prayer walk

Prayer Walk

pw-4
A beautiful drive from my house just a few miles down the road to where my son, his wife, and my grandson live.  I love this drive anytime of the year and I REALLY love where it leads.

These shoes are made for walking and that’s just what they are gonna do – walking for Jesus, walking for my community, and prayer driving for our farmers and for our schools.

tennis-shoes

I am in an amazing Bible Study called Limitless Life by Derwin L. Gray at Proverbs 31.Org.  Derwin talked about prayer walks this week and I thought it is time to do one.  It’s been a very long year since I have, but this week I have done prayer walks each morning including a car drive down the road by the school I sub in, by several fields to pray for the farmers,  and I also did a hotel walk as my daughter and I traveled this week, and a home walk this morning around the perimeters of my house.

Prayer walks are about praying God’s blessings on our neighborhoods, homes, businesses, schools or wherever you feel God leading you.  Prayer walks are invigorating.  They are good exercise.  They help squelch anxiety/depression, and give you a connection with your Father in Heaven.   Here are some highlights of my walks this week:

PRAYING GOD’S BLESSINGS OVER MY HOME

First things first – walking the perimeter of my home and later the perimeter of our horse pasture.  Here are some of my thoughts and pictures:

As I walked around the perimeter of my home, I prayed for God’s hedge of protection from danger and evil, and asked Him to shield and protect this property and us and every single person that ever visits it.  I also prayed for my family.  I thanked God for this beautiful place to live, and all the precious memories of our children growing up, and the memories we are making  even now with our grandson and adult children.
front-porch1
As I entered back into the house, I asked God to lead me and bless each and every room and square foot in this house.  In our mud room I prayed for every guest that will walk through that door and the front door, and I asked God that they feel His presence when they do.  Next, in the kitchen where we join with family and friends as one of the most joyous rooms in our home, I prayed that as we enjoy meals or snacks together that our family will bond and be strengthened with the love of Jesus.  I then proceeded to our two dens asking that our love grow with all that come into these rooms and then the bathrooms – yep that’s where the men go to read a magazine or whatever, so I prayed for every single person that ever steps foot in those areas that they will feel God’s peace, and then the office as folks come in and use the computer or play the piano that they will find time to praise Jesus in music or while they are surfing – may it all be to His glory, and lastly the bedrooms where we sleep may we find rest on our pillows from a hard days work or from trials we are experiencing, and peace and the time to pray and sit at His feet.  I prayed for laughter, joy, rest, peace, kindness and Jesus in this home.  I asked God to place angels at all our doors and windows, and that nothing evil will ever enter our home.

 But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” Joshua 24:15b (KJV)

For I will pour water upon him that is thirsty, and floods upon the dry ground: I will pour my spirit upon thy seed, and my blessing upon thine offspring:                         Isaiah 44:3 (KJV)

And later the horse pasture with the horses now gone and a beautiful pasture of flowers showing off God’s beauty.

pw12

PicMonkey Image-124.jpg

PRAYING GOD’S BLESSINGS ON THE NEIGHBORHOOD

After that I walked my neighborhood and prayed over every home I passed that God would intervene in each person’s life and that He would manifest His presence.  I also prayed specific prayers as I saw different things in their yards – horses, flags, toys, bicycles, swings, gardens, etc..   Coming back by the homes the second time, I turned on KLOVE and as the music brought beautiful Godly words, I would pray some of those verses over the homes.  Here are a few things I enjoyed on my walk.

horsea

horseb.jpg
horse crossing

wagon wheel - our street bench fig leavesPW 3 Bob's Cactus  My neighbor’s cactus!

Fig tree!!!!!
flowers prayer walk

PRAYING GOD’S BLESSINGS WITH FRIENDS ALL OVER THE WORLD

Later in the day I joined with my Bible Study Group of Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies facebook group – virtually – we all got together to pray for our families, each other, ourselves and all of OBS.  What a powerful time for me as I was honored to pray forthese precious, precious ladies as I kneeled by my sofa and prayed.

  P31

PRAYING GOD’S BLESSINGS OVER OUR SCHOOLS

I drove down to the school where I substitute teach.  Yes, school is out but that is ok.  I am getting an early start.  I prayed for every teacher and staff member all the way down to our precious janitorial staff and every area in that school – the gyms, the tracks, the bathroom, the classes, the tennis field, the driveways where the teachers park and the children get out each morning.

walnut grove
Pray for ALL of America’s Schools that God will reside in each of them!

2 Timothy 3:16

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.

Titus 2:7
In everything set them an example by doing what is good.In your teaching show integrity, seriousness and soundness of speech that cannot be condemned, so that those who oppose you may be ashamed because they have nothing bad to say about us.

PRAYING GOD’S BLESSINGS OVER FARMERS AND RANCHERS

After I left the school, I drove down the road just a bit to several fields – one corn and the other sunflowers and stopped to shoot pictures and pray not only for these two farmers but farmers all over the USA.  May God bless each one with good crops and their homes be filled with love for Him.??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????Ecclesiastes 3.1-2

So how about you?  Have you been on a prayer walk this week?

