Uncategorized

Being A Mom Is Tough

I love, love, love being a Mom -always have and always will, and now a Nanna. Oh yes, it is a whole lot of Heaven for me on earth, but being a Mom and a grand mom can be tough. It is a wonderful blessing, and one of the most magnificent roles we can ever, ever hold. BEING A MOM IS TOUGH!  So how do I become the Mom that God desires me to be?  I am in a Bible Study called Am I Messing Up My Kids by Lysa Terkeurst and learning all I can and my favorite go to in the Bible is Proverbs Chapter 31.

Proverbs 31.28

BEING A MOM IS TOUGH in many different ways, but for most of us those tough times are just seasons or even moments that will fade.  For me personally, just becoming a Mom was tough.

  • 10 years of marriage
  • 6 miscarriages
  • toxemia with both children
  • one child 9 weeks early
  • 2 c-sections

Holding that precious little bundle in our arms and looking in its eyes for the first time makes all the pain go away.   I remember the evening before my son was born standing in church at a revival crying as we sung Because He Lives and that second verse “How sweet to hold a newborn baby”.  Oh how sweet it is and how blessed it is to hold a child.  When you are having a tough night with a newborn, count your blessings and say a prayer for those that are going through infertility.

BEING A MOM IS TOUGH WITH A NEWBORN

  • Ear infections
  • Sleepless nights
  • Colic
  • Diapers
  • Puke

Having a newborn is so remarkable and miraculous and awesome and beautiful.  Being a Mom is spectacular experiencing the cuddles, the giggles, the smiles, hugs and the mornings they come racing to your bed with tousled hair and smiles?  Babies are a precious gift.

BEING A MOM IS TOUGH trying to maintain a home:

  • Neglected house.
  • Laundry piled high
  • Toys all over the place
  • Pulled in so many directions trying to tend, mend, cook and find time for the children
  • Impatient, grumpy and tired.
  • Stir crazy
  • Needing adult companionship or others to interact with
  • Trying to keep toddlers out of things
  • Nap time is the only time during the day you get to sit down

You wonder if you should do the laundry or read the kids a book.  Being a Mom of older married children now, I say stop and read a book. Give you and the children a break and you’ll all feel better.

BEING A MOM IS TOUGH when you work full-time outside the home

  • Being away during the day.
  • Leaving little ones
  • Getting up early
  • Scheduling soccer, basketball, football, cheer leading practice, dance, piano, church, gymnastics, swimming, tennis etc. after working all day.
  • No time to wash, iron, clean or cook healthy meals
  • Stressful trying to juggle everyone’s schedules.

Psalm 23.3

It is hard.  For all of us Moms it is tough whether you work at home or outside trying to juggle schedules and to-do lists but the top of our to-do lists should be our family.  Yes being a stay-at-home Mom is tough too, but what a reward to be there molding and shaping those children like God has called you to do.  One of the things Lysa Terkeurst said was”

“Let my time with the Lord overflow while withholding my to-do list.”

From being a special-needs teacher I know being a Mom is tough for those mothers who have a child with special needs:

  • 24/7 job for some whose children seldom sleep
  • Children in wheelchairs
  • Children who can not feed themselves
  • Children who can not ever go to a bathroom

BEING A MOM IS TOUGH  if you are single.

  • Doing it all alone.
  • Convincing a child of a divorced parent that their dad loves them.
  • A to-do list and running kids to and fro with no one to help.

During these times flee to His presence and spend time with Him in prayer and in the Word and let Him comfort you.

Isaiah 6613

 

Lysa reminded me  “How can I continue to pour out if I’m not being filled back up?”

BEING A MOM IS TOUGH  and challenging taking care of more than one child with different personalities and love languages.  Sometimes it is just hard to know what they need in order to feel loved.  Remember a mother is the heart of the home, and her emotions can become the emotions of the entire household so we need to be careful.   Children mimic us and their little minds are just like a recorder – they hear every word, they hear our tone of voice and they watch our facial expressions.  Think about it – you smile, they smile, you clap, they clap, you squeal, they squeal and that’s when they are tiny little babies.  Be assured they are watching, they are listening,  and they will grow up to act as they react to how you reacted.  Ever heard that saying, “If Mom ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy”.  You set a tone – will it be one that your husband and your children see you actively seeking God and studying the Word and praying, or will it be one where you are yelling, complaining, nagging, gossiping and being lazy?

