Seven Secrets to Power Praying – Book Review

24 Aug

I loved this book by Jane Glenchur.  I could not wait to turn the next page and get to the next chapter.  It is an easy read book, interesting and containing the seven secrets to praying.  Chapters are short and you can’t wait to see what is in the next one.

Jane has learned to ask God for anything and everything – learning after praying about a carpet stain and the right remover to use.  She provides practical advise we can all use to improve our prayer in all aspects of our lives.  Her stories of answered prayer will inspire anyone who reads this book.

Seven Secrets of Power Praying is broken into three parts. Part 1 is “Partnering with God,” Part 2 is Applying the 7 secrets to Power Praying, and Part 3 is Stepping Up to the Next Level. Her five keys to prayer are Key#1 Petition, Key#2 Passion, Key#3 Presence, Key#4 Preparedness, and Key#5 Perseverance.

There is so much to share that I loved about this book it would be another book if I did.  I loved how she shared scripture in each chapter to drive in her points.

She talked about praying for specific needs, anything and everything, being thankful and praising God in our prayer time, trusting Him to answer, listening and hearing from Him.  In one chapter she mentioned when we feel emotionally unstable to accomplish a task to give it up to Him, asking when she needs patience with her kids for God to be patient through her, or if you are having trouble liking a person to pray that He love that person through her.  She talked about interviews and how she had asked God that when she opened her mouth, that He please fill her with His words.

She reminds us to ask and keep on asking and reminded us with God all things are possible.

One quote I wrote down I love, “Lord I don’t know what to do, but my eyes are on You.”

When we are hurting and angry and wondering we need to focus on what He has done in the past.

I loved her clay hand, taking the key to the house of David and her cloaking illustrations.  Yes, you have to read the book to learn about them.

In talking about time with God each morning, she says “No bible, no breakfast.”

She shares a lot about the enemy and his attacks and how to counter them with prayer.

I highly recommend this book.

The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Chosen Books and Baker Publishing Group for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.

One Response to “Seven Secrets to Power Praying – Book Review”

  1. Donna Carter August 24, 2014 at 8:56 am #

    Can’t wait to buy and read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

