Limitless Life – Week 2 – God’s Masterpiece – You and Me!

5 Jun

Blog - Ephesians 2.10

From Mess to Masterpiece!  What a title for Chapter 3 this week of Limitless Life by Derwin L. Gray.  What does masterpiece make you think of?  For me I can picture  a beautiful Michalangelo painting.

What does mess to masterpiece mean to you?   I can think of so many things – a mess in the kitchen during the holidays resulting in a beautiful meal and my family and friends enjoying it, me standing in front of a mirror looking at gray hairs  (ugh!) and then going for a hair color, me looking in a mirror and wondering does this make me look fatter, six miscarriages eventually resulting in a precious son and daughter, a shy girl in school turning into a teacher in the public schools and a leader in the world’s largest on-line Bible studies (Proverbs 31.Org), a grandson born with a horrible skin disease and God healing him, and the list just goes on and on.  The next time you are staring in that mirror, stop and stare and see what God sees.  He is the one that should be validating our beauty.

The Greek word for “masterpiece” is “poiema.” The word “poem” comes from this.  Isn’t that beautiful?  God is saying, “You are my “poem”.  I am His “poem”.  I am His masterpiece. You are His masterpiece.  You are not what others say about you, but rather what God says and what He has done. Elohim, the Creator God makes no mistakes.  We are not a mistake, we are not average, we are not ordinary, we are beautiful masterpieces.  We were created in His image.  We were not created to be like everyone else, and we sure were not created to compare ourselves with others or want to be others.  He created us with strength to carry us through the pains and heartaches of life. He gave us wisdom to make Godly decisions.  He created us in his image and likeness.

The Bible teaches us that God is as an Artist, Creator, and Master Craftsman.  Look at the first five words of the Bible in Genesis.  It says “In the beginning, God created”.  Man, God’s image bearer was His most beautiful, marvelous artwork.

God takes our broken pieces, the valleys and messes of our lives and molds them into a masterpiece only he could create, showing us his grace, his strength, his miracles and lessons during the transformation.   In his book, Derwin L. Gray provides us keys to becoming a masterpiece:

  • Understand We Live in a Messy World – “The Jesus Story is our navigational framework by which we interpret life, similar to a spiritual GPS.”  His story should be our mission. We are a work of “art, which made all creation stand in awe, his image bearer.”  “God sees all history in one eternal glance.  The past, present, and future are one simultaneous moment to God.”  There are no surprises.
  • Know That God Is Never Far from Us – “Before time ever began, God knew when and where every human would live and die.”
  • Throw a Party in the Pit – “God uses these low places to get us to surrender to Him.  He transforms us in these depths when we are rendered powerless.  In the pit, Joseph learned humility.  He also learned how to love and forgive.”  In prison, Joseph learned wisdom and patience.”  “Throw a party in the pit, because God is preparing to unleash His limitless life in and through you!
  • Turn Tragedies into Triumphs – “I was a sponge.  Everything I read I shared with anyone who would listen.

Derwin Gray also shared three gospel truths that can anchor our souls in the storms of life:

  1. Suffering accelerates spiritual maturity – Our life challenges test us, and either we wallow in self-pity or we allow them to widen our perspective.”
  2. Our disappointments are appointments – What we see as unfair, as God letting us down, as a devastating detour, God sees as a a path of correction, as the necessary steps to getting us where He needs us to be.
  3. God is more concerned with character than comfort – God often moves us out of our comfort zones so He can shape us into the people He intends us to be.”

Look in your mirror and truly see what God sees.  He created you in a beautiful, marvelous and unique way.  While you are looking in that mirror thank Him.

God created a masterpiece through our messy lives.  James had this to say: Blog - James 1.2-4 ESV
God has made us perfect and complete and we lack nothing.  Our problem is we don’t believe it.
Blog-Psalm 139.14-16
Blog - Masterpiece

I saw this song posted in one of our groups this week by Becky Kneller.  Had never seen it before.  I hope you’ll take the time to watch it.   You will see many old, beautiful barns.

9 Responses to “Limitless Life – Week 2 – God’s Masterpiece – You and Me!”

  1. sabrinaebert June 5, 2014 at 8:53 am #

    I loved the post and that we are His poems 🙂

    Love the video at the end as well…and was busy singing the sing I sang as a youth and often remember my mum singing….

    On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross,
    The emblem of suff’ring and shame;
    And I love that old cross where the dearest and best
    For a world of lost sinners was slain.
    So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
    Till my trophies at last I lay down;
    I will cling to the old rugged cross,
    And exchange it some day for a crown.

    Thank you…brought back sweet memories!

    Like

  2. Daily Bliss June 5, 2014 at 9:26 am #

    First – I found another fellow scrapbook lover. I use to make kits a long time ago. But anyway, wanted to come in and say thank you for your post. This book is great! I am happy to be making a connection over the computer and sharing our stories. 🙂

    Like

  3. Kim Labar June 5, 2014 at 9:40 am #

    Debbie I loved this!!!! You broke the keys and chapter down so perfectly!! And you used images of 2 of my favorite scriptures!!! Plus, I loved the barn video!! My hubby loves old barns because “they tell a story”–I’ll have to share it with him!! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

  4. Daily Bliss June 5, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

    I realized my link for my site was wrong. lol

    Like

  5. Shandra June 5, 2014 at 8:06 pm #

    This is Lovely. I’ not in the Blog hop/book study at the moment but do love to hop around around and read the nuggets. Thanks you.

    Like

  6. Elizabeth June 6, 2014 at 1:07 am #

    Oh, I love knowing the Greek for “masterpiece” translates into “poem.” This makes more sense to think of myself as a poem instead of a painting, because poems are written word by word and line by line. The poem God is writing through my life is – some days – written letter by letter! Each space, each comma, each specific word the Poet chooses carries weight, value, and meaning. Not one is out of place! God is handwriting the poetry of our lives.
    Thanks for helping me see Ephesians 2:10 in a different light!

    Like

Leave a Reply

