Uncategorized

Living So That – Chapter 1 Bible Verses

I saw someone inquire if there was a place all the wonderful Bible verses that Wendy Blight used in Living So That were in one place, or if she knew of one and she didn’t, so I set out to write them down.  There are so many I am breaking this blog down into chapters.  It’s been an awesome Bible Study, and so many beautiful verses to cling to for the future.

MEMORY VERSE -WEEK 1

john 316

 INTRODUCTION SCRIPTURES

“so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”  Isaiah 55:11 (NIV)

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5 (NIV)

PART 1 SCRIPTURES

“When I discovered Your words, I ate them up: they were my great joy and my heart’s delight.  I am Yours, and I hear the name of the Eternal God.  Jeremiah 15:16

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.  Hebrews 4:12 (NIV)

Gather, children, to hear your father’s instruction.     Pay close attention so you will understand. Proverbs 4:1 

PART 2 SCRIPTURES

When the law came into the picture, sin grew and grew; but wherever sin grew and spread, God’s grace was there in fuller, greater measure. No matter how much sin crept in, there was always more grace.  In the same way that sin reigned in the sphere of death, now grace reigns through God’s restorative justice, eclipsing death and leading to eternal life through the Anointed One, Jesus our Lord, the Liberating King.  Romans 5:20-21 (NIV)

Moses was there with the Lord forty days and forty nights without eating bread or drinking water.And he wrote on the tablets the words of the covenant—the Ten Commandments.  Exodus 34:28 (NIV)

“So what is the story?  Is the law itself sin?  Absolutely not.  It is the exact opposite.  I would never have known what sin is if it were not for the law.  For example, I would not have known that desiring something to my neighbor is sin if the law had not said, “You are not to covet.””    Romans 7:7

But sin, seizing the opportunity afforded by the commandment, produced in me every kind of coveting. For apart from the law, sin was dead.  Romans 7:8 (NIV)

Therefore, now no condemnation awaits those who are living in Jesus the Anointed, the Liberating King, because when you live in the Anointed One, Jesus, a new law takes effect. The law of the Spirit of life breathes into you and liberates you from the law of sin and death.  Romans 8:1-2

For all who rely on the works of the law are under a curse, as it is written: “Cursed is everyone who does not continue to do everything written in the Book of the Law.” Clearly no one who relies on the law is justified before God, because “the righteous will live by faith.” The law is not based on faith; on the contrary, it says, “The person who does these things will live by them.” Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a pole.” He redeemed us in order that the blessing given to Abraham might come to the Gentiles through Christ Jesus, so that by faith we might receive the promise of the Spirit.  Galatians 3:10-14 (NIV)

Before the coming of this faith, we were held in custody under the law, locked up until the faith that was to come would be revealed. So the law was our guardian until Christ came that we might be justified by faith. Now that this faith has come, we are no longer under a guardian.  Galatians 3:23-35 (NIV)

 

If someone guilty of a capital offense is put to death and their body is exposed on a pole, you must not leave the body hanging on the pole overnight. Be sure to bury it that same day, because anyone who is hung on a pole is under God’s curse. You must not desecrate the land the LORD your God is giving you as an inheritance.  Deuteronomy 21:22-23 (NIV)

Moreover the law entered that the offense might abound. But where sin abounded, grace abounded much more, (so) that as sin reigned in death, even so grace might reign through righteousness to eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.  Romans 5:20-21 (NKJV emphasis added)

So, my brothers and sisters, you also died to the law through the body of Christ,  (so)that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit for God. For when we were in the realm of the flesh, the sinful passions aroused by the law were at work in us, so that we bore fruit for death. But now, by dying to what once bound us, we have been released from the law (so) that we serve in the new way of the Spirit, and not in the old way of the written code. Romans 7:4-6 (NIV emphasis added)

Did that which is good, then, become death to me? By no means! Nevertheless, in order that sin might be recognized as sin, it used what is good to bring about my death, so that through the commandment sin might become utterly sinful.  Romans 7:13 (NIV)

Before the coming of this faith, we were held in custody under the law, locked up until the faith that was to come would be revealed. So the law was our guardian until Christ came (so) that we might be justified by faith.  Galatians 3:23-24 (NIV; emphasis added)

PART 3 SCRIPTURES

Therefore, we were buried with Him through this baptism into death so that just as God the Father, in all His glory, resurrected the Anointed One, we, too, might walk confidently out of the grave into a new life.  (Romans 6:4 Bold emphasis added)

Blessed is God, the Father of our Lord Jesus, the Annointed One!  Because He has raised Jesus the Anointed from death, through His great mercy we have been reborn into a living hope-reborn for an eternal inheritance, held in reserve in heaven, that will never fade or fail. 1 Peter 1:3-4

For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God. 20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:19-20

John 11:1-44 – The Death of Lazarus

For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin— because anyone who has died has been set free from sin.  Romans 6:6-7 (NIV, emphasis added)

Therefore, just as sin entered the world through one man, and death through sin, and in this way death came to all people, because all sinned.  Romans 5:12

Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body so that you obey its evil desires.  Do not offer any part of yourself to sin as an instrument of wickedness, but rather offer yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life; and offer every part of yourself to him as an instrument of righteousness.  For sin shall no longer be your master, because you are not under the law, but under grace.  Romans 6:12-14 (NIV, emphasis added)

So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.  For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other, so that you are not to do whatever you want.  Galatians 5:16-17 (NIV, emphasis added)

