CARE

13 Oct

Blog-Mark 12.31

 

I am participating in  Kate Motaung’s Five-Minute Friday.  Actually it’s Monday but I was out-of-town.  Friday’s word was care so here goes.

As I thought about the word care, I could not help thinking about how Jesus cared for others.   Most days we will come across someone who needs to feel our care, our concern, our love, or just a touch if we just stop and take a second to look.

Caring for others takes the focus off of ourselves, and not on us.

Blog-Galatians 6.2The Message says it like this – Galatians 6:1-3 “Live creatively, friends. If someone falls into sin, forgivingly restore him, saving your critical comments for yourself. You might be needing forgiveness before the day’s out. Stoop down and reach out to those who are oppressed. Share their burdens, and so complete Christ’s law. If you think you are too good for that, you are badly deceived.”

Here are just a few ways to care for others:

  • First  – I would say there are so, so many opportunities to pray.  For me it’s many each day at home, school, my church, my family, my friends and that list just grows.  How do you feel when someone cares enough to pray for you?  I can remember the most trying times in life when I knew people were praying it just encouraged me and blessed me like during those times when my baby was laying in an neonatal unit and we did not know if she would live, when I lost my dad, when I lost my mom, when I broke my wrist and it did not heal right and another surgery was required, when our grandson was born with a horrible disease, when we watched as our daughter was struggling with getting pregnant.  Those are just a few times but they were the hardest times.
  • Second – How can you encourage someone today?  Maybe it is just a word of caring, maybe it’s listening, maybe just a card in the mail, an email, a phone call, and maybe just a gentle touch – simple things that can turn a person’s day around.
  • Third – Beyond that promise that you will pray for someone, how about taking them a meal, offer to drive them to an appointment, pick up some groceries or prescriptions, offer to keep a baby for a Mom who needs a few hours to re-energize, or set with an elderly parent to give a caregiver some time away.
  • Fourth – Do you care enough about what is going on in our world to do something about it?  Have you refused to watch programs because of the content?  Have you gone to a school board meeting?  Have you protested in a Christian way (for me it was when some plaques recently in our city were ordered to be taken down by the Freedom From Religion Organization) and I with many, many others protested, a lawyer from an institute stepped in to help and thinks they will stay, but what if we had sat back and let our freedoms be stripped?  What are you doing today to step up and be heard for Jesus?
  • Fifth – Do you help with the poor?  I try to do the Christmas shoe boxes with Franklin Graham.  My husband and I sponsor a compassion child.  We have kept foster children.  When we see a need, we donate.

I would love for you to share some thoughts on how you have taken some time to care for others.

Kate Motaung Five-Minute Friday

2 Responses to “CARE”

  1. thepeacemaker55 April 2, 2015 at 12:18 pm #

    Reblogged this on Divine Destiny.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

