Mom’s Pumpkin Bread – Thanksgiving Memories

26 Nov

IMG_0629[1]

This morning as I finished my pecan pies and cornbread, began dicing onions and celery and was savoring the smell of pumpkin bread, I was enjoying the privilege and blessing of being able to cook and to be able to afford food and cook in a newly remodeled kitchen.  I was enjoying the birds outside my kitchen window in one of the bird feeders my husband gave me when I retired, and all of a sudden I got a bit melancholy dicing those onions and the tears began to swell – no it wasn’t fro the onions because they were sweet onions.  About that time the phone rang, and it was my husband.  God’s timing is perfect.

I love, love, love my Mom’s pumpkin bread.  It is so delicious with a glass of milk or a cup of coffee for breakfast.  I don’t know where Mom got this recipe – perhaps on the back of a can of pumpkin, a magazine, friend, etc..  Here it is:

PUMPKIN BREAD

 

3 1/3 cups sifted flour                                                              2/3 cup raisins or dates

½ tsp baking powder                                                               2 2/3 cups sugar

2 tsp soda                                                                              2/3 cups salad oil

1 ½ tsp. salt                                                                           4 eggs

1 tsp. cinnamon                                                                      2 cups can pumpkin

½ tsp. ground cloves                                                               2/3 cup water

2/3 cup nuts

Heat oven to 350.  Sift and measure flour, add powder, soda, salt and spices.  Toss nuts and fruit in flour mixture.  I do this in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  In a large mixing bowl, beat sugar and oil at slow speed.  Add eggs (1 at a time), pumpkin, flour mixture and water.  Beat until thoroughly mixed.  Pour into 2 greased loaf pans or 1 greased bundt pan.   Bake approximately 1 hour.

And now we thank you, our God, and praise your glorious name.1 Chronicles 29:13

3 Responses to “Mom’s Pumpkin Bread – Thanksgiving Memories”

  1. Mischelle Sinclair November 26, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    Mmmm, I got to try that!

    Like

  2. Jann Olson December 2, 2014 at 10:30 pm #

    I get feeling the same way when I stop and think about how blessed I am. Blame it on those onions. lol! The bread sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing it with Share Your Cup.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 3, 2014 at 12:08 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Jann. It wasn’t the onions. God intervened and my hubby called about that time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

