How Majestic is God’s Name

3 Sep

I am reading a book by Tony Evans called The Power of God’s Names.  In chapter one he talks about “The Majesty of God’s Name”.  As I look at creation every single day – the stars, the sun, the moon, the skies, babies, animals, trees, flowers, butterflies, hummingbirds, etc., I am constantly in awe of His majesty.

One of the verses this last week was Psalm 8:1.  That verse just came more alive for me.  How MAJESTIC is His name in ALL the earth!  I just think about His splendor in creation.  Are you awed by His majesty? Would love for you to share in the comments.

I had to find a pretty picture to add this verse with it and I chose one of my favorites from a precious friend, Genoa Strickland that was taken in Bristol, VA.

Blog - psalm 81

The first name of God we studied was “ELOHIM”, which means strong creator God.  We read about the Lord’s prayer and “hallowed” be thy name.  Hallowed means holy and took on a whole new meaning for me this week.  We also read about taking God’s name in vain.  My mom and dad taught us respect for God’s name growing up.  Tony Evans said “Abusing God’s name goes beyond cursing like a sailor or uttering phrases like “Oh my God”.  Too many of us want a God we can easily understand-a God to neatly display on a bumper sticker or on a coffee mug.  but the true God won’t be confined.  His names reflect His character, and He wants a genuine love relationship with His children, not an empty relationship in which people use His names for their own purposes.”

God, the strong creator, our ELOHIM made everything, He named everything, and He is with us ALWAYS.  He is sovereign.  He is supreme.

We also read Exodus 3:13-14 and studied about “I AM”.  That is the name that God used to identify himself to Moses at the burning bush.  Is that one of your favorite names?  It is mine.   Honestly all of the names give me God bumps.

I AM is quoted throughout the Bible and here are some I researched:

  • I am the bread of life.     John 6:35
  • I am the gate.     John 10:9
  • I am the light of the world.     John 8:12
  • I am the good shepherd.    John 10:11
  • I am the resurrection and the life.     John 11:25
  • I am the way, the truth and the life.     John 14:6
  • I am the vine.     John 15:5
  • Be still and know that I AM GOD!    Psalm 46:10
  • For I am the Lord, I change not; therefore ye sons of Jacob are not consumed.     Malachi 3:6
  • I AM with you ALWAYS!  Matthew 28:20

I AM causes me to personally pause and reflect on all I, Debbie am because of  my I AM!  These are only a few of my favorites of who I AM in Him.

Blog - names of God

Have you ever listened to the song – Majesty?  I love it – love to sing it and worship.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-9XCsaLjpjc

5 Responses to “How Majestic is God’s Name”

  1. JES the Pilgrim September 4, 2014 at 4:41 pm #

    When God tells Moses “I Am”, it always puts me in awe! Thank you for linking up with the Art of Home-Making Mondays and for sharing all your lovely printables with us 🙂 Have a lovely week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lori Putman September 5, 2014 at 11:19 am #

    I am also reading that book it is awesome and I have his book on praying God’s name. Learning in depth about God’s names really brings the reality of who is in to my daily worship

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking September 5, 2014 at 5:05 pm #

      How neat Lori. I didn’t buy the book on praying God’s name. I have another one I picked up at CVS on His names, but haven’t used it yet. Need to get it out this week. Stay too busy.

      Like

  3. cynthiasullivan56cynthia56 December 31, 2015 at 8:13 pm #

    Reblogged this on Words to HELP INSPIRE and uplift!.

    Like

Leave a Reply

