Uncategorized

Memorial Day – What It Means to Me

Flag-Psalm 3312

Memorial Day – what is it?  It’s not just a holiday, not just a nice, long three day weekend, not just cookouts, but it is a time to honor those who have served to keep our country free, those who served so that I personally can worship on Sundays with freedom.  It is a day we visit cemeteries, hold parades and visit with family.  It is a day that is celebrated the last Monday in May each year. flag with 2 Chron 714

Memorial Day originated after the Civil War to commemorate both Union and Confederate soldiers who died in the war.  Today it honors all men and women who have died while in the military.

For many of you and maybe all of you, as I research my family tree I see my ancestors fought on both sides.  I see where several of my great, great grandfather’s fought and even one who died while fighting on the Confederate side leaving behind several children.   I see others fighting for the Union side – how tragic a nation fighting one another and seeing that both mine and my husband’s families supported both sides and fought against each other.

Today is a day for me to honor not only my loved ones who paid the ultimate sacrifice, but all men and women who have fought for the freedoms I cherish – not only the dead, but the living and all who are serving today and in the past.

Today is a chance to honor my father who left home at a very young age during World War II to fight in the Korean conflict.  It is a day to honor my great, great grandfather who gave all during the civil war losing his life and leaving a wife with three small children.  Some gave all and all gave some.  Thankful for a day to remember!

 Dad and Moms Grave

Leave a Reply

