Uncategorized

Isaiah 49:23 – #perfectlove

confiden heart - week one hashtag“ This is our memory verse this week at Proverbs31.Org as we study the book A Confident Heart by Renee Swope.  We were to unpack that verse or verse map it as some people say, and today I heard another new term from another member who called it “verse explosion”.  Love that!  So let’s explode this verse.

What a beautiful promise that God gave us in Isaiah 49:23b. He is saying if we put our HOPE in Him, we will not be DISAPPOINTED.  No matter what is happening in our lives today God is working it for the good.

Sometimes my hope is in the wrong place.  How about you?  Frustrations, aggravations, worrying are all things that get us down, and when they do our hope is not in Him, but rather we are listening to those whispers of doubt- whispers of doubt that tell us we are not good enough, take away our confidence, and tell us things will never be any better than they are today.

In Chapter 1 this week titled “Discovering the Shadow of My Doubts”, the very first paragraph was Heb 10:35-36 which reads “So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded.  You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.”

Our confidence will be richly rewarded.   As I read that I wondered what happens when I do not have confidence?  Does that mean I will not be richly rewarded?   So what am I doing with my confidence?  Why do I lose it?  God has given me so many promises to build up my confidence, but do I memorize them so I can pull them out like tools when that confidence starts to dwindle?  What would it be like if I were always able to hold on to the confidence that God’s Word provides me.  What would happen if I instead turned to the Light and started quoting promises from my heart?

“So do not throw away your confidence…”  Think about that before you go any further. What are you doing with your confidence that God has given you? His Word is full of promises to build us up in Him. It’s more confidence than we could ever need, yet for various reasons we throw it away. Have you ever wondered what you would be like if you were confident – if you held on to the confidence God’s Word gives us?

I can trust and I can believe in hope.  As Hebrews 10:35 says “do not throw away your confidence”.  Proverbs 3:26 says “for the Lord will be your confidence” and Psalm 71:5 says “For you have been my hope.  O Sovereign Lord, my confidence since my youth.”  What an aha moment for me.  If the Lord is my confidence, and yet I don’t have confidence, have I given Him up?  I can be strong and courageous because the Lord my God is with me. He will never leave me nor forsake me (Deut. 31:6).

Heb 10:35 also said my confidence “will be richly rewarded.”  So if I do not have confidence, am I richly rewarded?

If you look up doubt, which we have been studying this week, the opposite of it or an antonym is hope.  We can not have doubt and hope at the same time if they are opposites.

So how do we gain that confidence – that hope?  It is by living in God’s promises, believing them, learning them, quoting them.  We have to live His Word no matter what is going on in our lives.  Our feelings or Satan may tell us different, but we need to remember to dwell on the knowledge of whose we are.  We need to let His word penetrate us so that we can be armed when those feelings of doubt begin to creep in.  Memorize, memorize, memorize so we can remember those promises when the going gets tough.  Memorize so you have a life-line to go to when those doubts creep in distorting what we know to be true.  I want to hold on to the thoughts Renee shared with us this week, “When we pray God’s words out loud and hear them, the Holy Spirit engraves them on our hearts and writes them in our thoughts.  We internalize God’s truth as our faith grows and we are transformed from the inside out.”

 

28 thoughts on “Isaiah 49:23 – #perfectlove”

  1. Loving your verse explosion image! Truly learning God’s word is all the armor we need to protect ourselves from our self-doubts, lack of belief and whatever else is pulling us away from what God wants. Thank you for your post today. Blessings!

    Like

      1. Love how you called it verse explosion, and how as we study and dig deep and deeper God can show us what we need to see and hear. Doubt then changes to hope, and lack of confidence changes to being confident in who were are in Christ. Love and prayers and hugs,
        Marilyn V(OBS Group Leader)

        Like

  2. I agree memorizing God’s promises is best way to hold on to our hope and receive the reward! Great “verse explosion”! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  3. I enjoyed your thoughts and definitely feel there is power in being able to quote his word when doubts fill your mind! Thanks for sharing! I also have a Kolt, spelled with a K 😉
    Stephanie

    Like

  4. Love this….thank you so much for writing it!
    Love “verse explosion”….def a new way of seeing it!
    Yes, I too feel like I do not what to give away my confidence, but I certainly never looked at it like I was giving away my hope in Him! Wow!! An ah-ha moment there for sure! I know God is my Hope. Since He tells us to not give our confidence away, a choice has to be made and we know with Him all things are made possible so I know I can keep from throwing it away. I choose hope and arming myself with His word!!! Thanks again, I love all your posts:)

    Like

  5. Amazing read! Thank you so much for expanding on your thoughts of the reading this week. I had some similar thoughts. This is my first online study and I don’t know much about blogging, so all of this is new to me. I already sense that I am going to find abundant healing in this study. Thanks for sharing! ~amr

    Like

  6. Oh I love the phrase “verse explosion!” Because that’ really what happens, isn’t it?
    Debbie, your posts are always so encouraging and such beautiful reminders of what we need to do and how God loves us. Thank you for your faithfulness and love,

    Like

  7. I love your blog! I need to be more grounded in God’s Word. Thinking about throwing away what God has provided for me gives me a new perspective.

    Like

  8. I really enjoyed reading your blog today …. especially enjoyed how you raised questions concerning how we throw away our confidence and how that might impact our perspective of God’s presence in our lives … in the end, reminding us He never leaves us thus reinstating our confidence in Him …. I am sure I will ponder this more and more as I think about our verses from this study. Thank you again for sharing!

    Like

  9. WOW!! That was amazing! This blog post gave me an even bigger AHA moment than our reading for the week. Thank you! I am not a confident person and people always tell me that I should be because I am smart and I have a sweet spirit. I don’t take their words to heart, though. I will be memorizing Bible verses about confidence from now on!! And you have a new follower!

    Like

  10. I have been so blessed by reading this. In fact I reposted it to my FB timeline, only a small group of about 450 or so, most of them living with different forms of chronic illness. I just loved your words of encouragement. I can’t believe how close I came to throwing away my confidence in my God and in my marriage because of how hard things have been living with fibromyalgia and how it has affected my marriage. God convinced me to stay in my marriage through the “yes, Lord” study and is rebuilding my confidence in this one. Thank you Lord.

    Like

  11. I was encouraged by this post. I agree that we must immerse ourselves in the Word and fill our spirits with His peace and comfort on a daily basis. Thank you for these spirit filled words.

    Like

  12. Thank you for enriching me through your words! I loved your insight and it has helped me to process it, thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

