Uncategorized

Happy Fall Y’all – Day 6 – Soup

SoupEven though it is Fall in Texas that does not mean it is cool or cold.  This morning it is 48 but by the evening we are looking at a high of 81.  One of my favorite things about Fall – homemade soups.  I can’t wait to be able to have soup for dinner.  I do the same thing in the Summer – can’t wait for salads.

So until I can actually make some soups I have been looking for soup recipes to start buying ingredients and be ready for that next cold snap.  When it arrives I’ll make a double patch and take one over for my son and daughter-in-law who are in the throws of taking care of a baby born with EB.

For the next few days I am going to add some soup recipes.

I found this recipe which is interesting and believe me I don’t like turnip greens, but my husband does.  This one was  at http://www.margaretholmes.com/recipes/details/turnip-green-soup/ and will be the first one I will try.  Not sure I can find that brand of greens here in Texas.  I’ve seen them in Alabama, but any should do that are seasoned.  I think my husband will love this.  I will be posting pictures later in October/November and what I think about this soup.

Turnip Green Soup

Ingredients:

In a large pot add 1 large can of Margaret Holmes seasoned turnip greens.
1 can chicken broth
1 can chopped tomatoes with peppers
1 drained can of blackeyed peas
1 drained can of navy beans
1 drained can of kidney beans or any beans of your choice

Recipe Instructions:

Saute 1 lb smoked sausage chopped to bite size and 1 large chopped onion until sausage is brown.  Add to turnip green pot.  1 dash hot red pepper sauce.  Heat for 30 minutes or longer to marry flavors.  Serve with hot cornbread.

Day 1:  https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/happy-fall-yall-day-1/

Day 2:  https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2013/10/05/happy-fall-yall-day-2/

Day 3:  https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2013/10/05/happy-fall-yall-day-3/

Day 4:  https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/happy-fall-yall-day-4/

3 thoughts on “Happy Fall Y’all – Day 6 – Soup”

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

