MY FAVORITE BIBLE VERSES – DAY 24 {FREE PRINTABLES}

21 Aug

blog - Philippians 46-7

Do you ever let worry overwhelm you?  I do.  It has always been a problem for me.  It is better now that I  spend so much time in His Word, but some days Satan just seems to be lurking and thoughts come and I have to go to my knees.

There are scriptures that say that even Jesus “was deeply moved in spirit and troubled”.  Yes He was troubled, but He did not dwell on it and let it overwhelm and consume Him like we can at times.  

This verse tells us what to do when storms hit.  Have you ever asked, “is it going to get better” or “why me” or “why did this happen”?  It is hard not to worry because life is tough and we all go through storms or seasons that we do not understand. Think about it – school issues, people issues, work issues, money issues, health issues, etc.!  Sometimes it is hard, life is hard, and anxiety sits in and we let it consume us.  Christ tells us to present our requests to God, and as we do the peace of God will guard our hearts and minds.  

Sometimes we are in so much pain it is hard to pray.  I know, I’ve been there during a horrible storm in my life.  I honestly was so angry I could not pray, and angry that God would allow this to happen to me, a child of God, who loved Him with all my heart and soul – and then as I walked through that painful valley, I saw I did not love Him like I thought I did, I did not trust Him to see me through, I did not have peace that He was in control.  All I could do for a time was sob and wonder WHY!  As I walked that path, and as I made my requests known, I began to see my Father do a mighty work – it took time – but the more faithful I was in my prayer and requests, the more faithful He was in answering the desires of my heart.

As I broke down this verse these were my thoughts for today anyway.  I hope to dwell on it another day and gain new insights from the Father.

Be anxious for NOTHING instead of worrying.  Be anxious for NOTHING, no thing.  When we worry, we are saying we don’t trust God.  OUCH!  We need to come to a place where we never worry, but always pray.  Matthew 6:34 – “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

But in EVERYTHING by prayer and supplication – EVERYTHING – ALL THINGS.  Pray about the big things, pray about the small things – our Abba is waiting to hear from you.  Supplication is “the action of asking or begging for something earnestly or humbly” (google definition).

With THANKSGIVING let your requests be made known – Are you truly THANKFUL when you bow to your knees and pray? Thank Him first for being there, for listening and answering.  Let your requests be made known.  He already knows them, but He’s waiting for you to come before Him.  

And the PEACE of God that passeth all understanding.  1 Peter 5:10 – “In his kindness God called you to share in his eternal glory by means of Christ Jesus. So after you have suffered a little while, he will restore, support, and strengthen you, and he will place you on a firm foundation.”  

I end with this verse I found this morning during my study time.  Today was the day that God brought this nugget to life for me.  I’ll ponder, verse map it and blog about it later, but it fit so well this morning and truly blessed me as I was reading it:

2 Corinthians 1:20 – “For all the promises of God find their Yes in him. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory.”

So today what is your biggest worry?  

 

Leave a Reply