  Romans 129-21

 PART 4 SCRIPTURES

But then something happened:  God our Saqvior and His overpowering love and kindness for humankind entered our world; He came to save us.  It’s not that we earned it by doing good works or righteous deeds; He came because He is merciful.  He brought us out of our old ways of living to a new beginning through the washing of regeneration; and He made us completely new through the Holy Spirit, who was poured out in abundance through Jesus the Anointed, our Savior.  All of this happened so that through His grace we would be accepted into God’s covenant family and appointed to be His heirs, full of the hope that comes from  knowing you have eternal life.  This is a faithful statement of what we believe. Concerning this, I want you to put it out there boldly so that those who believe in God will be constant in doing the right things, which will benefit all of us. Titus 3:4-8 bold emphasis added

I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.  And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.  Ezekiel 36:26-27 (NIV)

Therefore, now no condemnation awaits those who are living in Jesus the Anointed, the Liberating King, because when you live in the Anointed One, Jesus, a new law takes effect.  The law of the Spirit of life breathes into you and liberates you from the law of sin and death.  God did something the law could never do.  You see, human flesh took its toll on God’s law.  In and of itself, the law is not weak, but the flesh weakens it.  So to condemn the sin that was ruling in the flesh,  God sent His own Son, bearing the likeness of sinful flesh, as a sin offering.  Romans 8:1-3

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.  Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.  For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.  Romans 12:1-3 ( NIV)

Speak to the entire assembly of Israel and say to them: ‘Be holy because I, the Lord your God, am holy.  Leviticus 19:2 (NIV)

Here are a couple of bookmarks to print out on photo paper or card stock with Phil. 4:13.  When you copy and paste just resize to the size you want:

bookmark - phil 413

You were once at odds with God, wicked in your ways and evil in your minds; but now He has reconciled you in His body-in His flesh through His death-so that He can present you to God holy, blameless, and totally free of imperfection as long as you stay planted in the faith.  Colossians 1:21-23 ( bold emphasis added)

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.  Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.  Romans 21:1-2 (NIV)

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.  2 Corinthians 10:5 (NIV)

eph 4.29

If you have heard Jesus and have been taught by Him according to the truth that is in Him, then you know to take off your former way of life, your crumpled old self-that dark blot of a soul corrupted by deceitful desire and lust – to take a fresh breath and to let God renew your attitude and spirit.  Then you are ready to put on your new self, modeled after the very likeness of God; truthful, righteous, and holy.  So put way your lies and speak the truth to one another because we are all part of one another.  Whey you are angry don’t let it carry you into sin.  Don’t let the son set with anger in your heart or give the devil room to work.  If you have been stealing, stop.  Thieves must go to work like everyone else and work honestly with their hands so that they can share with anyone who has a need.  Don’t let even one rotten word seep out of your mouths.  Instead, offer only fresh words that build others up when they need it most.  That way your good words will communicate grace to those who hear them.  Ephesians 4:21-29 (Bold emphasis added)

PART 5 SCRIPTURES

After Jesus said this, he looked toward heaven and prayed:

“Father, the hour has come. Glorify your Son,  so that your Son may glorify you.  For you granted him authority over all people so that he might give eternal life to all those you have given him.  John 17:1-2 (NIV, emphasis added)

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.  John 16:33 (NIV)

JOHN 17

After Jesus said this, he looked toward heaven and prayed:

“Father, the hour has come. Glorify your Son, that your Son may glorify you. For you granted him authority over all people that he might give eternal life to all those you have given him. Now this is eternal life: that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent. I have brought you glory on earth by finishing the work you gave me to do. And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.

Jesus Prays for His Disciples

“I have revealed you[a] to those whom you gave me out of the world. They were yours; you gave them to me and they have obeyed your word. Now they know that everything you have given me comes from you. For I gave them the words you gave me and they accepted them. They knew with certainty that I came from you, and they believed that you sent me. I pray for them. I am not praying for the world, but for those you have given me, for they are yours. 10 All I have is yours, and all you have is mine. And glory has come to me through them. 11 I will remain in the world no longer, but they are still in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, protect them by the power of[b] your name, the name you gave me, so that they may be one as we are one. 12 While I was with them, I protected them and kept them safe by[c] that name you gave me. None has been lost except the one doomed to destruction so that Scripture would be fulfilled.

13 “I am coming to you now, but I say these things while I am still in the world, so that they may have the full measure of my joy within them. 14 I have given them your word and the world has hated them, for they are not of the world any more than I am of the world. 15 My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. 17 Sanctify them by[d] the truth; your word is truth. 18 As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world. 19 For them I sanctify myself, that they too may be truly sanctified.

Jesus Prays for All Believers

20 “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22 I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one— 23 I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved themeven as you have loved me.

24 “Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.

25 “Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. 26 I have made you[e] known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.  John 8:44 NIV

When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, “They have no more wine.”  “Woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied. “My hour has not yet come.”  John 2:3-4 NIV

…….and I will bring You great glory because You have given Me total authority over humanity.  I have come bearing the plentiful gifts of God, and all who receive Me will experience everlasting life, a new intimate relationship with You (the one True God) and Jesus the Anointed(the One You hae sent).  I have glorified You on earth and fulfilled the mission You set before Me.  John 17:1-4 (The Voice)

All things have been committed to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.  Matthew 11:27 (NIV)

matthew 1128

Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ.  Romans 10:17 (NIV)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