 

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Prayer Walk”

  1. I love your blog, so inspiring, thanks for sharing the details, so meaningful.
    A question you mention you joined the OBS prayer group and prayed for families. Where on FB do we join a group? I also note there are different groups in OBS?

    Like

    1. Jeanine you join the groups by going to https://www.facebook.com/proverbs.thirtyone.718?fref=ts. Click on that and the first post you see has a registration form for the small groups. Our groups are closing for a few weeks for a break, but they will be back up in a month or so. Here is where the form will be when it opens back up. https://docs.google.com/forms/d/19uRrKvIb11mgnMDlxy7NRi-5NuwSSFZh1hL1DuClf90/closedform. Go over and friend the OBS page so you can keep up with developments. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. So beautiful….thanks for the pictures too, a lovely insight as to where you were…its was like I was there too. 🙂 I’m on bed rest, 7 days till my baby arrives via a scheduled c-cut! However, I am highly motivated after this post to do a prayer walk! I want to be outdoors as much as possible, on long walks, baby slung close to me and it to be purposeful…prayer walking is awesome! Bless you and love reading your posts as always!

    Like

    1. Ooops Sabrina – I had two of those cuts and I had bed rest once but my daughter was taken 9 weeks early from high blood pressure. I love prayer walks and really haven’t done one in a year. I am going to continue doing them – I am out in the country so there are lots of roads to cover. Blessings to you and that precious little one. Hugs. Debbie

      Like

  3. This was a very encouraging prayer walk journey and I am encouraged to do one today. I have more ideas about where to go and how to do it. I know my Y offers prayer walk classes and I am going to find out more information about them!! Very encouraging!! Be blessed!! 🙂 ❤

    Like

  4. Thank you so much for sharing this! You have encouraged (and challenged) me to be intentional in doing prayer walks–in my home, my neighborhood, my place of employment—everywhere! Blessings to you!

    Like

  5. Thanks for educating me about how simple a prayer walk can be, and how powerful. It has been far too long since I did something like this! 🙂 God bless you Debbie! You are an angel on earth for so many! 🙂

    Like

  6. Joining from A Little R & R! So happy I came upon your post! I am leaving Tuesday for an eight week missions venture in Eastern Europe. We will be furlough replacements for the missionaries there. We lived there for three months in 2010 and that was when I first “got my feet wet” with prayer walking! I now teach about it in our ministry travels around the country. It is powerful! You outlined it beautifully and covered all the bases. So encouraging to see others practicing this godly principle. If we ever tap into the power we have via the Holy Spirit…look out Satan, look out! Blessings to you…sharing this today.

    Like

  7. Oh Debbie, this was beautiful, and has really inspired me to go do this today!! Thank you!! Like the other comment, I too felt like I was walking and driving with you!!!!!

    Like

  8. Debbie, you “inspire” me and I love this blog! You are absolutely the BEST leader. You show us how to love Jesus, by your example. I am praying for you and ALL of your family, that God will wrap His arms around you, make His presence KNOWN to each of you, perform miracles, just love on each of you in a special way! Thank you for being such a Godly example for Group 31 and so many women! Love you, xoxo

    Like

  9. Debbie, that was beautiful! You encouraged me to go on a prayer walk. I have gone on one in the past, but not one praying for neighbors. Praying for concerns of friends and family! I loved your pictures and your inspiration!

    Like

  10. Beautiful, worshipful writing and pictures today, Debbie! Next time I do a prayer walk, I’m going to use yours as an example. Thank you!

    Like

  11. Love your blog today! It is a like a “how to” for anyone that has ever wanted to do a prayer walk but not sure how to start. It and the pictures has awakened in me the need to do one as well around our school. Thanks!

    Like

  12. I love you sweet sister!!! Your words are comfort to the soul. A gentle reminder to be peaceful, walk in faith, knowing God is fully in control!!!

    Like

  13. This was a wonderful blog posting! I have been struggling with what to pray about lately and reading what you wrote has inspired me to go on my own prayer walk. Thank-you for sharing with all of us!

    Like

  14. Hi Debbie, I am new to your blog and just by getting your first blog in my email has been a huge blessing. Your blog is beautiful and like the others I felt like I was riding with you and walking with you too.The pictures are beautiful. I am going to take a ride this morning and I am going to do a prayer around our Church and a School near our Church that we do Back
    Pack Snacks for some children.I too am a huge worrier over debt and finances and I am praying for peace over this situation.
    I knit prayer shawls and I pray for the person getting the prayer shawl and then before I give it to that person I pray over it again. I have enjoyed knitting prayer shawls so much.I
    started a group at my church to knit prayer shawls.
    I love making new friends. Thank you again Debbie for your beautiful blog with your beautiful heart. Have a wonderful day filled with blessings from above,Barbara

    Like

    1. Barbara last year when my Mom died I got a prayer shawl from a friend in CT. I put it around my shoulders in tears. It brought such comfort. Know that your ministry is a blessing. Thank you for reading my blog. Debbie

      Like

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