Proverbs 21.23

Being a Mom for some is really tough during the teenage years.

  • Problems in school with grades, teachers or other students
  • Hormones
  • Differences of opinions
  • Choice of friends
  • Drugs or Drinking
  • Tempers

Being a Mom is tough during college years:

  • Grades
  • Roommates – especially with those girls and different personalities – some want to party and some like mine wanted to sleep
  • Leaving the nest

Being a Mom is tough for all us through those years on our knees praying for our children and those that they come in contact with not wavering to peer pressure or what others think.

  • Lifetime job
  • Worry about them when they travel, during bad weather, when they have children and the list goes on

The Bible teaches us to not worry and know that God is in control.  The Proverbs 31 Mom will remember to laugh at those thoughts that Satan puts in our minds.  She knows God is in control and she can laugh at the days to come.  She is cheerful about the future.  She boldly approaches the throne of God knowing He is always there waiting and listening. Proverbs 3125 Yes being a Mom is a very tough job and it is a position I cherish.  The little ones are gone so fast – it’s all over and you want to do it over and do it better and we get to with our grandchildren.  God is so good – He gives us tools and continues to help us grow so we can use those tools to mold our grandkids.

Remember you have a very lasting influence and legacy for those little ones in your presence.  What a challenge knowing that you are molding those lives for the future and even future generations! Being a Mom is I believe a very high honor, and one that should reflect Christ’s example.  “You are exactly the mom God knew your children needed.”  Lysa TerKeurst

In closing, remember these words from Lysa and let God’s grace cover you:

Blog - MUK

11 thoughts on “Being A Mom Is Tough”

  1. I read your post…but then was too tired and decided to get some sleep since Naomi was asleep after last nights madness. Words of wisdom indeed. You carved out each stage a child growing up. You are definitely a well seasoned mum and grand mum with truck loads of wisdom. I appreciate the effort you placed to let us newbie mums have an insight as to what to look forward to…well many things are not so nice to look forward to but I will embrace each stage snd take it as it comes. My cup is overflowing at the moment. I realised from many who have older kids, they say…relish these moments if breathing deeply into the head of the child in your arms and enjoy it for it passes by so quickly. I am still praying for your daughter to enjoy motherhood too. Much blessings…you really make my day with your blog posts! Blessed to know you! I’d give you a huge hug if you weren’t so far away 😉

    Like

    1. Awww thank you. Savor the moments. I promise they are over sooooooo fast – all of it – the baby – the sports when they get older and you get so tired going to them and then it’s over and you want to go back. ENJOY! I’m doing that over again now with my precious grandson. (((HUGS)))

      Like

  2. Beautiful Debbie!!! Your words made me smile as I remembered earning for a child, laugh as I remembered those newborn moments, tear up a little as I thought about our preschool moments, and shake looking towards the teen years!! Praise God, He’s with us!!! God bless you!

    Like

  3. Yes, this is SO true. Being a mom is also difficult for moms who deal with chronic pain everyday. It makes you feel like you are missing out on being a mom some days. There is also the guilt of not being the mom that you wish you could be if you were well. Thanks for this great post – visiting from Considering Grace (through Word Filled Wednesday)! Blessings!

    Like

  4. There are no truer words than: “If Mom ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.” As you said, us mommies set the tone for the house. That is such a huge responsibility and one of the things that stresses me out the most. I’m finally learning to give myself a break though. I have mood issues and my kids have learned to understand and deal with it. Thank you for this beautiful encouragement for moms in every stage of life! You did such an awesome job of covering so many different situations!

    Like

  5. This was a wonderful post! I’m a Mimi now, but my job as a Mom is certainly not over. (In some ways, it is harder now because I have to keep my opinions to myself …)

    I loved this: “You are exactly the mom God knew your children needed.” Lysa TerKeurst I wish I had heard this quote from day one but I did hear it when I was going through my girls’ teen years and it really helped a lot.

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

