#WHOIAM

7 Nov

#WhoIAm ~ Doubt may whisper to you in your own voice, “I am not good enough.” But that’s not what God says. What does God say about #WhoIAm?

This is Week 4, Chapter 6 of A Confident Heart by Renee Swope and one of our blog topics and our hashtag this week is #WhoIAm. When I first saw it, I thought it said Who Am I!  But when you change it and ponder on that, well it is kind of scary.  #WHOIAM is what I have been thinking about for a few days now.  The title of the lesson this week is “When Doubt Whispers I Am Not Good Enough!

Do you find yourself doubting each day?  I do many days.  Doubting I am not good enough?  Really – who says?   God says I am good enough.  Doubting is a lie from Satan, and I find myself doubting I will disappoint God, doubting I will disappoint my husband, doubting I will disappoint my kids, my friends, my Bible study sisters and the list goes on and on and on.  I find myself wondering if someone is going to criticize me, worry when I meet someone new what they will think – I too fat,  I too quiet,  I too proud, and on and on and on.

Self-doubts and worry are probably two of my worst habits.  I’ve worried about being the perfect wife, mom, daughter.  I know there is no such thing.  WORRY!  Worry is not of God.  I may worry for a night, but I hold true that verse in Psalm 30:5 that sorrow may come during the night, but my joy comes in the morning.  The joy that only God can provide.

Who is causing my self-doubt, my worry?  It’s not God.     The only one that I really need to please and attempt to be perfect for is God.  Am I pleasing Him?  Am I being a wife that pleases him, a mother that pleases Him, a daughter that pleases Him?  Oh I have failed so often because the busyness of life overcomes me.  We are saturated with the things of this world, and not saturated in His Word.  Sometimes I want to go back.  I want to have a do-over with my kids, my mom and dad and my husband.  I want to do it all again knowing what I know today – but I can’t and nor can I look back with regrets because again God wants us looking at today and the future, not the past.

Why are we standing in the shadow of doubt?  For me I truly believe that I am good at focusing on ALL the things that are wrong with me, instead of stopping and focusing on all the good and right that is within me.  I am good at looking at the bad that is going on around me, instead of focusing on all the good and all the blessings that are happening right in front of me.

I love the chart that Renee shared from Dr. Neil T. Anderson.  I’ve printed these out to go in my no-fail jar, my scripture jar, my blessing jar so that I can go to them when those doubts, those lies, those firey darts from Satan that knows so well at which ones to choose for me that hits where he knows I am weak, start to fill my head.  Here are some of my favorites from that chart that I know will make me strong in Jesus when Satan attempts to make me weak!

blog - IAM

My life is not based on what I have done, but because of whose I am and because of who He is!  I AM a daughter of the Most High!  I AM a child of the King.  I AM looked upon with love.  I AM a crown of splendor in the Lord’s hand (Is 62:3).

I love a song by Jason Castro called, “Stay This Way”. 

 

15 Responses to “#WHOIAM”

  1. Chelle Renee November 7, 2013 at 5:03 am #

    ❤ this. The words you shared blessed me.

    Like

  2. Bronda Boley November 7, 2013 at 6:32 am #

    Sister, you have touched my heart! Thank you for the reminder to focus on all that is good and right within us.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking November 7, 2013 at 7:28 am #

      Thank you for reading Bronda. So glad you were blessed. Some weeks it is hard putting what I feel on paper.

      Like

  3. klsaiken November 7, 2013 at 7:43 am #

    I love this! Doubt is something Satan has used on me too long and I am ready to crush it in his face! I love your writing. So easy to read and relate-able. Love you Debbie!

    Like

  4. Jenifer November 7, 2013 at 9:51 am #

    Beautiful encouragement!

    Thanks for linking up with Woman to Woman’s Word Filled Wednesday. God bless!

    Like

  5. Amber Oatman OBS Social Media November 7, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Thank you for sharing Debbie! You are always so open and real and offer such encouragement. Love you!

    Like

  6. pinayleilani November 7, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    WOW! I love the way you write and your thoughts are the same as mines. It truly spoke to my heart and soul. I always struggle with Satan’s doubt and lies and always targeting my Identity in Christ. Thank you for your encouragement of words and wisdom. I am motivated and changed by your blog. Keep writing my sister. I wish I can blog every day but I can’t due to my Chronic Illness of Fibromyalgia. God bless.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking November 7, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      Bless your heart. Thanks for your encouragement. I have pinched nerves so know a little of what you go thru. Lots of sleepless nights here with my leg, hip and shoulder. THANKS for reading and I’ll remember you in my prayers.

      Like

  7. Sara November 7, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    Thank you for the reminder of Psalm 30:5. That verse has been on my heart a lot lately.

    Like

  8. chargal November 7, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Thank you,

    Like

Leave a Reply

