TEACH

14 Oct

Blog - Proverbs 22.6

I loved the topic for this 31 day post with Kate Motaung because as a child I always wanted to teach.  I would get out tablets and books and grade papers, and that’s what I played instead of dolls.

In my high school typing class our teacher called the Civil Service Commission out to give us shorthand and typing tests.  I know some of you are too young to know what shorthand is but that was taking dictation from someone with all sorts of symbols for words.  I placed really high on both tests and immediately started get job offers right after I graduated high school so I didn’t go straight to college and I didn’t teach.

After I married at the young age of 19 and later having kids, I became the nursery/preschool director at church and I taught the 4 and 5 year olds, but my heart was always with women but I was still a little shy, but would organize retreats to go out of town to hear speakers and stay at a hotel.

Fast forward, I went back to finish college with my college-age children only because I was not going to be the only one in the house without a degree.  I was working full-time, running my home, running the nursery, was the church clerk, sang in the choir and went back to college.  I knew the college degree would not help me at work.  I had worked myself up thru the ranks and there was no place else to move but I did find the public speaking and presentation classes helped me better at work during meetings and I was giving many luncheon speeches.

I was working as a team leader at work for over 25 years.  I loved leading and teaching my team.

I retired in 2011.  Shortly after that I began on-line Bible studies and eventually was ask to lead a group.  After much prayer I accepted that and later was asked to lead a team of group leaders.  I still do that as a volunteer.  I love it.

The next school year after I retired in December, I decided I wanted to teach and would do it on a small scale only at the two schools close to my house – a junior high and an elementary.  Guess what!  I could not have done this without that degree.

I love teaching.  I love sharing.  I love leading.  I am thankful that God placed me where I needed to be just in time.

Leave a Reply

