Summer Busy Days

10 Jul

It is a beautiful, hot summer July day in Texas and this weekend we will be hitting 100 degrees. So far this summer we have had some much-needed rain for a few weeks there, but now it’s time for watering and mowing in the heat.

When school was out the first of June, I  was expecting a big slow down, but it has not happened and it looks like every single day has something.  What’s up?  Church, Bible Studies, parties, getting things repaired around the house like new doors, oil changes, automobile recalls, remodeling a pool, lots of watering to replace grass lost from the drought,  new flowers and plants that need more water, putting up peaches from our trees, family reunions, mowing, etc..  I thought to myself in June that July will be slower, hold on July is coming – it’s here and every beautiful day is booked, and now so is August and then school.

So how do I stay flexible and bending and happy with busy schedules and a “to do” list that is not completed. As I thought about that this morning, I pondered on how does God want me to spend my days and am I reflecting Him in what I do each day.

Minutes

WHEW! Why doesn’t it ALL get done?

Time is not mine.  It is time that God blessed me with, so how can I honor Him with how I spend my seconds?  How can I prioritize according to God’s plan – God first and others and myself second?

printables-15-2

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest..png

P31

I am involved in Online Bible Studies. Every morning I spend time with women all over the world studying the Word. Join us at http://proverbs31.org/online-bible-studies/

Planner

Keep a planner and keep it handy. Have one that you can carry wherever you go. That way you can add to it and you will have it handy if you get stuck in traffic or end up at an appointment with nothing to do. Some folks keep it all on their phones, but me I still have to have a real live planner. Look at your planner in the evening before you end your night and in the morning after your prayer and study time. The night before plan out tomorrow. The morning of pull it out and map out how you want your day to look like.

I asked myself this morning why my “to do” list for June did not get completed, and maybe it was because it was three 8.5 x 11 pages, but as I look over it I accomplished a lot.  So much is happening that some days I can’t even seem to touch that “to do” list.

to do

Get out that “to do” list. Even if I am in school during the year there are simple tasks that can get done in 10 minutes and certainly we can schedule in 10 minutes a day. If you are off work pick 2 or 3 things that are bothering you and get them done.

Family Final

Find time for family. Have a date night with the hubby or kids. Call your parents? Go see your parents! If you still have grandparents contact them. Just do it! Are you making the time count? Are you making memories?

Relax

Find time for you.  Read a book, work on a hobby, sit in a bubble bath – just do something you love to do.

So be careful how you act; these are difficult days. Don’t be fools; be wise: make the most of every opportunity you have for doing good.  Ephesians 5:15-16 

Luke 631

Find time for friends. How long has it been since you called a friend? How long has it been since you emailed a friend? Put it on your “to do” list. I talked to three people today I used to work with that I have not talked to in over six months. Fit it in your schedule. You will be glad you did.

Psalm 11962

When I cannot go to sleep or I awaken in the night, I have learned to lay there and pray. If I still cannot sleep I get up and read my Bible or some other study. I firmly believe in those times, my Lord is speaking to me and I need to abide.

Blog - Psalm 90.12

Make the Moments matter. Make the seconds count. Build some memories. Savor every day!

2 Responses to “Summer Busy Days”

  1. sabrinaebert July 11, 2014 at 5:28 am #

    Loved your post…been out of touch with the world lately. A newborn makes you forget everybody else exists. I immediately took my notepad and wrote a to do list…I needed this reminder. Still looking forward to prayer walking…also something you encouraged me with in your previous post…its on my to do list as well once I have recovered from my c-section. 😉 Hugs…and blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

