Uncategorized

WHEN-THEN

This week we studied about When-Then statements. It was hard for me to sit down and write.  Life is hectic isn’t it?  No matter what stage we are in – it is always busy with young children, teenagers and later your aging parents, or at least it has been for me.  I am retired, but you would not know it. I am a substitute teacher, a facebook group leader in the Proverbs31 Online Bible studies, have a new granchild born with a serious skin disease, and am trying to dispose of my Mom’s house, and much, much more – church, family, etc..  So how about you?  Are you busy?

Are you overwhelmed by everyday life?  Are you overwhelmed by obstacles that Satan is constantly throwing.  Today I have been overwhelmed myself.  Here it is Monday and a beautiful new week I have planned for all weekend – things to share with my group that blessed my heart as I read Chapter 3 of Renee Swope’s book A Confident Heart.  But now, I cannot post a message, comment or like on facebook.  It it a facebook glitch today, or is it Satan throwing an obstacle to stop the beauty of fellowshipping in our Lord?  You decide!

As I got off facebook and got on my knees God spoke to me this morning.  Satan – 0, God – 100.  Now I am blogging until I can get back on facebook.

We cannot allow our circumstances to affect our joy.  Sometimes I do and I know you do too.  One of the things I loved that Renee spoke about in Chapter 3 on  page 52 “Those of us who struggle with insecurity and find ourselves in the shadow of doubt often get there because we are seeking our validation in people’s opinions, our worth in accomplishments, and our identity in excessive commitments.” OUCH!

So now it is late Wednesday night.  Where did the week go?  I

This morning on the blog Stephanie Clayton shared lots of “good” stuff.  She talked about WHEN-THEN statements and oh I wanted to do one – but how and when.  We were on a conference call and asked for one of ours.  I have none but something had happened this morning that made me feel so bad after and awesome Worship Wednesday in our group that God just put one on my heart.  Here it is:      blog - when then

When I feel overwhelmed then my God says, ” Debbie remember this:

Blog - John 14.27

Blog-Jer 29.11

Read more: http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/bible-verses-about-peace-20-great-scripture-quotes/#ixzz2ibQuUyTz

Secondly, today Stephanie shared a “no-fail pail” and encouraged us to make one with the scripture cards on the P31 site today.   http://proverbs31.org/online-bible-studies/2013/10/23/when-then/.  My no-fail pail ended up being a jar.  I walked in the kitchen to make my creamer below and I grabbed a butterfinger.  That moment God pricked my heart.  I emptied he candies in the jar in a plastic container and put them in the pantry for Halloween night.  I then washed the jar, printed out all the scriptures you can find on Proverbs31 and made a pretty bow and now I have my no-fail pail which I have named my God-nuggets.  Here is my new no-fail jar.

scripture jar

And lastly a recipe for pumpkin spice creamer.  Here were my ingredients today before I mixed mine up.

DSC02564

Can I say yum!  You can find it over at the Proverbs 31 site also (link above).

In closing I share this statement from Renee. “By recognizing and replacing our emptiness with the fullness of God’s promises, we drink the gift of living water.  We acknowledge our need, which allows Him to pour His truth into the well of our hearts.”  She encouraged us to write when-then statements and promises to go to so that He can pour into us.  How about you?  Did you write a when-then statement this week?  I would love to hear it.


29 thoughts on “WHEN-THEN”

  1. Beautifully said! Life can surely be overwhelming. And isn’t it just ugly that the enemy can even use our serving God against us to cause us to feel bogged down and just overwhelmed by our list of to-dos? That brings up a good when/then statement… “When I start to feel overwhelmed by my commitments to serve the Lord, then I will go to Him because I am weary and He will give me rest. (Matt. 11:28)”

    Like

  2. Blogger Loves The King…

    Thank you for enriching my life through sharing yours! I find myself in a scoring battle with the enemy daily. The gentle reminder to stand on His truths is a blessing.

    My When- Then:

    WHEN
    I walk in condemnation and shame, in self-destruct mode and my heart dies into a petrified stone…

    THEN
    The Lord shows up boldly and begins to turn my heart to flesh, bringing it back to life, through the Holy Spirit.

