TICK TOCK, TICK TOCK

28 Sep

blog - tick tock tick tock

TICK TOCK, TICK TOCK – 60 seconds in a minute, 60 minutes in an hour, 24 hours in a day, 168 hours in a week, 4 weeks in a month, 12 months in a year, and through it all lots of moments.  It sounds like a whole lot of time, and perhaps it can be if we manage our time wisely and if God allows us many years of life.  What are you doing with your time?

blog - clock

TICK TOCK, TICK TOCK, how are you spending your days?  How are you spending your life? Does that quote make you stop and think about what you did today or your plans for tomorrow?

blog-schedule                       TICK TOCK, TICK TOCK, filling up those schedules.  Someone calls, we say yes.  We only have 168 hours a week.  When we fill up our schedules, what are we gaining, what are we losing?  God entrusts us with 168 hours to use – how are you using them?  Is your schedule in control?  I have to admit mine is not.  Everything I add to it I love so how do I trim it?  Why am I struggling with it?  I finished a time assessment yesterday in a study I am doing called “The Best Yes” and learned a whole lot.  I conservatively plugged in my hours, but when I was finished I only had two hours a day to play with and that did not include emergencies, unplanned outings with family or friends, funerals, weddings, etc., so how do I adjust?  How do I cull out the things I love?  As I looked over the numbers I saw things I might adjust and am doing that.

I’m a wife, I’m a mother, I’m a mother-in-law, I’m a grandmother, I’m a daughter-in-law, I’m a sister, I’m a friend, I’m a neighbor, I’m a substitute teacher, I’m a blogger, I’m a cook, I’m a housekeeper, I’m a group leader and a team leader in on-line Bible studies, I’m in church studies, and I am trying to fit it all in – because I love every, single moment of my life.  It’s filling, it’s fun, it’s rewarding, it’s humbling, but some days I struggle because I’m tired, and I don’t want to be that way.

Do you ever complain I don’t have time, or I’m too busy?  I have and that makes me ashamed.  WHY?  God gave us all the same amount of hours in the day.  How am I using them?

blog - 1 Samuel 1-19

Your husband or kids call and someone is coming to dinner.  The house isn’t clean, you don’t have a menu.  WHY!

I complain I don’t have time to exercise.  REALLY!  Why is that?  Soooo, I have made commitment to wear a pedometer every single day and at the end of the day that it will have 10,000 steps, and I also made a commitment on nice days when I keep my grandson to take him walking.   He loves it and I do too.

A little planning one day a week can make our weeks run so much smoother – like planning a menu, planning what house cleaning you will do this week, and what small things you can do with 15 minute increments to tidy up, or cooking meals and freezing them, establishing priorities of what is really important and even planning for emergencies.  Have things on hand to take to families in a death, a hospital stay, or showers.  Why not buy things and have them on hand like small gifts?   I have not done that.  I know I should so I’m not running around like a chicken with her head cut off to get things done.

blog - Eph 5.15-17

How often do you say “someday I am going to”?  Want less clutter in your life, donate some clothes so that you might bless whom.  Want to lose weight or get healthy, go for a walk.  What can you do today to make that someday a reality?  This moment is an opportunity to begin again.

“The decisions you make determine the schedule you keep.  The schedule you keep determines the life you live.  And how you live your life determines how you spend your soul.”  Lysa TerKeurst

blog - Psalm 31.14-15

3 Responses to “TICK TOCK, TICK TOCK”

  1. GiGiMandy September 28, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

    Reblogged this on Leaving a Legacy and commented:
    Consider how you use your time. Give God the first minutes of your day and see how the rest falls into place!

    Like

  2. JES October 2, 2014 at 8:35 pm #

    Very true and a great reminder! I love lists and this helps me to prioritize but sometimes, for sanity and our families, we do need to stop and say “no” to certain events, etc… Thanks for sharing this on the Art of Home-Making Mondays! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

