Seeing The Voice of God – Book Review

4 Aug

Seeing the Voice of God: What God is Telling You Through Dreams and Visions by Laura Harris Smith is an unusual book.  For me I loved parts of it, but there were other parts that bothered me, and was a little “new age” for my thinking, but some of the things she said I did write down and take note.

The plot of this book is that God speaks to us in our dreams and visions and we need to learn how to interpret them.

The author shares she has seen angels and spirits and I don’t disagree with what she is saying, but having not shared those experiences I could not get into it even though I do believe in angels.

She talked about the different stages of sleep and when dreams occur.  She also said we need to weight every vision with scripture, and pointed out dreams where we awake in fear or not of God. Loved it when she said we all have 1,440 minutes a day, can we not give him a “puny” 30 minutes.  She shares with us the seven deadly sins.

I do believe that some people are spoken to in dreams and visions – the Bible teaches it – and believe Laura has done a lot of research and experienced them herself, and probably for “seers” as they are called would benefit from this book.

This book was a slow read for me.  I kept putting it down and picking it back up just to finish it and yes I did glean a lot of scripture, but really could not get into all the dreaming logic she shared.  I don’t discount it.  I’m just not there yet!

If you are really interested in learning more about dreams and visions this would be a good read for you.  Also, if you are looking for some great biblical history on dreams this would be a good reference for you.  I will keep this book in my library for future reference.

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

