Lamentations 3:22-24

20 Feb


PicMonkey Image-82.jpg

I love our reflection verse this week in the Made To Crave study.  Don’t you?

Because of the Lord’s great love – Just because of His great love what does that speak to you?  For me it means that He died because of His great love for us.  For me He covers me with His wings of love and shelters me when I am hurting.  Because of His great love I can face today and I can face tomorrow no matter how much my heart is hurting.  Because of His great love I am motivated to become more like Him and love and help others.    I believe the more that I understand how He loves me, the more I will be able to love others in a similar way.  The greatest and the first commandment was to love God with all our heart, all our mind and all our strength.  The second commandment was also about love – “Love your neighbor as yourself.”

I love, love this song that talks about God’s love for us.  Oh how He loves you and me!

we are not consumed – Are you consumed some days with life?  Are you consumed by guilt, food, temptation, depression, unforgiveness?  Honestly I do struggle at times especially with food, but I don’t have to be consumed or destroyed.  In those overwhelming, deep heartaches or temptations, we can only turn to the One who will walk me through it – my Savior who is there to love and comfort and carry us through those.  Sometimes I just have to stop and say, “God, I know your plan is perfect.”  Sometimes I quote one of my favorite verses – “In everything give thanks.” 1 Thessolonians 5:18.   It is His  priceless, unfailing love that gives me hope each and every day.  DSC02210

his compassions:  God’s compassion is so overwhelming.  These last two weeks we have had a very sick dog.  I find myself trying everything to get him to eat including boiling chicken and making rice with some broth.  I cannot imagine if I am this compassionate to a dog, how compassionate the Father must feel towards me.  Ps. 103:18 says that  “The LORD is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in lovingkindness.  “Just as a father has compassion on his children, so the LORD has compassion on those who fear Him.”  Jesus was moved with compassion When Jesus saw His friends weeping at the grave of Lazarus, He felt compassion for them and wept alongside them John 11:33-35.  

never fail:  He never fails.  Hebrews 13:5 says “I will never leave thee, not forsake thee.”  and Joshua 1:5  “I will be with thee: I will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.” 

Fresh each and every morning are the mercies of our God.  Do you savor them?  Do you see these beautiful gifts of mercy from God, or do you go through each day wondering if you can endure tomorrow and go to bed exhausted and stressed, and even sometimes find you can’t sleep as you lay there worrying?  I have to admit I’ve been there many times.  But His tender mercies of forgiveness, tenderness, kindness, love and blessing after blessing are fresh each morning if we are available.

great is your faithfulness:   He is loyal and He’s always there every moment and this song says it all.

The Lord is my portion.  When I think about that I remember a similar verse in  “The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup.” Psalm 16:5.  When there is a hole in my heart He reminds me He is my portion.  When I’m missing my mom and dad I’m reminded He is my portion.  When I face trials and hardships, I need to look like Jeremiah did and find the light simply by humbling myself and being in His presence.

This spoke to me as I thought about how often I don’t let Him be my portion – how often I don’t let Him fill me up – how often I am consumed with fear – how often He is not ENOUGH!

Blog - Psalm 16.5

God is our portion TODAY!  He is my portion at every stage of my life.  Jesus is all we need.  He meets all my needs.  He is MORE than enough!

therefore – for that reason, consequently

I will wait for Him – we are told over and over in scripture to wait on Him.  Why is this so difficult?  In today’s hectic society, we don’t want to wait.  We need to trust and be confident that He is at work in our lives and find peace while waiting for Him to bless us.

 


 

 

 
 

7 Responses to “Lamentations 3:22-24”

  1. Krista February 21, 2014 at 1:34 pm #

    Thank you so much for this today. It was exactly what I needed to hear.

    Like

  2. Trish Cordell February 21, 2014 at 2:42 pm #

    First off, I sure hope your pupper dawg feels better soon!! I hate when my Gabby gurl is sick. I love, love, love the way you broke down our verse and I adore the song by Selah. We are so loved by our Father and you reminded just how much in the break down of your words!! Amen and Amen….great is His Faithfulness and yes, I too will wait for Him. Preach on sister!!

    Trish (P31 OBS Blog Hop Team)

    Like

  3. passagethroughgrace February 21, 2014 at 10:28 pm #

    So glad I stopped by today! Your pictures illustrate so beautifully the words of Lamentations! The verse provides hope because God allows us a “do over” every morning! Thank you for sharing. Mary

    Like

  4. jlcrowe February 24, 2014 at 10:17 pm #

    Great essay. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Janine

    Like

Leave a Reply

