To Do or Not To Do!!!

4 Jan

Blog-Todoa

Are you a to-do lister or not?  Do you get anxious if you veer away from your to-do list? TO-DO, TO-DO, TO-DO

or not TO-DO!

I am a to-do list making girl.  When I am really organized, I have my shopping list and grocery list and meal planning done and it makes it so much easier for the week ahead.

I have lists for things to do around the house.  I have daily lists and I have monthly lists.  I try not to plan too far ahead in my daily lists for those hard chores because life can change at a moment, and it does so often.  I have learned that church, family and friends are much more important than my clean, organized home.  Don’t get me wrong I love an organized home, and I love deep cleaning and sometimes that gets in the way of a totally clean home.  I dwell on little things that are big things like cleaning baseboards while a dirty desk goes undone.

I am in a wonderful Bible study on goals – just a two -week study but it’s been awesome and it’s a short study for the gap between our big studies with Melissa Taylor at Proverbs31.Org.

So what have I learned this first week?  I am learning to prioritize it all.  I know I need to be exercising and would rather do anything else, but I am committing at least three days a week to walking on the treadmill, outside on a pretty day, or with a video.  It’s hard because I would rather be in my Bible or blogging or ancestry research doing something I enjoy!

I loved this picture surfing across Facebook from Time-Warp Wife.  How often do I forget I’m not fooling anyone but me!

work of your hands

If Jesus knocked on your door today would he find a Martha, a Mary or neither.  It’s a scary thought when there are days I have spent too much time on the computer.  Would Jesus be pleased with my closets, my cabinets, my office desk, or how about that pile of papers to file or that email basket I think NOT!

Do you find yourself procrastinating?  I do.  Do you find yourself like me when you sometimes get really into a project and walk into another room to put something up and suddenly you are doing something else, or you stop to check your email or Facebook and there you sit an hour later?  I do!   Am I the only one that does that?

This year I have really started with a fresh, new focus.  I am looking at goals.  I have a scripture for the year and a word – SIMPLIFY.  You can read about that here if you like.   https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/my-one-word-2014-simplify/

I am working on simplifying my mind, my home, my body.  I ordered the Made to Crave Journal to keep my progress this year.  I know some days I am going to mess up and blow it, and other days there will be emergencies I need to tend to or a teacher calling needing a sub, my daughter-in-law needing help with the baby, my mother-in-law next door needing something and those are important even if I don’t get the chores done.  I have to be available and sensitive to where He wants to guide me ministering where I need to minister remembering also to take time to fill my soul.

I want to focus on 2014 knowing who is in control of all the intimate details of my life, and as He establishes my steps, I must remain faithful.  I want some simplicity so that when those trials and valleys come I will be prepared, and my house will not suffer or my heart because I’ve neglected them both in a way that is unpleasing to the Father.  We plan our course, but He establishes our steps, and we must be obedient in whatever steps He chooses for our lives and allow Him to guide us.

How about you?  Do you have goals this year?  Do you keep lists or have you thrown them out altogether?  I would like to hear your thoughts.

9 Responses to “To Do or Not To Do!!!”

  1. Dianna January 4, 2014 at 8:59 am #

    you could have read my past few blogs sister! Love the word Simplify – After all, Jesus lived a very simple life didn’t He? And He tells us not to worry about tomorrow – but we seem to oversimplify things at times and other times become so busy looking to simplify that we miss Him in those moments – Great word for the year, and a wonderful reminder to just Abide in Him and let Him direct our steps…Blessings for a wonder filled 2014 sister! ~ Dianna

    Like

  2. Jennifer N January 4, 2014 at 10:34 am #

    I love this Debbie! I am afraid that all too often, I will be found as a Martha…not just any Martha, but a procrastinating Martha. May God continue to speak words of affirmation in both of our searches on simplifying. Love ya!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking January 4, 2014 at 7:47 pm #

      I would call myself procrastinating too Jennifer. Working on that but things take me away constantly.

      Like

  3. Kelly Blackwell January 4, 2014 at 1:36 pm #

    Great post. I love this in the gap study. It is a first for me, but I am really getting so much out of it. I am not really a list maker, but I am changing that to a degree. As I am trying to focus on removing empty calories from my diet, I also want to remove empty activities (like too much tv or internet). I’ve looked up in shock over an hour passing at lightning speed when I’ve been over focused on FB. 🙂 Thanks for sharing today!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking January 4, 2014 at 7:45 pm #

      Thanks for sharing Kelly. So glad you are in the gap this time and thanks for reading.

      Like

  4. Tara P January 4, 2014 at 5:03 pm #

    I am so with you!! 🙂 I keep my menu, grocery list & household things to do lists on my phone, so the phone’s almost always with me. Problem is, I’ll pull it out to update something & find myself sucked into Facebook without even realizing it. I’m a big procrastinator too, which doesn’t help! 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking January 4, 2014 at 7:46 pm #

      Tara I haven’t gotten on the phone yet to do my list. My daughter is encouraging me too. Sounds like you get sucked up like me. I look something up real quick and whammo. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  5. Sue Molitor January 5, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    Great post Debbie! I love how you pointed out we are neither a Mary nor a Martha at times. So true. I need the Lord to help me manage my time and follow His leading on what I should do and when. Thank you for this today! Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

