Uncategorized

Psalm 84:2 Continued

As we finish up on the first week of Made to Crave by Lysa Terkeurst, I am absolutely amazed at how much is in the first three chapters and my first blog was so long just talking about only a few things in the introduction and Chapter 1, that I am now continuing so I’ll have these thoughts to cherish in years to come.  If you have not read this book, DO IT!

Intro and Chapter 1 Aha moments here.  https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/psalm-842/

Chapter 2 Aha moments on replacing cravings!

“Is it possible we love and rely on food more than we love and rely on God”?  If some of us are honest like Lysa we would say yes we do rely on food more than God and we crave food more than God.  Isn’t food one of the things many of us turn to or whatever your craving might be when you feel sad or stressed?

Lysa talked about how God’s chosen people wanted food more than God and they put God to the test.  Are we putting God to the test?  Can you imagine wandering in a “desert” and not being able to have God’s abundant life?  That scares me.  And many of us are wandering with our health – high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes.

“Each time I craved something I knew wasn’t part of my plan, I used that craving as a prompt to pray.  I craved a lot.  So, I found myself praying a lot.”  I really have not found myself praying a lot because of food this week.  For some reason just being a part of all this amazing study has made me content.  I’m content with no snacks except nuts or a small pudding.

blog - MTC Week 1 Cont'd

Chapter 3 Aha!

It’s time to get a plan.  Poor food choices were sabotaging Lysa’s body, her mental energy and even her spirit.  Food had become like a drug.  Does that sound familiar?  It’s time to adopt some kind of plan and make some sacrifices, making healthy choices rather than denying ourselves.  Find a plan that fits you and your family.  Find some time to exercise.  I think I can do that and have been doing it now for over a week.  I have the power – we can be empowered with Him!

6 thoughts on “Psalm 84:2 Continued”

  1. I love the reminder to pray every time we crave something other than God! I shared with someone else that we were recently challenged to do the Daniel Fast through church and the MINUTE I accepted the challenge, I began craving things that I wasn’t allowed to have…things I have never even had an interest in before! Satan is soooooo sly…

    Thank you for the encouragement!

    Like

  2. I REALLY love that wall analogy in Chapter 2. It makes me think about all the “walls” I have thrown up between God and me that will come down this year. I have taken many of them down, but the food cravings are the toughest to battle. I will do as Lysa said and pray each time I think about eating what I know I shouldn’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

