colorful pens and markers and some pretty notepads.  That way I can quickly make notes, write out my grocery lists, write down blogs I want to remember, reminders, etc..

I like to keep some personal things on my desk – reminders of happy moments.  I have a picture of my son and daughter and another of my husband and I.  I also have my Dad’s old radio on my desk with his pipes nearby.  Happy thoughts each time I sit down at my desk.  Someday I hope to have my computer on top of my desk and even a new desk because the computer desk has a habit of getting cluttered also.

I bought this beautiful basket many months back with lots of folders.  To be honest it was a year ago and it has been on the desk with folders and some things in it like a coupon folder, daily mail, to file, to read, bills to pay and one for dental but that is about all.  I added labels today and put it back on the desk.  That is as far as I got.file

I hope to get more done tomorrow, but we have plans to go to Mom’s again if I am not subbing.  So here is what will come next and I will share pictures later.

I will strategically and slowly start putting things back and culling as I go.

On the right side of my desk I will put my cute little file basket I bought a year ago  to hold loose papers like things that need to be filed, loose mail that I need to spend some time going over, etc. that will not fit in my file basket.

I got a cute little holder and added some colorful pens and markers and some pretty notepads.  That way I can quickly make notes, write out my grocery lists, write down blogs I want to remember, reminders, etc..

I like to keep some personal things on my desk – reminders of happy moments.  I have a picture of my son and daughter and another of my husband and me.  I also have my Dad’s old radio on my desk with his pipes nearby.  Happy thoughts each time I sit down at my desk.  Someday I hope to have my computer on top of my desk and even a new desk because the computer desk has a habit of getting cluttered also.

But ALAS I did not finish.  Too many things to day and I left to go take care of my grandbaby and cook dinner for them.  Tomorrow is a new day and it may take until Saturday but it is looking better already.  And who knows what will end up on my desk.  I hope you will check it out in the next few days as I decide what to leave and what to move.

Day 1: https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/31-day-challenge-to-organization-peace/

Day 2: https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2013/10/02/day-2-organization-to-peace/

Day 3: https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/day-3-organization-to-peace/

Day 4:  https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2013/10/05/day-4-organization-to-peace/

Leave a Reply