    Ezekiel 36
    26 And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.

    Love you sweet sister!

    Like

  3. Debbie,

    I LOVE your sweet attitude toward the BUSYNESS of life. It’s true that whatever season we’re in LIFE can become overwhelming. I’m praying that as you continue to seek Him, He will “lead to the the ROCK” that is higher. ❤ Much love and blessings!

    Like

    1. Hugs sweet sister. I was chatting with a very long-time friend this morning on facebook about life and how hard we thought it was when the kids were little and wish we could have a do-over. She is dealing with a daughter in the hospital having a baby with complications in NY and she lives in TX and her parents are in their 80s and neither doing well. Life was simpler when we had little ones and teenagers. Hugs to YOU!

      Like

  4. I love the idea of putting the when-then statements on a picture 🙂 I might have to go do that now!! Thanks for sharing your heart through this message. It was frustrating when fb went crazy this week. It did feel like Satan trying to prevent something, but the amazing thing is a lot of blog writing probably happened in that time so…God 100, Satan 0!

    Like

  5. Yes, thank you for your blog …. I feel like I’ve had a similar week – what’s with that? It is already Thursday and I have not posted anything on the Prov 31 site. Can this count? However, reading chapter 3 and pondering the reflection questions has been a rich experience. The concept of “when – then” statements is such a practical and powerful discipline to apply God’s truths to our lives. I, too, have older children, aging parents (two of our four have passed on) and many commitments in both church and community. With my older children I am often tempted to open my mouth and attempt to “fix” what is not mine to solve. My “what – then” statement this week was, WHEN I am tempted to “fix” a seemingly difficult or impossible situation, THEN I will remember Luke 18:27, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.” He continues to call me to pray more than I speak. Thank you again for your blog …. it was certainly helpful to me this week. ~ Chris

    Like

    1. Christina thanks for reading this. We only have one parent left and we miss the other three. The one lives next door to us now and it is sad to watch them declining. Love your when-then for your older children. Thanks for stopping by. ♥

      Like

  6. Love these!!! Being overwhelmed is hard to deal with sometimes; we definitely do need our God-nuggets (love that!) 🙂 And your jar is really cute, I love it!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  7. LOVE your when/then about failing!! I posted this up on my refrigerator, because I am constantly beating myself up about failing God… Thank you for reminding me that God isn’t finished with me yet!!! God bless you!!

    Like

  8. Thank you for these beautiful reminders and encouragement this morning, Debbie! I love your when/then statements and your beautiful jar! 😉 Love~Shelly (OBS Blog Hop Coordinator)

    Like

    1. Thank you for this blog. It was kind of eye opening. I thought I only had to read three for some reason. This I did. Two of which the ladies are in my group wonderful group 28. Wow any way get to face book and realize I need one more. Ok I can read one more. Went to the blogs and just said pick one didn’t even think about which one. I guess God knows what he wants to learn or think about. When you said ” we can not let circumstances affect our joy” wow I have a habit of doing this.
      Thanks again

      Like

      1. Lisa-Marie I bet you are in Kristy’s group. She is my team leader. I have a group 31. I do that sometimes I read 100 and sometimes I read 5 and the one week I only read 5 I read one and commented and the girl lived right down the street from me. We met for lunch this week so I don’t think it is circumstance but God. JOY is my favorite word and I am glad that statement touched your heart. Thanks so much for reading. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

        Like

  9. Awesome blog! Like you I also feel the enemy has been running rampant this week and trying to steal our motivation for this Bible study. But when the devil tries to steal our joy, then i remember how God is always there with us no matter what we are going through, helping us to overcome!

    Like

  10. Yes I’m busy! Yes I feel overwhelmed! Thank you so much for sharing! I could relate in so many things. As a single mom I feel busy and overwhelmed a lot of the time. Sometimes it causes resentment. I have to quelch that and look toward God. Sometimes I fail in looking up as soon as I really should. Then guilt steps in. Sometimes I turn to food. And then more guilt. it’s a daily struggle. I know what I need to do but let the excuse that I’m busy hold me back. It’s a work in progress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

