Courageous

27 Feb

Blog-Courageous

Our hashtag this week in our Made to Crave study is courageous so I set out to study that word.  I’m learning when it comes to food, well I am a bit weakhearted and not gutsy, and definitely not self-disciplined on most days.  Our first chapter this week was  “Why Diets Don’t Work”.  We all want to take those extra pounds off TODAY, and that just is not possible.  How long did it take us to put them on?  I know that and I don’t want to diet and I refuse to, but what I am noticing is that I don’t have a plan.  Lysa TerKeurst said, “I’m not on a diet, I’m on a journey with Jesus”  and “I’m on a journey with Jesus to learn the fine art of self-discipline for the purpose of holiness.” Powerful words.  She suggests we be prepared, have a plan and to plan while we have a full stomach, and that we need to decide what we will and will not eat because that is crucial.  Some weeks I plan, and some I don’t so that’s the first step I have to accomplish on this journey.

So just how do we change those habits, those sins that we have lived with for years?  How do we make it a life-long journey for the future, instead of a temporary one that will fail tomorrow?  One quote that pricked my heart was from 1 Cor 10:14, “my dear friends, flee from idolatry.”  Does this point a finger right back at you?
Some other things that Lysa shared that spoke to me in Chapter 16 were:

“I’m on a journey with Jesus to learn the fine art of self-discipline for the purpose of holiness.” pg 158

“We aren’t to flee food.  But we are to flee the control that food can have on our lives.” pg 159
“If we are willing to obey.”
“God wants us to step back and let the emptying process have its way until we start desiring a holier approach to life. The gap between our frail discipline and God’s available strength is bridged with nothing but a simple choice on our part to pursue this holiness.”

So what have I gleaned about that word COURAGE this week.  I am a courageous woman of God.  My courage is infused by Jesus. and I need to trust Him daily for my strength to make the right choices.   Relying on God’s strength each day will help me  make courageous choices,  and I will continue daily to make them again and again and again and eventually it will become a habit.  It is going to take courage to change – it’s a journey of change one step at a time.

We learned a few weeks back that everything is permissible but not beneficial.  I wrote that on a Girl Scout cookies box – it worked I never ate another one.
Watching the video this week brought tears to me as I listened to Lysa’s prayer and how she shared that she would never have discovered all of God’s beautiful truths had she not had a problem with food.  She thanked God for allowing her to have a food issue.   So how about you?  Are you ready to THANK God for allowing you to have that addiction?  It’s time to turn it around, time to let go, time to say “Satan get thee behind me”, and time to let God direct you to eat in a way that honors Him.  It’s time to live holy, it’s time to holy in our eating.
Americans are overfed and over-indulged so how do we learn self-discipline.  It’s making one wise choice after another day after day.  It’s about becoming a habit.  They say you can break old habits after twenty-one days so I am going to start counting down.  Those old habits can be broken.  It’s about wise choices and honoring God in those choices.  It’s about letting Him be our portion instead of food and other things.  Every choice that we make of what to eat or not, what to drink or not to drink, what to watch or not to watch, will I exercise or will I not exercise, will I spend money or save money is a choice.  It should all be based on our absolute dependence on God.
I made some cards to remind me these next 21 days.
Cards - Choices 1 Cards - Choices 2 Cards - Choices 3a cards - choices 4 final
I WILL NOT be consumed by food.  I CAN, I WILL, I AM COURAGEOUS!
 
 
14 Responses to “Courageous”

  1. gena (Group 50) February 27, 2014 at 6:43 am #

    I loved what you wrote on the girl scout cookies and your 21 days of helpful hints! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  2. Tonya Conner McCoy ~ P31 OBS Group Leader February 27, 2014 at 7:33 am #

    I love those cards you made & what a great idea! Lysa calling this a journey with Jesus has been one of my favorite take aways from this book. Makes this journey so much easier. Idolatry…..wow! Before this study I’d never thought of my food issues as idolatry but that is exactly what it is. Then I think I would never allow myself to be caught up in adultery because I know it is wrong but here I am caught up in idolatry almost daily when it comes to food. That has changed my perspective quite a bit on how I view food. I’m for sure going to print that pic Katrina gave you & hang it in my kitchen. I’m also going to share it with my small group!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 27, 2014 at 7:59 am #

      Mine too Tonya! This hit me hard. Am I there yet – NO! I have lots to do to fix this but realize I’ve been doing it alone all these years. Hugs sweet sister.

      Like

  3. janm77 February 27, 2014 at 9:27 am #

    can we print these out? they are wonderful.

    Like

  4. yadilamphere February 27, 2014 at 9:47 am #

    Yes, that was a wonderful idea: writing that on the cookies. I should do that too, because I have a very hard time with cookies, or any kind of baked goods for that matter… Your words were very encouraging and inspiring. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Daphne Fitzpatrick February 27, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

    Your ideas and cards are awesome. Keep it up, prayers and support to your journey, Jesus Girl!

    Like

  6. Miriam Lind February 27, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

    I love your card idea!!! Might have to steal that idea…especially for lent! God bless ~ Miriam

    Like

  7. Morgan February 27, 2014 at 9:46 pm #

    Thanks for writing what you did and sharing the cards! Great idea. I’m thankful for you reminding me of what Lysa wrote, how she thanked God for her issue with food, that it brought her closer to the Lord. So true! The Lord has shown me time and time again how in my weakness, He shows himself and uses it for me to grow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

