DETERMINATION – Made to Crave Week 2

30 Jan

 Determination was our word of the week in the Made to Crave Bible Study at Proverbs 31.Org.  I had to ponder on that a bit.  DETERMINATION – Merriam-Webster – firm or unwavering adherence to one’s purpose.  One synonym that gave that I especially liked was stick-to-itiveness.

What does that word mean to me and how has it helped me to think about it.  Some of the things that jumped out at me were:

  • Determining that I need to keep up with the study, and by that I mean where we are as a whole on Melissa’s blog, reading the chapters assigned each week, answering the study questions and memorizing and verse mapping the memory verses.
  • Determining to make a plan, and sticking with it and planning everything including all of my snacks and even down to the glasses of water and some exercise each day.
  • Determining that I am worth it, and God expects it, and realizing I was made for more.
  • Determining to turn all my food struggles to Him because He cares about everything in my life.
  • Determining that every single thing that goes into my mouth is a choice and taking the time to stop and think before I eat.

Plan What to Eat -Chapter 3

Lysa challenged us last week in Chapter 3 to create a plan of what to eat.  I’ve determine that is not so hard.  It’s taking a bit of time to do it, but in the long run it is saving me time because I know my plan for each day.  I hope to continue to plan out a menu for the week on the weekends, and stay a week ahead so that I don’t get behind.  Am I there yet, no, but I have lots of ideas and this is doable?  My plan will not look like your plan.

 Seeking Accountability – Chapter 4

This week we have discussed accountability and how it is important for us to have a healthy lifestyle change.

Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed. If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble. Likewise, two people lying close together can keep each other warm. But how can one be warm alone? A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken. ~ Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

I am finding lots of accountability in my OBS Facebook group, with our team leaders and Melissa’s blog each day.  It keeps me on track.  I am stronger because I have the accountability.  I know help is there when I need it in the groups, but I also know that my greatest accountability partner is God.  I can post something in my facebook group about food or exercise and all my study partners are right there with me and we are each cheering each other on.  Tonight I posted I was getting on the treadmill for twenty minutes and I got off and sit down for a moment and told my husband I was going for a shower, and he said I am going to get on the treadmill – now I have another cheerleader in my home.

And here I am blogging about accountability with the world about my cravings, accountability and exercise.   So how badly do I really want to be healthy and crave God instead of food?  Do you find yourself saying “I’ll do it tomorrow”, “just one little snack”?  It’s time to stop and examine some of the reasons I’ve been putting off getting healthy and craving someone much greater than food.

  • Fear – How many times have I lost weight just to gain it back?  Am I afraid to go there now and really admit to God that I can do it this time?
  • Laziness/Tiredness/Time – Really it is hard and expensive to eat healthy and how can I find the time to exercise?  Most people don’t like to exercise.  Find something you like and you will be glad you did.
  • Sin – Craving foods I love that add nothing to my health but actually harm my health.  Food has become my friend, but really it is the enemy.  Do I love food more than God?  Honestly, I must the way I act some days.
  • Procrastination – I can start tomorrow, I can start Monday, I can start after vacation.  I don’t have time! Really, we all have 24 hours a day. I have too much weight to lose?    Well if I don’t get started, there will be more to lose.   I’ll eat with the girls just today, and go back to eating healthy tomorrow.  Does tomorrow really ever come?
  • Demands – My job is stressing me out!  My kids require too much attention!  I have no time for me!
  • Money – I don’t have money for healthy food or a gym membership!  Really the veggie and fruit sections at Aldis and Sprouts have some awesome prices and you don’t need a gym membership.  Put a DVD in an exercise, take a walk, pick up some weights or some canned goods and mo

One of the things that Lysa told us this week on page 41 was to “Think it over.”  Yes I immediately thought about that old Supremes song from my teenage years.  But really as I looked back at all the times that I walk into that kitchen and eat that sweet, sugary or salty snack instead of listening to my conscience or saying a prayer or quoting scripture, how many pounds could I have averted and how many times could I have felt determined instead of defeated.

STOP, THINK IT OVER – RESIST TEMPTATION next time.   Three little words – think it over!

I Was Made for More – Chapter 5 – 

My identity statements required another blog here

https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/identity-statements/

Growing Closer to God – CHAPTER 6

“Being ruled by anything other than God is something God takes quite seriously.  And so should I.”  Lysa TerKeurst,  Page 66 of Made to Crave.

That paragraph hit me smack in the gut.  Does food rule me?  I think so.  I plan meals for gatherings and it has always been a big thing in my family.  Looking back at pictures of my childhood many of them were taken at my grandparents and they always centered around meals.  I love to cook, and I love to eat.

Another thing that hit me during the week as we were asked to share one scripture from the back of the book that spoke to us and my eyes out of all those listed was drawn to the Fruit of the Spirit chapter in Galatians 5:22.

DSC03074

and how does the last one read – “self-control” or in some translations “temperance”?

DSC03076 DSC03075 DSC03077How many times have I read that over the years and walked past it in my house because I have a huge plaque with the fruit of the spirit and this one has gone unnoticed perhaps because I spend so much time dwelling on love, joy, peace – but self-control/temperance – NOT?   Have I used self-control in my food choices – mostly no.  It’s not easy to be self-controlled when you have lived a life uncontrolled.  It isn’t easy allowing the Holy Spirit to direct me to correct food choices, when I have allowed undiscipline in my life.  The fruit of the Spirit should be fully alive in me, and I should be more fruitful as I make God choices!

This chapter spoke to me and had much to say about getting closer to our Lord.  I want that, don’t you?  She told us how to do it –  “By making the choice to deny ourselves something that is permissible but not beneficial.” (page 61).  I put that in terms of food, but for you it could be anything you crave more than Him – shopping, exercise, reading, games, alcohol, drugs……..

So how about you?  Are you ready like me to truly know you were made for MORE?  More than feeling beat up when you fail, when you eat that piece of cheesecake, more than finding your worth on a scale looking at numbers you don’t want to identify with, more than being stuck in those snacking habits and poor food choices, more than excuses, more than vicious cycles of being ruled by food, more than laziness of not exercising, MORE of Him and less of you – we were made for MORE!!!!

   

 


4 Responses to “DETERMINATION – Made to Crave Week 2”

  1. Silver Highlights: It's All About Perspective January 30, 2014 at 10:18 am #

    Amazing accountability in this “GROUP!” Great takeaways from the chapters 🙂 Love and Prayers!

    Like

  2. hizstelar January 30, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

    Thank you for sharing.
    Stela – OBS Small Group Leader

    Like

  3. angiepettijohn January 30, 2014 at 3:56 pm #

    Thank you Debbie for your perspective on Determination. I don’t always look at the areas of determining the way you listed, I just expect it to happen. A great eye-opener that I have to make a conscience effort to do those things. They DON’T come natural!

    Like

  4. GiGiMandy January 31, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

    I love your comment that we like to dwell on the Love Joy Peace part of the fruits of the spirit but what about self-control. Ouch! We all need to work on that one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

