Permissible but not Beneficial

20 Feb

picmonkey-image-66

That verse just keeps coming up in our study of Made To Crave.  Actually the verse in the NIV version was the one they used in our study.  I wrote it on a box of girl scout cookies several weeks back and yes that worked.  I never ate another and it looks like they are gone from the pantry so I’m thinking I either need to toss the unhealthy things or write on all of them.

cookies1

What does this verse really mean?  To me I am learning that food is not my enemy.  It is wrong to eat to much, it is wrong not to eat enough.  It is my self-control and my attitude about food that is sinful.  It’s about discovering that my Lord is all I really need.  It is about planning to succeed and not to fail by making menus and healthy choices.  It’s about finding the time  and putting aside all my busyness and stopping to think about my thoughts and my actions toward food. It’s about being disciplined and a lifestyle change.  It is about not over indulging and gluttony.  There is nothing wrong with good food but those non-disciplined desires are what is wrong.

8 Responses to “Permissible but not Beneficial”

  1. Kaydi Shaw February 20, 2014 at 7:22 am #

    I love this Debbie. I find I am saying to myself, “I know this is permissible, but is it beneficial?”.

    Like

  2. Stephanie Solberg February 20, 2014 at 9:28 am #

    So true. Food is not our enemy although at times it feels like it is! I love the idea of writing that verse on permissible but not beneficial food!

    Like

  3. Katrina V. Wylie February 20, 2014 at 4:27 pm #

    Amen Debbie & I LOVE that you wrote on the cookie box! What a spectacular idea!!

    Like

  4. Jenn Cook February 20, 2014 at 6:14 pm #

    “It is about planning to succeed…” YES! So often we forget that planning can sometimes save us that moment of temptation because we have planned our way around it, through it, or to eliminate it altogether. Thank you for sharing! Check out my #beneficial post at: http://www.groundswellministries.org/2014/02/19/on-that-which-is-beneficial/

    Like

  5. crippledmamahome February 20, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

    Love this too. My daughter’s a Girl Scout and we have been bombarded by cookies. It’s been a true test by God.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 23, 2014 at 12:05 am #

      Amen to that! I can’t control myself normally but I did this year. Ate one cookie. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  6. Darla Isaacs Gallew February 22, 2014 at 10:34 am #

    I love the idea of writing permissible but not beneficial on the box.

    Like

Leave a Reply

